Listener's Reviews

all c64 only Amiga only

Displaying Reviews 1 - 30 out of 2702

Login

Avenge - arranged by Eivind Sommersten

Review by Divus, 16/06/2024

A great talent for mixing SID and rhythm. I'm sorry it didn't last a little longer.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

The Stationary Ark - arranged by amoon

Review by Glyn R. Brown, 10/06/2024

Now this is one educational remix, Ha!… Behind those spoken words sits a very emotional & beautifully crafted composition, just what I needed 😊 I really enjoyed this remix…
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Textuality (and more) - arranged by BeeZerk

Review by ziona, 01/06/2024

Listening through the original SID with all its 7 subtunes, I really gotta put this review here. BeeZerk did not only re-iterated this song but added A LOT of own elements to it which elevated the whole thing to an awesome whole new funky level! The bassline is super-catchy and his own melody lines he brings in at 2:50 (that I suspect he referred to it as evolving to chaos) is simply something that after a few listens grows on you becoming a bombastic lead-attack where all notes fall into place! My only wish technically is that the kicks and snares could punch harder, but that's it! This is a superior composition with well-fitting unique touches!
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Thrust (Jeremy Smith Edit) - arranged by Dr Future

Review by Wallyrt, 26/05/2024

Outstanding Thrust composition. Love the e guitars and the Digital effects. Well done and a superp tune.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

So-Phisticated III (Part 3) - arranged by Dr Future

Review by Dr.j Delysid, 29/04/2024

awesome groovy work my friend! . love the drums work , like the energy !! love everything here..i am sure EVS will be proud of this remix! more kind of this please 😊
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Nebulas - arranged by Xandra

Review by V-12 Tropyx, 17/04/2024

While listening to this remix I am going to the journey of 8-bit C64 nostalgia. The sounds somehow reminds me some old Jeroen Tel waves. Congrats!
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Smile to the Sky - arranged by Rock & JLD

Review by TLF, 17/04/2024

Quite often I won't like a C64 conversion as much as the original, something always seems to get lost, maybe it's the way the waveforms react with each other on SID. This however is a masterpiece and certainly not easy to play. The emotion carries through, top marks, absolutely nailed it.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Lotus Turbo Challenge 2 End Tune - arranged by Tony Fluke73 Wiren

Review by Oxx, 12/04/2024

While the execution is perfect, the lead at 01:47 is above all expectations, the reasons this is not all three REDs for me are: 1. The arpeggios, which are the main characteristic of this tune in my opinion, are not the same. Somewhere in the original tune the arpeggios play isolated and that is the greatest part for my humble ears and the signature of the tune. 2. At 01:56 the part of the melody is different than the original, this may well be intentional. I listened to the original one to comfirm this. Overall, this is again great great work Tony. Let's imagine you went to a friend's party and someone played this live! Amazing.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Dignified - arranged by Rock & JLD

Review by Dr.j Delysid, 11/04/2024

Excellent work! i love the energy , i love the amazing electric guitars and the metalish version which is super awesome . Rock and JLD created a fascinating remix with so much great vibes and respect to the original tune byReyn Ouwehand and for me it's brings it a new life .respect !
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Space Harrier - arranged by Peter Clarke

Review by peltazoid, 10/04/2024

I think I missed this back in 2020, this such a fantastic adaptation of a great tune, reminds me a bit of something Sky would have done. Vibes of Yellow Magic Orchestra & ELO. Where is the bit at around 15 seconds from?? It is driving me mad!
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Blue (Clarinet Lounge) - arranged by Eivind Sommersten

Review by Divus, 05/04/2024

It could be a little slower next time. A good selection of instruments, the tempo is a bit faster, but the overall impression is fine.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

The Power Of Pain (Tendance loader) - arranged by BeeZerk

Review by Divus, 02/04/2024

Great remix. Maybe the sequencing needed a bit of work, but the overall impression is fine.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Rymddisko - arranged by Eivind Sommersten

Review by Divus, 24/03/2024

You can dance with this head all night. Maestro once again showed how 64 kb 30 years ago can sound in 2024.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Ninja in a V8 (Last Ninja + Last V8, Fusion Remix) - arranged by Vandahlia

