Listener's Reviews

all c64 only Amiga only

Displaying Reviews 121 - 150 out of 2678

Login

Guitar Stardust Space Debris Slinger Medley - arranged by 0Supereg0

Review by Poke16384, 06/05/2023

My 1st listen to this remix left me scratching my head a little. So, I gave it 2 more listens.. It certainly wanders off the beaten path but that isn't necessarily a negative in itself. The overall soundscape is pleasing & warm and definitely suits 'Guitar Slinger'. Where I have issue is in the arrangement & execution. There are 'bum' notes in a couple of the guitar runs, early on and; guessing that some or all of this was actually played, I can understand why you have simplified a lot of the faster flourishes & riffs from Jogeir's original. A lot of the middle section has a different chord structure also with minor chords appearing, (again, no bad thing in itself) but it becomes unrecognisable as Guitar Slinger.. I honestly admire & applaud remixes that take original MODs to a new place, (you'll notice I've scored it 'red' for Artistic Skill to reflect just this) but overall it is only a 'good' for me. Some of the ideas in this remix are very good, only let down a bit by the execution.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Superfrog - Ancient level (Ode to Hathor remix) - arranged by Soundspawner

Review by fluke73, 05/05/2023

This is a really fresh remix! Wonderfull atmosphere in the begining. Love the great stereo separation. Over all it's a really fresh take on this song. The only let down was the ending that was a bit too abrubt.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Sensual Parallax - Parallax Loader - arranged by 0supereg0

Review by LaLa, 02/05/2023

I really like the artistic freedom you took with this tune! It's a very creative arrangement. I like how you seem to play around with this well-known tune in a rather refreshing way. But I think the mixing levels of the various tracks don't quite gel together (the drums sound a bit too soft, for example). Other that - well done!
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Scarabaeus - The Escape - arranged by Tim Forsyth

Review by LaLa, 24/04/2023

Sounds like a hit soundtrack from a 1990s blockbuster movie. Amazing combination of synths, pads and other elements as it builds up to a crescendo , which suddenly ends, only to be followed by yet another amazing buildup in the second half. Tim: this is just superb! What a fantastic tribute to an old game from a Hungarian software powerhouse!

UPDATE: The more I listen to this remix, the more I admire it. This is sooo good!

Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Rambo : First Blood Part II - arranged by PPOT

Review by LaLa, 23/04/2023

The Morse code in the intro spells out the name of the band and the first names of the individual members:

PRESS PLAY ON TAPE MARTIN, ANDRE (André), JESPER, SOEREN (Søren), UFFE, ASEO (?)

.--. .-. . … … / .--. .-.. .- -.-- / --- -. / - .- .--. . / -- .- .-. - .. -. / .- -. -.. .-. . / .--- . … .--. . .-. / … --- . .-. . -. / ..- ..-. ..-. . / .- … . ---

Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Galactic Games 1 The 2nd (tune) - arranged by Steve Foster

Review by LaLa, 22/04/2023

Great intro with lovely 80s drums. At 0:15 I'm not crazy about the arpeggio - should've been turned into chords, IMHO. At 0:46 the lead has way too much reverb on it, it gets washed out. Also, a tune is more than just the melody - the same drum pattern repeating over and over again gets pretty boring pretty fast. At 2:03 the SID lead is… fine, but I wish it was enhanced a lot more.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Artillery (Heavy Punk Artillery) - arranged by Dan Tootill

Review by LaLa, 22/04/2023

If Ziona's remix didn't exist before, I would've probably liked this remix more. But it's hard not to make comparisons. This one is more peppy, more cheerful than Ziona's version. I think the instrumentation could've been a bit more sophisticated, but together they sound pretty good, they don't trample on each other. Overall, quite good, but I wish it was more than that.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Artillery (Heavy Punk Artillery) - arranged by Dan Tootill

Review by BeeZerk, 22/04/2023

Wow, what a great combination of clear and airy Lead, Arp, Pad and THAT Bass! The Rhythm is quite simple but groovy and moving as hell. What more can i say, i love what i hear and for me the track of the year so far! Lovely, thank you Dan!
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Coop Ups - arranged by Eivind Sommersten

Review by LaLa, 19/04/2023

I have a new nickname for you: Jazzmeister.

