BIT Live 2022 Remix Compo now accepting entries!

BitLogo2022 White Small Click here for compo rules.
Close

Listener's Reviews

all c64 only Amiga only

Displaying Reviews 121 - 150 out of 2404

Login

Spy Vs Spy (Spy Disco Spy Remix) - arranged by Stello Doussis

Review by LaLa, 06/01/2022

Funky 70s styling (with modern production techniques)! All we are missing is the shiny disco ball 🕺 ... This is off the hook, dude - far out! ...

Upon multiple listens, maybe the filtering effect is overused a bit too much. But now I'm splitting hairs.

Upon even more listens on different equipment, one more critique: the final mix is way too hot (loud). Congratulations, you won the loudness wars... 😒

Still an awesome tune, I thoroughly enjoy it! 😀👍

Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Spy Vs Spy (Spy Disco Spy Remix) - arranged by Stello Doussis

Review by BeeZerk, 06/01/2022

Every aspect of this tune is technically well thought out and executed in perfection. Harmonious composition of sounds and effects. The original is implemented more than recognizable which gives the tune a very high nostalgic credibility. Much time and effort spend to create such an elaborate piece of modern but still retroesque electronic music. Ingenious resembled that 70's sound and feel. Overall sound is crisp and clear. Pro Work! Very enjoyable and entertaining. A tune to remember.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Sanxion (Constipation Dance Mix) - arranged by Kraku

Review by electronscape, 01/01/2022

one of my fave tunes and to be remixed with this style of rythm... another one for the car radio! thank you!
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Giana Sisters (Menu Title Cookified) - arranged by Hansee

Review by LaLa, 31/12/2021

Welcome to the remix community! This is a really good remix, dancey-synthy, and with a more creative arrangement. You may be a newcomer here, but it's pretty obvious you are not new to music-making... Hope to hear more remixes from you in the future!
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Jeroen (Careless Edit) - arranged by Dr Future

Review by LaLa, 24/12/2021

You've matched the instrumentation of Careless Whisper very closely, kudos for that alone. The guitar sounds really good, but I think the sax could've been played a bit higher, and the strings sound too mechanical (lack of legato?). Minor gripes, though, considering how good the overall arrangement is.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

London Demo (Christmas at Reyn's mix) - arranged by Tim Forsyth

Review by LaLa, 15/12/2021

Since I wrote my shout, I listened to it a few more times. I still like that flashback style intro, the 80s style instrumentation in the rest of remix is near perfect, I get the whimsical nature of this remix (and I embrace it) - but somehow it just still doesn't gel in my mind as a whole. I prefer the 95% Wham-free version on Soundcloud...
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

DeathWish III remix - arranged by Laurikka

Review by LaLa, 15/12/2021

Welcome to the Commodore remix community!

This remix is a decent entry by a first-timer, it follows the original's arrangement fairly closely with a nice choice of instruments (I quite like those brassy chords from 0:56). But it does show some common teething problems: the instruments sound somewhat lifeless with not much variation to them. The drums sound a bit too dry in the mix. It also sounds to me like the overall instrumentation has some holes in it - many times I feel like I should be hearing something more and instead there's just the bare-bones minimum.

But overall, it shows a lot of promise, and I hope we'll hear more remixes from you in the future!

Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Christmas at Reyn's - arranged by Tim Forsyth offline

Review by LaLa, 14/12/2021

I quite like the concept in the intro, sort of a best of remembrance. Really like the 80s soundscape from 1:00, totally vibing to it. But the vocoded/synthesized voice singing Last Christmas... Not sure about that one.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Giana Sisters - Arok - arranged by Glyn R Brown

Review by danko, 08/12/2021

Also, Glyn makes me want to stop working on all the music projects I do, because Glyn.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Stranger in a Strange Land (Ensoniq Mix) - arranged by LaLa

Review by Poke16384, 06/12/2021

Lots of very recognisable undertones here.. 'Electric Dreams', 'Never-ending Story'.. Reyn's original doesn't hint that strongly at this genre and soundscape so, 10/10 for adapting it to this style.. The arrangement is faithful but, (and this is no criticism) The original doesn't leave much room to add more of your own parts like 'answer backs' to the main melody, (Reyn did it already in the SID). Your soundscape is really good. The individual instrument sounds that you've chosen absolutely represent the mid to late 80's era of electro-pop. A really enjoyable remix that only suffers from some of the repetition of the original SID. This is a tough SID to do anything other than a 1:1 cover with and you've done that really well... If I marked it down for adding next to nothing new to the arrangement, I'd be a hypocrite because I don't know what I could have added, in your place..
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Stranger in a Strange Land (Ensoniq Mix) - arranged by LaLa

