BIT Live 2022 Remix Compo now accepting entries!

BitLogo2022 White Small Click here for compo rules.
Close

Listener's Reviews

all c64 only Amiga only

Displaying Reviews 121 - 150 out of 2424

Login

Deformata - arranged by Danko

Review by LaLa, 27/01/2022

Evoking the style of 1990s piano house it wouldn't be amiss on the dance floor, either - but then, we don't expect anything less from Danko, do we? In a nod to the past this track also features a healthy amount of SID sounds (or at least sounds that remind me of the SID's analog oscillators) weaved delicately into the arrangement, and it's also infused with a healthy dose of something that I can only describe as demo scene style music. Really enjoyable!
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Cyberdyne Warrior - arranged by Glyn R. Brown

Review by LaLa, 27/01/2022

Not what you'd expect from Glyn! it is a very modern take on the tune where vocal chops play an important role, mixed with SID sounds and some synth-pop elements. It may be a surprising stylistic choice for Glyn, but it's absolutely smashing, a complete earworm, and sets a very high standard for the rest of the Encore64 album.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Plastic Pop - arranged by MRT

Review by danko, 24/01/2022

Maybe I don't know everything about Plasticpop. However, I did author the original version so there's that. Mordi found something in that 15 minute c64 sid thing I did as a joke back in the days. I had no idea Plasticpop had so much nostalgia, Mordi found it. 200+ something shitty remixes later (not here, on YouTube, look it up sorry), MRT adds quality to his remix.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Ground (Klsch edit) - arranged by Teo

Review by danko, 24/01/2022

Rest, not OK. How many words, ja? Not OK. Not OK. Not. OK. Nicht. OK.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Ground (Pump Up The Insomnia) - arranged by Vincenzo

Review by danko, 24/01/2022

Blending several 90s anthems into something making my old SID seem as likewise, that is just amazing.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Yes Comment (Prophet in a new day) - arranged by Mozolowski

Review by danko, 24/01/2022

Perhaps not a lot of arrangement going on, though. The original got some more progressions, and this rendition only cover a slight part of it. Still, great emotional cover of that slight part.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Tribute to Atos - arranged by Eivind Sommersten

Review by danko, 24/01/2022

Someone taking a very unpopular sid of mine, turning into a dubstylee track. What is not to love? Love you, Eivind!
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Afterburner (High Energy Prog Mix) - arranged by Peter Clarke

Review by hillsman, 19/01/2022

First ever review for me. Afterburner was the first full price game I bought for C64 - it was a game my dad wanted to play! While the game was very much OK, the music was super. And while there are a couple of good remixes out there, this is simply spot on. It kicks off sounding just like original SID, then we get the drums, the guitars, that simple, yet effective bass......and the tempo is perfect. Thank you Peter - my fav remix for 2021.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Uppercut (I put my life on it) - arranged by Eivind Sommersten

Review by BeeZerk, 16/01/2022

Beautiful composition of sounds and vocals. Everything fits well together. Good chosen sounds and the overall quality is superb. I adore the stereo mono friskyness and that particular funk feeling the tune is soaked in. Thank you for this elaborated piece, i really dig this!
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Lazy Bytes - arranged by JLD

Review by wobbler, 15/01/2022

Oh, what a very pro sounding result! Happy to hear about your move to a new DAW (and I agree that the kick in the previous remix was perhaps a tad to much), but also sorry that you're leaving Reason for Cubase. Who am I now gonna poke for collabs, huh? Huh? 😊
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Platoon - arranged by JLD & Dr.Future

Review by wobbler, 15/01/2022

Great stuff. The guitar really makes this remix a lot more personal. I just would like to have the snare (and most of the percussion) a lot less reverb:ed. Also, the remix kinda … faded away without a proper ending? No? Perhaps it's just me.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Giana Sisters - Arok - arranged by Glyn R Brown

Review by redm, 15/01/2022

Best ever version I've heard, technically and skillfully executed. Glynn... Your a genius with all your feeling and effort you put into it and you can tell you loved the original tunes.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Druid II Enlightenment / Fairlight Crack Intro - arranged by LukHash

Review by 32Bits, 09/01/2022

Was worried about a remix of a tune that was so nostalgic for me but LukHash did right by it. Familiar but new nostalgic but fresh. ticks all the boxes for me. great work!
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Druid II Enlightenment / Fairlight Crack Intro - arranged by LukHash

Review by Moonshie, 09/01/2022

One of the best remixers in our time. All his old C64 tracks are awesome! Thnx Lukhash
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Stranger in a Strange Land (Ensoniq Mix) - arranged by LaLa

Review by BeeZerk, 08/01/2022

Artisticly speaking it's a 1:1 rendition of the original SID, sounds very uninspired. The composition is great but i hear mostly Reyn and not a hint of LaLa. Soundwise it's kinda heavy on the ears, every track seems to have the same (high) loundness which sets the overall dynamic of this tune towards zero and gives it a strange and synthetic sounding. The short Hi-Hat is loud and harsh, overrides the whole environment. Overall it's very promising and i like the tune itself but i wish it would contain more of the remix formula or peculiarity in it.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Super Stardust Tunnel 4 Remix - arranged by a-Mace

Review by Murdock, 07/01/2022

It's a big challenge about a Stardust remix, but there's a little spark challenge potential who's here. You are on the right way, please continue ! 😊
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Spy Vs Spy (Spy Disco Spy Remix) - arranged by Stello Doussis

Review by D400, 06/01/2022

I like that Disco-Theme - fits perfect! Would be an interesting experience to play the game listening to this amazing remix.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Spy Vs Spy (Spy Disco Spy Remix) - arranged by Stello Doussis

Review by LaLa, 06/01/2022

Funky 70s styling (with modern production techniques)! All we are missing is the shiny disco ball 🕺 ... This is off the hook, dude - far out! ...

