BIT Live 2022 Remix Compo now accepting entries!

BitLogo2022 White Small Click here for compo rules.
Close

Listener's Reviews

all c64 only Amiga only

Displaying Reviews 1 - 30 out of 239

Login

Cream Of The Earth - arranged by gibs

Review by C64_Gamer, 17/09/2022

The original of this mod had Jan Hammer's fingerprints all over it. You can spot elements of both Miami Vice and Beverley Hills Cop in the sounds used and the rhythm. So, although this remix keeps much of that rhythm, the sound and atmosphere of the original have vanished. I'm not looking for a 1:1 copy but I feel that this remix misses many of the subtle musical references that are in the original which immediately transport us to the early 90s. My only other gripe with it, is that the arrangement doesn't take the tune to anywhere new or fresh. I know i'm criticising somebody with an enormous reputation as a remixer but I feel this is a good remix and nothing more.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Another World Intro Remix - arranged by CZ Tunes

Review by DJs. DoMoDo, 13/09/2022

One of the successful games of the Amiga with the excellent graphics and the high quality mysterious music
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Another World Intro Remix - arranged by CZ Tunes

Review by Steff, 16/07/2022

very good. nice remix, very good,very good. nice remix, very good,very good. nice remix, very good,
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Cream Of The Earth - arranged by gibs

Review by Tomsk, 25/06/2022

Love the original....love this remix...great work on a true Amiga classic, keeping the original feel whilst enhancing too....nuff said. Superb !
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Red Sector Theme (Spacemix) - arranged by Spiral

Review by fluke73, 30/05/2022

I really love this one but at the 2 mark the song jumps. Is this on purpose? I triet to play along with the song and i noticed the bump. I really like how you end it with a major chord instead of a minor. But what i see as an error at the 2 minute mark (and 3:12) makes it hard to enjoy the song.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Beat To The Pulp - Metal Tribute (2021) - arranged by XxDUSTYxX

Review by noisefloor Bjoern, 14/03/2022

Very nice, sound is great, theme fit greats into the metal version. Really loving it!
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Grand Monster Slam (Menu) - arranged by Dr Future

Review by oxygen, 14/02/2022

The side flute that accompanies the piece sounds very high quality and professional and adds aroma to the masterpiece you have written.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Venus the Flytrap - Translucent Plain (Trance Remix) - arranged by kjetiln

Review by oxygen, 14/02/2022

The music you create and the rhythm make you want to go down to the dance floor. The poetry sections of the opera in the background add an atmosphere of atmosphere. Well done for the masterpiece.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Follow the Sign - arranged by Mirko Hirsch

Review by electronscape, 31/01/2022

With a love of Laser Dance style music THIS absolutely smashs it!!! AND this instantly made my Commute so much more anticipating! THANK YOU!!!!!
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Super Stardust Tunnel 4 Remix - arranged by a-Mace

Review by Murdock, 07/01/2022

It's a big challenge about a Stardust remix, but there's a little spark challenge potential who's here. You are on the right way, please continue ! 😊
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Somewhere (Paranoimia Crack Intro) - arranged by moonove

Review by Sada, 01/12/2021

Add a modern note to a classic cracktro. Maybe a little short as the original track repeat itself.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Beat To The Pulp - Metal Tribute (2021) - arranged by XxDUSTYxX

Review by mhailingsworth, 31/08/2021

I really love this sound, it is really solid!! And awesome guitar riffs as wel... great work!!!
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Beat To The Pulp - Metal Tribute (2021) - arranged by XxDUSTYxX

Review by MORBID, 25/08/2021

Holy shiitake balls! Your remix slaps harder than my dad after he comes back from the bar!
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Turrican II Title - Hang Ten Mix - arranged by 0Supereg0

Review by hyperunknown/Noice, 24/08/2021

Seriously though, the sound and audio-image of this is just spectacular. It's like you're actually standing just infront of the stage at a live show. Props on the whole acoustic/live-feeling! Music-wise it's great, very 60's (I think?), reminds me of Fortunate Son by Creedence Clearwater Revival, same kinda feeling. Overall 10/10, I'm adding this to my playlist for sure!
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Obliterator - arranged by Romeo Knight