By the way, what's better than a perfectly crafted jazzy tune? When I can find a tiny flaw in it and pick on it. 😋 I think the synth sound is not a good fit for the lead sound in the beginning, especially when everything else sounds so acoustic. And I agree with Tim: it similarly doesn't seem fitting towards the end from 2:40 on. Sounds a bit out of place compared to the rest of the instrumentation.

Other than this small flaw - excellent.

Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Mutants (Encore64) - arranged by Fred Gray & Peter Clarke

Review by LaLa, 17/04/2023

While the overall style of the remix has Peter's fingerprints all over it, it has a refreshing mix of raw synths and acoustic instruments playing the leads. Welcome back to music production, Fred!
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Tintin on the Moon (Encore64) - arranged by Fred Gray & Tomas Danko

Review by LaLa, 17/04/2023

Legends remixing a legend! While there's a lot to like about this track - the piano runs, the brass hits, the electric piano chords - I just wish it took the jazzy theme and ran with it even further.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Eskimonika (Encore64) - arranged by Danko

Review by LaLa, 17/04/2023

I was not familiar with this SID before I heard this remix on Encore64. Reworked by Danko in a way only Danko can. Twisting and distorting sounds to his will, but still keeping the original melodies intact results in a pretty hard electronic piece that remains hugely listenable. It's not really unz-unz music, though, because its rhythm is genre-defying, but it's still unmistakably Danko-esque with memorable melody lines played with crystal-clear synths backed by complex arpeggiated rhythms. Also, thank you, Tomas, for introducing me to this hidden gem of a SID!
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Opus III (Encore64) - arranged by Danko

Review by LaLa, 17/04/2023

It's always so great to hear a SID musician re-interpret his own work with different instruments. I really like the second half of this remix where pastiches of '90s mellow electronica abound: creamy, lush pads supported by a simple, but strong staccato bass line. Quite a delight! In fact, I wish that part was extended - it ends a bit abruptly just when I was getting into it. More of the same, please! 😋
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Ocean Loader III (Encore64) - arranged by Peter Clarke

Review by LaLa, 17/04/2023

This remix sits solidly in the symphonic prog-rock style with the original's arrangement reworked very cleverly to fit into this genre. Luckily, it retains the original's uptempo backbone, enhanced with guitars no doubt all played by Peter himself, resulting in a wonderful track that really brings back memories: ah, back when we didn't mind the several minute long load times because we got music like this in return!…
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Stationary Ark (Encore64) - arranged by Peter Clarke

Review by LaLa, 17/04/2023

Layers and layers of soothing sequences of guitar licks highlight the catchy melody, done in a style that many progressive albums of the 1970s would've been proud to include.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Immortal Flash 02 (Encore64) - arranged by Vincenzo

Review by LaLa, 17/04/2023

A great synth-heavy remix. This one made me smile, because I am a fan of the synthwave style (or retrowave or whatever you want to call it) represented by his piece. It's not as heavy- handed as to be dripping with '80s nostalgia, but the source of inspiration is certainly unmistakable. If you are not familiar with the original SID by Zardax, don't fret: I wasn't, either. It's a good SID, but Vincenzo really brought it to life with his modern-yet-retro instrumentation.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Shadowfire (Encore64) - arranged by Romeo Knight

Review by LaLa, 17/04/2023

A legend remixes another legend. Totally rocks, literally and figuratively. Romeo Knight is demonstrating complete mastery of his instruments on this track, which is an absolute tour de force, a headbanger, and now I have trouble imagining this Fred Gray classic in any other way - a sure sign that he managed to create a superb remix of it.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Bubble Bobble (Encore64) - arranged by Peter Clarke

Review by LaLa, 17/04/2023

Haha, a country/bluegrass style remix of Bubble Bobble! I absolutely love it! It totally fits in with the fun nature of the original SID. Fiddles, banjos, and pedal-steels all make an appearance within this carefully assembled arrangement. Even if you are not a fan of this style, you must admit that it's been put together superbly. And that ending - ha! Y'all, this is one helluva remix, yee-haw!
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Fourth Protocol (Encore64) - arranged by Tomsk