Upon multiple listens, maybe the filtering effect is overused a bit too much. But now I'm splitting hairs.

Upon even more listens on different equipment, one more critique: the final mix is way too hot (loud). Congratulations, you won the loudness wars... 😒

Still an awesome tune, I thoroughly enjoy it! 😀👍

Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Spy Vs Spy (Spy Disco Spy Remix) - arranged by Stello Doussis

Review by BeeZerk, 06/01/2022

Every aspect of this tune is technically well thought out and executed in perfection. Harmonious composition of sounds and effects. The original is implemented more than recognizable which gives the tune a very high nostalgic credibility. Much time and effort spend to create such an elaborate piece of modern but still retroesque electronic music. Ingenious resembled that 70's sound and feel. Overall sound is crisp and clear. Pro Work! Very enjoyable and entertaining. A tune to remember.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Sanxion (Constipation Dance Mix) - arranged by Kraku

Review by electronscape, 01/01/2022

one of my fave tunes and to be remixed with this style of rythm... another one for the car radio! thank you!
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Giana Sisters (Menu Title Cookified) - arranged by Hansee

Review by LaLa, 31/12/2021

Welcome to the remix community! This is a really good remix, dancey-synthy, and with a more creative arrangement. You may be a newcomer here, but it's pretty obvious you are not new to music-making... Hope to hear more remixes from you in the future!
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Jeroen (Careless Edit) - arranged by Dr Future

Review by LaLa, 24/12/2021

You've matched the instrumentation of Careless Whisper very closely, kudos for that alone. The guitar sounds really good, but I think the sax could've been played a bit higher, and the strings sound too mechanical (lack of legato?). Minor gripes, though, considering how good the overall arrangement is.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

London Demo (Christmas at Reyn's mix) - arranged by Tim Forsyth

Review by LaLa, 15/12/2021

Since I wrote my shout, I listened to it a few more times. I still like that flashback style intro, the 80s style instrumentation in the rest of remix is near perfect, I get the whimsical nature of this remix (and I embrace it) - but somehow it just still doesn't gel in my mind as a whole. I prefer the 95% Wham-free version on Soundcloud...
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

DeathWish III remix - arranged by Laurikka

Review by LaLa, 15/12/2021

Welcome to the Commodore remix community!

This remix is a decent entry by a first-timer, it follows the original's arrangement fairly closely with a nice choice of instruments (I quite like those brassy chords from 0:56). But it does show some common teething problems: the instruments sound somewhat lifeless with not much variation to them. The drums sound a bit too dry in the mix. It also sounds to me like the overall instrumentation has some holes in it - many times I feel like I should be hearing something more and instead there's just the bare-bones minimum.

But overall, it shows a lot of promise, and I hope we'll hear more remixes from you in the future!

Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Christmas at Reyn's - arranged by Tim Forsyth offline

Review by LaLa, 14/12/2021

I quite like the concept in the intro, sort of a best of remembrance. Really like the 80s soundscape from 1:00, totally vibing to it. But the vocoded/synthesized voice singing Last Christmas... Not sure about that one.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Giana Sisters - Arok - arranged by Glyn R Brown

Review by danko, 08/12/2021

Also, Glyn makes me want to stop working on all the music projects I do, because Glyn.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Stranger in a Strange Land (Ensoniq Mix) - arranged by LaLa

Review by Poke16384, 06/12/2021

Lots of very recognisable undertones here.. 'Electric Dreams', 'Never-ending Story'.. Reyn's original doesn't hint that strongly at this genre and soundscape so, 10/10 for adapting it to this style.. The arrangement is faithful but, (and this is no criticism) The original doesn't leave much room to add more of your own parts like 'answer backs' to the main melody, (Reyn did it already in the SID). Your soundscape is really good. The individual instrument sounds that you've chosen absolutely represent the mid to late 80's era of electro-pop. A really enjoyable remix that only suffers from some of the repetition of the original SID. This is a tough SID to do anything other than a 1:1 cover with and you've done that really well... If I marked it down for adding next to nothing new to the arrangement, I'd be a hypocrite because I don't know what I could have added, in your place..
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Stranger in a Strange Land (Ensoniq Mix) - arranged by LaLa

Review by Laci1971, 04/12/2021

Does it seem just to me that the background music is this: Laura Branigan - Gloria?
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Stranger in a Strange Land (Ensoniq Mix) - arranged by LaLa

Review by tim_forsyth, 02/12/2021

There is so much to love about this remix. It's densely packed with rhythms, synths, arpeggios, fat brass chords and harmonies. It's tickling all my nostalgia senses, it has this sound of the 80's that's hard to pin down, Moroder, Pop, Game shows, Huelsbeck? I kept thinking I was listening to a Chris Huelsbeck remix of Reyn. The drums are tightly programmed and there's never a dull moment, 16 bars of fun throughout. Amazing! Right, I'm off to download some RX5 samples...
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Somewhere (Paranoimia Crack Intro) - arranged by moonove

Review by Sada, 01/12/2021

Add a modern note to a classic cracktro. Maybe a little short as the original track repeat itself.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 ⋅⋅⋅ 79 80 81