Review by peterparker, 17/07/2021

Obliterators theme was always one of my favorite themes. Unfortunately the game was itself not very good and also not very popular. Romeo Knight re-created the right atmosphere (as always) how this song would sound today. For my taste was the allister Brimble remix much to soft with the heavy emphasis on synths. Obviously Obliterator needs a brute guitar as The Obliterator is not some distinguished undercover cop in miami but a goddamned one man show here to save the earth and humanity. Well done and greetings to D-Town!
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Dune - Ecolove VS GITS - arranged by Murdock

Review by rnuls, 04/07/2021

Lots of echoing. Respectfull of the original spirit with a little touch of originality (not too much). Immersive song. Close your eyes, you'll be in the desert of Arakis 😉
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Super Hang-On (RMX a l'ancienne) - arranged by Murdock

Review by rnuls, 04/07/2021

Too short song, really pleasant to listen, good mixing, Assumed synth guitar. Perfectly executed, Wow, the pleasure to cruising in my car with this song 😊
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Strider (Intro n Ingame) - arranged by Ctrl-Z

Review by mv0nti, 25/06/2021

It's a tune that's not remixed often! It comes with a few cool harmonic surpises. 😉
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Romeo Knight's Piggie's Hut - arranged by hyperunknown

Review by Grigul, 02/06/2021

Great track, I love it. Even if I don't know the original, this track deserves a red Button. There are far to few metal remixes out there...
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Ruff 'N' Tumble - The Fantasy Forest - arranged by Anonymous

Review by Grigul, 02/06/2021

A really good track. Actually, I'm looking for tracks for Self Radio at GTA V, and this track fits perfectly. Speedy racings, the one or the other shootout, and than this track... Hell, yeah. XD
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Moonshine Racers (One-Toothed Billy-Bob's Band Mix) - arranged by Makke

Review by Codetapper, 10/05/2021

I'd love to hear a version of this without the singing if that's at all possible!
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Another World (End Theme Remix) - arranged by Mano

Review by Mirkone, 13/04/2021

v e r y g o o d v i b r a t i o n s... thanks ottimo lavoro, bravissimo.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Turrican II Level 1 - arranged by maf

Review by difquin, 11/03/2021

Have always loved this rendition. The delayed sawtooth synth line is glorious, and the drums with the smooth shakers really fill out the space wonderfully. The stereo image is just packed with ear candy.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Echoing (2017 Near Original Mix) - arranged by SigmaZeven

Review by Grigul, 14/02/2021

Well, I have no idea where I heared that melody before, but I reconized it immediately (even if I couldn't remember the title). Great track, got an instant earworm which refuses to leave my brain. 😊 Now, SigmaZeven, any ideas how to remove that bloody worm? XD
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

I Hate Marshmallows (Stay Puft Remix) - arranged by JLD

Review by Radiarion, 21/11/2020

Smooth, punchy, melodic, and simply love the synths. Cant wait to hear what you deliver next 😊
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Gem'X VS Turrican Remix - arranged by Murdock

Review by Radiarion, 21/11/2020

I absolutely love this track, it has an amazing flow and base line that just captivates, and holds you until the very end. As an old school Amiga guy myself, I remember most if not all of the tracks on this site, and this has to be one of my favorites of all time. Id love to hear you remake Quick n Silva main title if you fancy a challenge? Keep the beats flowing 😊 ps: What sound bank/vst did you use, Id love to get hold of those samples 😊
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Crystal Hammer (2020 Remix) - arranged by Solarstriker

Review by Aule, 06/10/2020

This is the best version of Crystal Hammer I've ever heard. You brought a special style to it. A good beat and though the harmony is a little bit different the original is still present. Good work!
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Shadow Of The Beast 2 (Game Over) - arranged by Dr Future

Review by Fabrice971, 22/09/2020

Amazing pads, amazing guitar, amazing bass. I love it even if I don't even recognize the original
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Hyperbased - OMG its a CUBE! - arranged by Virgill

Review by codewiz, 06/09/2020

At 3:25, you can hear one of the most iconic voice samples of the Amiga demoscene. I had it stuck in my mind for 30 years.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Space Harrier - arranged by Peter Clarke

Review by Poppykuk, 02/09/2020

I initially just wrote a comment on this remix but I've come back so many times this year to listen to it again & again I felt I had to give it a little more love. What an uplifting remix this is, technically the instruments & the mix are 1st class. The arrangement is brilliant from the agile bassline to the disco-strings it's so good. And from a nostalgia point of view, this IS Space Harrier. It's what I heard in my head, every time I played the game. An outstanding remix from start to finish.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8