Listener's Reviews

all c64 only Amiga only

Displaying Reviews 1 - 30 out of 2680

Login

The Way of the Exploding Fist - arranged by Molom

Review by Dr.j Delysid, 02/03/2024

i don't often heat such amazing and memorizing remixes of the classic game from mid 80s . fuckin' awesome work!!
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Syncopated (by Laxity) - arranged by Vernest

Review by lmccrea, 02/03/2024

This remix is a fantastic modern version of the SID tune. Really well done. I don't see any issues with it. I'm not sure what is wrong with some of the community members here - if you're gonna nitpick, of course you gonna find problems.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Fairytale Bliss - arranged by Dr Future

Review by JLD, 26/02/2024

The 80s/Synthwave style fits this tune perfectly. Your remix is shorter than the original, but your newly added elements are superb. Can't get enough of that guitar solo! You rock!🤘
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

X-Out - arranged by MRT

Review by Radiarion, 16/02/2024

I loved the original game, but more for the music. This is a realy awesome remix that has all the feel of the original with a modern twist, while keeping honest to the original. Nice work ! 😊
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Shadow Fighter BGM09 - arranged by Piepie

Review by Kovmisa, 14/02/2024

Waiting so long remix from Shadow Fighter, please BGM03 next, then else, love everithing about Shadow figher music
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Turrican 2 - Title (Encore500) - arranged by Jogeir Liljedahl & Rapture

Review by Radiarion, 14/02/2024

I stumbled accross the turrican games by accident when i … aquired.. some games and these were amungst them. I remember putting the disc in, hearing this track and didnt actually play the game for about an hour, just sat listening to this awesome sound, and this is one of the best remakes Ive heard!! Its freshened up a little, but kept everything the original was and more. What a great job!!!!!
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Tetris (C64 Orchestral Mix) - arranged by Bastian Dornbach

Review by Waz, 09/02/2024

To even attempt the whole 25 minutes plus of Tetris is a monumental effort to start with, never mind the execution. There's lots of well balanced progression and development as the tune builds and builds, and even though some of the instrument choices may not be everyone's cup of tea, there's no doubt that the feeling of the original SID is there in abundance, and for me, that's the most important thing - it's all there with feeling and heart. The rise and fall of the SID backing instrument is here as the whole thing moves along. There's plenty of film score sounds here, straight out of the likes of Philip Glass, Ennio Morricone et al. It's also testament to the way that the crescendos build from 17 minutes in that there's attention to detail to make not ust a 1:1 cover of the whole thing, but add to much more too. I'm certainly looking forward to what Bastian can do in the future, and this is a very good start indeed.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Tetris (C64 Orchestral Mix) - arranged by Bastian Dornbach

Review by Tomsk, 09/02/2024

I figure if someone goes to the trouble of doing a 1:1 cover of this classic, capturing every note, then the least I can do is give a full review. So I confess the begining is quite underwhelming, although the flute is perfect choice for the lead. When the sample kicks in on the SID I miss the drama, with staccato strings doing their best to fill in…but from a slightly dissapointing start, things start to improve…massively ! Delicate use of strings begin to give this a Morricone-esque type feel…they are used cleverly, and you begin realise this newcomer knows exactly what he's doing. Subtle brass and woodwind create a perfect soundscape for the theme to evolve. Part 2 brings a suitable but perfect 'fairground' organ style sound to usher itself in…and again, we fall away a little for a short time…but all the while you just know this is slowly building. As the strings and brass combine again, I feel I hear the inspiration of Ernio again…Bastain seems to nail the dynamics here, and all that's missing is some female opera vocals. Superb ! At the 16 min mark we begin get extra percussion, offering some lovely crecendos. If you love this theme, don't be put off by the opening. I listened to this multiple times, and hugely enjoyed the 25mins. Yes, there are small areas to improve, but Bastain has excelled in bringing a very, very good remix of a challenging SID. This is more or less a 1:1 version of the original, and perhaps in future this clearly talented musician can add a little of his own flair. For a first submission this is excellent, and I for one, can't wait to hear what he does next. Well done !
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

The Magic Writer - arranged by Eivind Sommersten

Review by Divus, 09/02/2024

A very good combination of vocals and instruments. It could be a little longer next time in a slightly higher octave.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Lightforce - arranged by Slaygon

Review by coyote64, 05/02/2024

You never fail to amaze me even with less than 15 words because words not really needed 😊
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Empty (Amiga MOD Remix) - arranged by acrouzet

Review by BeeZerk, 25/01/2024

What an atmospheric piece! Blown away by the additional/alternated bassline towards the end. You recognise the original immediately but it's still innovative enough to be individual, Love it! Stunning work!
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

X98 - arranged by BeeZerk

Review by Divus, 24/01/2024

A very good remix might need to be a little longer but it's also well done.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Battle Squadron - HiScore (Encore500) - arranged by Tomsk

Review by LaLa, 19/01/2024

A uniquely elegiac remix that is becoming Tomsk's signature style. Absolutely wonderful and so full of emotions! The instrumentation is a skillful combination of violins, strings, guitars, and drums (and probably a bunch of other instruments, too), and the overall arrangement has a wonderful arc to it. So well done, I really enjoy it!
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Electric City - arranged by Rock & JLD