Review by Laci1971, 04/12/2021

Does it seem just to me that the background music is this: Laura Branigan - Gloria?
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Stranger in a Strange Land (Ensoniq Mix) - arranged by LaLa

Review by tim_forsyth, 02/12/2021

There is so much to love about this remix. It's densely packed with rhythms, synths, arpeggios, fat brass chords and harmonies. It's tickling all my nostalgia senses, it has this sound of the 80's that's hard to pin down, Moroder, Pop, Game shows, Huelsbeck? I kept thinking I was listening to a Chris Huelsbeck remix of Reyn. The drums are tightly programmed and there's never a dull moment, 16 bars of fun throughout. Amazing! Right, I'm off to download some RX5 samples...
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Somewhere (Paranoimia Crack Intro) - arranged by moonove

Review by Sada, 01/12/2021

Add a modern note to a classic cracktro. Maybe a little short as the original track repeat itself.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Bubble Bobble (Moody Trailer remix) - arranged by Colmarr

Review by LaLa, 17/11/2021

I am going to be a bit harsh on this remix, mostly because it advertises itself as a trailer remix, which raises my expectations. From that perspective, the first minute or so of this remix - red smilie for sure, it's very well done. However, it never really seems to move on from there and gets stuck in an orchestral hits + piano cycle. Which does not sound very exciting to me after its novelty wears off.

Absolutely high marks for the unique approach to this SID tune, the sound palette you used here is totally trailer quality, but I think it would've been more successful if more thought was given to the overall arrangement.

Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

End Sax (sans sax) - arranged by Eivind Sommersten

Review by LaLa, 17/11/2021

I would like to know what's in the water in Norway, because it seems that almost every remix submitted from that country is of incredibly high quality!

The intro of this remix sounds like 4 different sample loops mixed together - I don't know if that's the case, but not that it matters, because once that piano lead floats in, I am already melting. And when the beautiful vocal replaces the piano, I feel like I am floating towards heaven.

This remix really hits a soft spot in me. Actually, it's more like it caresses a soft spot in me. The violin, the strings, the singer, the soft drum rhythm - it all feels just right. Whether they're sample loops or not - who cares. Eivind managed to create a wonderfully emotional piece out of DRAX's relatively short SID piece. Bravo! 👏👏👏 And thanks for sharing it with us! 👍

PS: Haha, yes, it is funny that a song with sax in its title has no sax in it. 😁

Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Alloyrun - arranged by SIDNIFY

Review by LaLa, 17/11/2021

SIDNIFY don't release frequently, but when they do, it's high quality stuff. No exception here, with their now-signature 'wall of sound' in-your-face arrangement, sprinkled with a generous amount of electric guitars and SID sounds. And when the hurricane-force winds generated by the speakers off this remix finally end, the only proper reaction is WOW.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Tribute to Atos - arranged by Eivind Sommersten

Review by goblin, 16/11/2021

We used this song in one of our intros(Light) for a long time and holy smokes is this version different! Super fun and stylish
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Nemesis the Warlock - arranged by Skaven252

Review by LaLa, 15/11/2021

I really like the industrial, almost steampunk style here, but I have trouble accepting that electric violin-like lead on top of all that. It feels a bit too whiny to me in this context. It's a fantastic sound all by itself, but together with this 'heavy' metallic backing - I'm not sure. Otherwise, this is a superb arrangement, and it really paints a picture: when I close my eyes I am seeing big factory machines playing this remix, with giant vats containing liquid steel all around, big sparks flying from from each drum hit...
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

The Last Ninja - The Wilderness - arranged by Johan Andersson

Review by tim_forsyth, 14/11/2021

Wonderful remix. There’s an admirable amount of restraint here that keeps the whole track a consistent and enjoyable, letting you weave in your signature style while keeping the vibe of the original intact. I also think the mix on this track is one of your best, there’s a lot more instrumentation and it compliments the brass and guitar. How you manage to keep pushing out so many quality, well played remixes I have no idea. Good stuff!
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

