Listener's Reviews

all c64 only Amiga only

Displaying Reviews 1 - 30 out of 2494

Login

Sanxion Loader (Acoustic) - arranged by trv

Review by hackerb9, 02/02/2023

While very different than the C64 SID tune, this cover was beautiful in its own way. And, to be fair, it is closer to the spirit of the original Prokofiev Romeo and Juliet, of which Sanxion was itself a reinterpretation. ¶ At the end of the original Sanxion SID, one can hear a repeated pattern: DAH dit-DAH-dit dit-dit-dit-DAH ¶In Morse that spells *TRV". I found this acoustic version (by TRV: Trev Bailey) while googling to find out why those letters are hidden in the song. ¶I think this is a lovely rendition and hope Trev remasters this recording to add in the secret Morse code at the end which just happens to spell his username! ¶If Trev does remaster the track, I would suggest also considering a few other things: ❶ Trev is a better guitar player than audio engineer, at least that was the case back in 2007 when this was recorded. Perhaps enlist some help for a remix? ❷ The atmospheric sounds effects, while a nice idea, were too obviously canned and didn't work for me. Maybe they could be subtler or removed? ❸ As some other reviews mentioned, the 64 second intro didn't lead the listener in as one would have hoped. Perhaps it can be reworked or shortened? ❹ Most of the guitar playing was sweet and evocative, but there were a couple tricky parts that were distracting and could use another take: 1:55-1:58 and 2:15-2:22. ¶ Overall, I enjoyed this immensely, but I cannot give it top marks due to the audio mixing stumbles. ❀
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Ghosts 'n Goblins (RockMetal Cover) - arranged by Vaggelis Papadopoulos

Review by antmagn, 24/01/2023

Great remix! Love it, It's like real song . Especially for those who love rock or metal music
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Dark Star - arranged by Chris Prattini

Review by joenemesys, 19/01/2023

It gently speaks to the heart through the fog of feelings with the grace of a little candle lighting up a forgotten room full of shades...I love how instruments and voice tie together towards the end with an elegiac tone
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

X-Out Highscore - arranged by Amok

Review by AmigaMelody, 19/01/2023

Very uplifting as the original, but wrong notes ruin it for me (1:53, 1:56, 2:02, 2:04 etc. - should be lower).
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Delta Multi Genre - arranged by 0supereg0

Review by monty, 10/01/2023

It starts (and ends) GREAT with that guitar play that strongly reminded me of Wilco's How to fight loneliness. Would have loved the whole track to be treated in that laid back style. The sandwiched part is not bad either, but a litte bit too generic for my taste. However, I very much enjoyed your remix! Recover well soon!
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Spy Vs Spy (Spy Disco Spy Remix) - arranged by Stello Doussis

Review by Humpty, 03/01/2023

Literally had me dancing in the shower. Brings you right back to that era. Those eerie backnotes were nicely blended in
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

DNA Warrior (Nobody wants to be my friend) - arranged by Eivind Sommersten

Review by P.G.G., 22/12/2022

Those who cannot change their minds cannot change anything. ― George Bernard Shaw.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

DNA Warrior (Nobody wants to be my friend) - arranged by Eivind Sommersten

Review by LaLa, 19/12/2022

Pretty funky, I like the groovy vibes going on here. Personally, I feel the vocals are forced on this tune, they don't seem to fit 'naturally' with the rest of the arrangement. By which I mean if you dropped the sections with the vocals, this remix would be just as good - they don't seem to add anything of value (at least, not to me). Otherwise, excellent job.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Running on Empty - arranged by Jogeir Liljedahl & Rapture

Review by P.G.G., 19/12/2022

Morning comes whether you set the alarm or not. – Ursula K. Le Guin
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Sweet (ft Gibs) - arranged by Mordi

Review by LaLa, 08/12/2022

Wow, wow, wow!

Be impressed by my triple-wow, because this being my all-time favorite SID, I am especially picky about remixes that attempt to re-interpret it.

At first I found the intro a bit too slow, but it's growing on me. The silk-soft lead instrument and the overall softness of the entire production is impressive. It would be hard to top the expressive Yamaha CS-80 lead that Marcel Donne put into his remix, but you've done a great job here, Mordi.

When the guitar lead kicks in, it really tickles my heart, makes my legs tremble, tears form in my eyes, and gives me goosebumps - just like it does when I listen to the original SID. Which means that this remix manages to evoke the same emotions in me, and that's no small feat.

Also kudos for the beautiful coda you've added to the end, it's such attention to the detail in the arrangement that makes this remix truly outstanding.

Thank you, Mordi, for this remix! I'll carry it in my heart forever.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Camel Riders Inc - arranged by Glyn R Brown

Review by LaLa, 08/12/2022

Leave it to Mr. Brown to pluck out an obscure Bjerregaard tune and turn it into remix gold. If this is what's laying around in your unfinished folder, I wonder what other treasures it might hide?!?...

The Arabian feeling is totally there, the vocals, the strings - exceptionally well done.

One gripe I have with this: I think it could've used some additional mastering, as the overall volume is pretty low. A simple compressor on the master track could've solved much of this problem (Maximus to the rescue...), but I think it could've used some boost in the low-end, too.

Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Beyond (The Ballad Mix) - arranged by Dr Future

Review by LaLa, 07/12/2022

I like this version more than the Uptempo Mix which was released at the same time. The acoustic guitar and the sax are so romantic and warm and cozy! I think the 80s drums of the Uptempo Mix would work better here then the current ones, but that's my only gripe here.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Tusker Intro - arranged by CGMcloud offline

Review by Unreal, 06/12/2022

Woow , Great Remix, Loved it! Cool atmosphere, samples, liked so much some rocky styles what i dont like so much, but its ok.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Tusker Village - arranged by CGMcloud offline

Review by Unreal, 06/12/2022

Nostalgy factor is well done, great ryhtm, guitar effects is well done, keep it up!
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Tusker Ancient Temple - arranged by CGMcloud offline

Review by Unreal, 06/12/2022

Some good pitch there, but rock style not my favourite, but not bad at all, keep it up!
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Spellbound (Orchestral) - arranged by LaLa

Review by CGMcloud, 05/12/2022

It has a very midi sound. This was something that needs a lot of work. There are no dynamics and intrument envelops.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Ace 2 - arranged by Tim Forsyth

Review by CGMcloud, 05/12/2022

Not very imaginative. Making this music into a tuc-tuc is like shooting yourself in the back of the head...
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Sweet - arranged by Reyn Ouwehand

Review by P.G.G., 05/12/2022

You only live once, but if you do it right, once is enough. — Mae West.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Cybernoid II (Like a Dream) - arranged by Mario Barbierato

Review by LaLa, 03/12/2022

Wonderful! Stylistically, it reminds me of a cross between Robert Miles and Enigma. It's a very nice trance/chill-out remix of Cybernoid II! If that's the style you were going for, then you totally nailed it.

Love the vocal coming in at around 2:30! Who is the singer?

I wish the drums were a bit more pronounced in the mix, they are just a tad too soft.

NOTE: There's a short glitch in the recording at 2:29 where all sounds pause for about half a second - I doubt that was intentional.

Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Vertigo (go deeper) - arranged by Eivind Sommersten

Review by P.G.G., 02/12/2022

I am the person who sent on the 13th of august this year the request from this wonderful theme made by a composer from Finland a long time ago since the last remix has been done almost 20 years ago on this website.Sami Seppä (Rock) composed this theme 35 years ago and made an immortal music piece of music on 3 Chanel 8-bit CPU at that time.Immortal.Great talent Elvind.Pure music soul.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Sacred Armour of Antiriad - arranged by CGMcloud offline

Review by Unreal, 30/11/2022

Technically fine, its got a nostalgic feeling , but the original track is sad for me, but its comes the old times!
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Dominator Subtune 2 - arranged by CGMcloud offline

Review by Unreal, 30/11/2022

Great Rythm after the start, various samples, not my fav track, but a very good one!
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Last Ninja - Wilderness (No Wang Edit) - arranged by Uraniummind

Review by Dan, 30/11/2022

I appreciate the no wangness of this version, whist the original is amusing the first time and sounds great it will get on my nerves after a few listens 😊
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

One Man and his Droid (2022 Jarre space mix) - arranged by chosc

Review by LaLa, 29/11/2022

It's not exactly a stretch to cover this song in Jarre's style, as Mr. Hubbard himself stated that he was inspired a lot by Jarre for this tune. Marcel did a superb job of covering OMAHD in Magnetic Fields style on his Project Sidologie album, but this one is fairly good, too. I wish it included even more pastiche from Jarre, but it's a great effort, nevertheless.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Ace II - arranged by CGMcloud offline

Review by Unreal, 28/11/2022

Great Samples, various track, keep it up! Remember the old times, thank you mate!
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Angel Face - Back to Basics Remix - arranged by Oxx

Review by tim_forsyth, 24/11/2022

I enjoyed this, the countdown and beats remind me of the game Rez. Extra red points for making the majority of the patches and your mix has a good amount of weight and punch to it. I used my washing machine in a remix once, but I think you should get an award in the new year for most novel application of a household appliance in a remix.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Space Harrier (NAPAPBWPMIF Mix) - arranged by Dr Future

Review by Arty_Da_Vinci, 20/11/2022

Excelent music . Something I'll listen to more than once after a long time.good job
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Cybernoid II (Like a Dream) - arranged by Mario Barbierato

Review by Fozzee71, 15/11/2022

Amazing sound. Drums are a little quiet but amazing arrangement. Keep up the good work. Well done!
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Stormlord - arranged by Reyn Ouwehand

Review by slaygon, 15/11/2022

The weight and timing of each keystroke reveals the emotion that went into this. The highs and lows are perfectly emphasized here. The rolls in-between tell their own story in a way, too. Generally, I do not like piano-only pieces because it is so darn difficult to get emotion out of the instrument, and it requires someone of Reyn's caliber to coax every bit of emotion out of it, which he does here. Masterclass. A great send-off for a fallen scener. Rest in peace Johannes!
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Zynaps (Vaggelis saved me) - arranged by Slaygon

Review by ALPAidUS, 14/11/2022

I really like this one! Sent me back in time and gave me that boyroom feel. Playing a cool new game and dreaming of one day being able to make music. Fuel for what was to be, and still is, the best thing ever; To make music inspired by what pixels, chip sounds and code could accomplish together. Nicely done!
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 ⋅⋅⋅ 82 83 84