Review by LaLa, 17/04/2023

A melancholic, almost elegiac rendition of Fourth Protocolwith a symphonic instrumentation that harkens back to the era of romanticism. The real power of this piece is undoubtedly the choir, which lends evocative emotional undertones to this track. The echoes of this remix will stay with you long after the final note fades away…
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Denarius (Encore64) - arranged by Glyn R Brown

Review by LaLa, 17/04/2023

This is what Glyn is best known for: epic orchestral cinematic style. I am getting very strong vibes of recent Hans Zimmer soundtracks in this piece where Glyn is not afraid to flex his artistic muscles by mixing choir-embellished symphonic soundscapes with electronic sounds. The original SID was composed by Peter Clarke, but in Glyn's hands it's elevated to heights I don't think Peter could even dream of back in 1987. This track is an adventure all by itself and immensely satisfying to listen to - an instant classic.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Yes Comment - arranged by FZN

Review by LaLa, 17/04/2023

The first minute of it sounds absolutely fabulous, then it seems to fall apart a bit. Too bad, because the instrumentation sounds pretty good. It's mostly the arrangement that somehow doesn't gel with me. Can't quite put my finger on why that's so.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Ocean Loader 2 (Year of the Analogue Horn) - arranged by Dan Tootill

Review by LaLa, 04/04/2023

Interesting choice of instruments, but the arrangement is not exactly captivating. That analogue horn mentioned in the subtitle should've been more prominent, more powerful, too. The sound level of the lead @ 2:49 is way too low (I think it was supposed to be a lead instrument), which brings down that entire section. Starting @ 4:11 it gets a bit more interesting again. Then the tune ends a bit abruptly. Overall, good ideas, but it sounds half-cooked.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Last Ninja Remix - Loading Theme - arranged by Solknight

Review by Charlie Bravo, 04/04/2023

I love the ambivalent mood of this remix. It combines happiness, nostalgia and melancholy beautifully. Better or real instruments could probably even improve this remix but it stood the test of time quite well for a tune from 2003 and I'm still fond of it.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Jaguar XJ220 - Moody Breeze - Speedy Breeze - arranged by Coups

Review by RomanoImigranto, 03/04/2023

Good job !! Choice of sounds gets you on unexpected time travel. I like the chords and lead sounds. The original sound of car engine its great at the beginning. As for me some drum parts could have been a little bit more varied. But overall very good aragment.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Fist2 - The Legend Continues (feat. Vaggelis) - arranged by XxDUSTYxX

Review by rnuls, 01/04/2023

Don't know the original song but this remix make me want to listen to. Anover inspired song. To me, the accompanying guitar is a little too loud, but nothing serious
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Boneless (Remix 3) - arranged by Dr Future

Review by LaLa, 31/03/2023

I like the alternating sax and guitar on the leads. The sax sounds pretty convincing to me. And yeah, Makke, I agree: that fadeout came out of nowhere and went too fast. Also, it would be nice if the drumtrack had more excitement to it throughout the tune.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Scuba Kidz - arranged by Eivind Sommersten

Review by Gohanks, 28/03/2023

When you listen to the original SID it's very apparent that it's challenging to remix in a way to persist the original feel and put a touch of your personal style. Eivind managed to pull it of perfectly! I'm really amazed by how well this turned out 😃. The recurring background theme melody is very nostalgic, the delicate jazzy piano notes make it fresh, and the strong guitar and drums mix puts a great defining mark! Well done! 😃
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Final Hyperbase a Live Performance - arranged by Tony Fluke73 Wiren

Review by Isacco1975, 24/03/2023

If time machine were invented… This track should be played at mighty StudioZeta discoteque in Italy at that time! Great work!
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Midnight Resistance Live Performance - arranged by Tony Fluke73 Wiren

Review by Isacco1975, 24/03/2023

A good one. I like it, a good upbeat of an amiga classic! Keep up going with new remixes man!
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Rise Up - arranged by SoundLogic

Review by Isacco1975, 17/03/2023

Great stuff… Sounds a bit metal 😊 Very well arranged and very well mixed. This remix should have more positive ranking.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 ⋅⋅⋅ 88 89 90