Review by Dr.j Delysid, 18/01/2024

Amazing collabration of 2 amazing remixers ! JLD and Rock!! i love the energy of the remix, i love the groovy electric guitars which elevating it to another a superior level. i love the drums work, i love the lead track , and over all : very enjoayble remix!! we want moreeeee !!!!
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Occ-San-Geen (Encore500) - arranged by Firefox

Review by LaLa, 17/01/2024

Occ-my-god! What a great uptempo, dancey, staccato-heavy remix! It sounds like a modern chiptune mixed with heavy Italo disco and it really takes me back. Fantastic!
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Nebulus (Walkthrough Remix Radio Cut) - arranged by Mitch van Hayden

Review by Sada, 17/01/2024

I like it a lot ! Surprinsing, evolutive, neverboring remix ! The full ersion is awesome too.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Rallye Master (Encore500) - arranged by Romeo Knight

Review by LaLa, 15/01/2024

Personally, I think the original Rallye Master Obarski tune is a bit uninspiring (ducks hail of rotten tomatoes thrown his way…), but Romeo Knight makes the most out of the material with a genius idea: make it into a Depeche Mode pastiche! It's spot on! Really well done, the early 80s style is instantly recognizable.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Leander - Title (Encore500) - arranged by Glyn R Brown

Review by LaLa, 15/01/2024

The original one is fairly cinematic, too, so it's a perfect fit for that special electronic-cinematic treatment that only Glyn can provide. He is in full force here commanding a spectrum of instrumentation that several Hollywood music producers would be envious of. Just majestic!
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Amberstar - Title (Encore500) - arranged by Jogeir Liljedahl

Review by LaLa, 15/01/2024

OMG, that intro sends chills down my spine! A great emotional piece. My only wish is that the vocal was featured more than just in the intro.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Myth - arranged by Eivind Sommersten

Review by Divus, 11/01/2024

That's what I call a remix in 2024. Always insert vocals from the opera. One of the best Eivind remixes.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Emerald Mine - arranged by LaLa

Review by Oliver Klaewer, 04/01/2024

Thank you for this remix. It's sound-wise pretty close to what I heard when I composed the song on the synth. Absolutely well done.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Emerald Mine - arranged by LaLa

Review by Tomsk, 31/12/2023

Cracking synth pop remix here, in what is now becoming a bit of a (TM) style for Imre. Nails this tune and takes it into it's respective era, with great attention to detail, and well chosen instruments to complement the original. Everything is here from the original, and the pitch pends are perfection. A solid and varied drum track keeps your toes tapping along the way, and nods to the original SID help remind you of this tunes' origins….However, it's now impossible to listen to the original SID without hearing the vocoder 😊 Another very satisfying remix, well done.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Delta (live at The Church for Transmission 64) - arranged by Reyn Ouwehand

Review by LaLa, 28/12/2023

Yawn, yet another remix of Delta?!?… Just kidding! 😀

I absolutely adore the heavy use of the organ. (Hmm, an organ in The Church? Whoever heard of such a… Oh, I get it! Nice touch, Reyn! 😜)

I feel like this could've easily gone double the length, Reyn's improv skills are just that good.

Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Bombo (live at The Church for Transmission 64) - arranged by Reyn Ouwehand

Review by LaLa, 28/12/2023

Folks, please, keep in mind that the original SID tune is barely over 2 minutes long, and Reyn doesn't even get to the end of his intro before the 3 minute mark in this remix… Reyn's wide spectrum of musical talent is in full display here. Just listen and be in awe, or watch the video of it from the Transmission64 concert and be even more in awe - because this is all played and mixed live!
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Parallax (live at The Church for Transmission 64) - arranged by Reyn Ouwehand

Review by LaLa, 28/12/2023

Amazing buildup into a full-blown symphony of sounds. But to me the most favorite part of this remix is the elongated outro - total mic-drop moment, like Reyn is OUT! It sounded absolutely mind-blowing at Transmission64, and still sounds just 🤯!
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Tiger Mission (liveThe Church for Transmission 64) - arranged by Reyn Ouwehand

Review by LaLa, 28/12/2023

What a wonderful piano improv over the beat of the original! You can feel it's from the heart…
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Electric City - arranged by Rock & JLD

Review by KoYamaRo, 28/12/2023

There not many to say, Perfection… The Lead is nice the Drums are Punchy and the rest ist well done, with a nice part of Retrosounds
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Drums on the Run - arranged by Eivind Sommersten

Review by Divus, 27/12/2023

A pure energy that overflows from a second in a second . It would be good to insert the opera vocals .
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

The Way of the Exploding Fist - arranged by Molom

Review by Methanoid, 21/12/2023

by far the best exploding fist remix ive heard, dont often hear mixes of this tune but loved it instantly.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

The Way of the Exploding Fist - arranged by Molom

Review by al.x, 19/12/2023

Innovative yet still true to the original sound! I love that new talented musicians are joining this community in 2023!
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 ⋅⋅⋅ 88 89 90