The Last Ninja - The Wilderness - arranged by Johan Andersson

Review by LaLa, 13/11/2021

Lovely flute, great trumpet - a unique, but undeniably signature Andersson-like take on a classic SID. It all sounds very organic, cohesive, perfectly mixed. Just great all around!
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Giana Sisters - Arok - arranged by Glyn R Brown

Review by LaLa, 10/11/2021

Boggles my mind how this placed only 4th at the Árok remix compo in 2021... This is a finely tuned epic choral-orchestral-cinematic take on Hülsbeck's classic tune. Throw in some vocal chops, maybe a pipe organ here and there, mix it up with some generous reverb - then add that special sauce that only Mr. Brown possesses, and you get a masterpiece. Mind blown! 🤯
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Lightforce 2.0 (countermelodic) - arranged by Eftos

Review by L0rd3vyL, 30/10/2021

I'm usually open to all kinds of remixes, but this one does absolutely nothing for me. Not good at all. The only thing that keeps me from giving it a lower score is I like the concept, but the execution is terrible. Bad!
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Prelude & Fugato - arranged by BeeZerk

Review by LaLa, 29/10/2021

While the SID (and thus, its remix) is based on a Bach piece, BeeZerk managed elevate it to new sonic heights with elegance and grace. Sounds wonderful!
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Myth - History In The Making - arranged by Marton Bencze

Review by LaLa, 28/10/2021

Hello and welcome to the Commodore remix community! Üdvözlünk!

A synth-heavy version of the classic Jeroen Tel tune, which goes to the dark side more than once. It's put together well, although I think the overall arrangement could be a bit more sophisticated. Looking forward to hear more remixes from you!

Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Lightforce (2021 Edit) - arranged by Dr Future

Review by tim_forsyth, 26/10/2021

Red for me, partly because this is a great remix but mainly cause you've improved almost everything from your original. Guitar playing is more natural, especially the end lead solo, replacing some synths for guitar give is a more cohesive sound. Less reverb and boominess on the bridge, the thinned out pulse width synth sounds better plus the drums and toms sit better in the mix. Great work, these may be subtle changes but they make a big difference.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Ocean Loader 4 (Beneath the Current) - arranged by Octupus Tea offline

Review by LaLa, 26/10/2021

Welcome to the Commodore remix community!

A nice, minimalist arrangement which would be fitting as the soundtrack to a kids toy. Nice touch with the waves sample (ocean loader - I get it 😉).

The mix sounds too dry, I think adding some reverb would've helped create a better aquatic atmosphere. But not bad for a first remix, not bad at all!

Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Lightforce (2021 Edit) - arranged by Dr Future

Review by LaLa, 24/10/2021

I have no idea how you manage to get your mixes sound so crisp and clear, but doesn't matter on what system I listen to this one, it just punches through speakers and headphones no problem.

Anyway, I gave your previous version an orange 2 years ago, and this one definitely earns the red one. More guitars, less reverb/echo on the lead, and just an improved sound overall. I wish the guitar lead was more nuanced at places (like at 4:36 maybe should've used mutes instead), but that's just a minor gripe. I really like it!

Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Lightforce - arranged by Tim Forsyth

Review by vosla, 21/10/2021

Would like go into details so much but I'm an idiot when it comes to music.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Lightforce - arranged by Tim Forsyth

Review by LaLa, 19/10/2021

Tim is proving himself to be quite the remix meister, and here's another proof of that. A surprising, but very creative intro followed by a more upbeat straight remix of Lighforce, and it concludes with a much darker outro. As usual with Tim's remixes, the mixing is top-notch and it all just sounds very satisfying to my ears.

PS: Prior to release Tim put up just the intro part of his remix in the R64 forum for people to guess which tune's remix it is. I don't think anybody got it right, including me. That was a fun little game. 😉

Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Fallen Leaves - arranged by Sami Seppä (Rock)

Review by Dr.j Delysid, 15/10/2021

I'm in awe struck! Brilliant Remix Rock!! top coolness and i give here 10/10 for amazing performance!! thank you so much Rock!
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 ⋅⋅⋅ 79 80 81