Review by LaLa, 19/03/2024

I give you lots of plus points for your creativity: this is a fun mashup of those famous game tunes! Unfortunately, this remix also suffers from some pain points: the mix sounds mostly mono; and there are some 'odd' choices of chord/bass selection here and there (e.g. @1:16 and @2:10); the instruments also sound a bit 'dated' (admittedly, it's hard to explain this one). But that Last Ninja return to base immediately vocoded speech cracks me up every time I listen to it! 😁
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

F-14 Tomcat (2010 Remix) - arranged by Abdelmoumen

Review by Tpmccusker, 08/03/2024

I like this one, it's precise and doesn't sound cluttered and noisy like some of the others I've heard.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Robocop 3 - Main Theme - arranged by Vandahlia

Review by LaLa, 03/03/2024

I think it's a well-arranged remix, especially for a newcomer. Although sounds like you've been remixing for quite a while now. 🙂Your choice of instrumentation sounds pretty solid. I think the mix lacks some punchiness, though. It also sounds rather mono, with most instruments crowding in the center, and only some reverb/echo spreading into the side channels.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

The Way of the Exploding Fist - arranged by Molom

Review by Dr.j Delysid, 02/03/2024

i don't often heat such amazing and memorizing remixes of the classic game from mid 80s . fuckin' awesome work!!
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Syncopated (by Laxity) - arranged by Vernest

Review by lmccrea, 02/03/2024

This remix is a fantastic modern version of the SID tune. Really well done. I don't see any issues with it. I'm not sure what is wrong with some of the community members here - if you're gonna nitpick, of course you gonna find problems.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Ala Gal - arranged by Eivind Sommersten

Review by LaLa, 01/03/2024

The solo violin and cello (?) in the intro both sound very nice, I think you did the best you could with the sample libraries you have. The operatic singer in the last section also sounds wonderful. But I do have an issue with the electric guitar lead in the middle (from about 2:10): it just sounds a bit too thin and too soft. Otherwise, it's a beautiful arrangement with beautiful mixing, well done!
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Bruce Lee - arranged by Vandahlia

Review by LaLa, 28/02/2024

Another simplistic arrangement from Vandahlia, this time with a more Asian leaning instrumentation. But the instruments sound rather flat - they need more dynamism, more articulation, more expression - they need a human touch. The remix sounds too much like it was done by the numbers.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Ballblazer - Song of the Grid - arranged by Vandahlia

Review by LaLa, 27/02/2024

The instrumentation is pointedly simple, but it works. The arpeggios sound a bit too sharp, I wish they were more subdued. The problem with the simplistic and relatively unvaried instrumentation is that there's only so much a listener could take of it. I think that's the main reason why I feel this tune is 'too long'. But kudos for extending this short SID into a 7 minute piece, I think your arranging skills show a lot of promise.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Fairytale Bliss - arranged by Dr Future

Review by JLD, 26/02/2024

The 80s/Synthwave style fits this tune perfectly. Your remix is shorter than the original, but your newly added elements are superb. Can't get enough of that guitar solo! You rock!🤘
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

X-Out - arranged by MRT

Review by Radiarion, 16/02/2024

A good recreation of the Hulsbeck original with a nice modern feel. Loved the original, but this definately brings back seriously good memories. Wish they woud remake the game too 😊
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Shadow Fighter BGM09 - arranged by Piepie

Review by Kovmisa, 14/02/2024

Waiting so long remix from Shadow Fighter, please BGM03 next, then else, love everithing about Shadow figher music
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Turrican 2 - Title (Encore500) - arranged by Jogeir Liljedahl & Rapture

Review by Radiarion, 14/02/2024

I stumbled accross the turrican games by accident when i … aquired.. some games and these were amungst them. I remember putting the disc in, hearing this track and didnt actually play the game for about an hour, just sat listening to this awesome sound, and this is one of the best remakes Ive heard!! Its freshened up a little, but kept everything the original was and more. What a great job!!!!!
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Tetris (C64 Orchestral Mix) - arranged by Bastian Dornbach

Review by Waz, 09/02/2024

To even attempt the whole 25 minutes plus of Tetris is a monumental effort to start with, never mind the execution. There's lots of well balanced progression and development as the tune builds and builds, and even though some of the instrument choices may not be everyone's cup of tea, there's no doubt that the feeling of the original SID is there in abundance, and for me, that's the most important thing - it's all there with feeling and heart. The rise and fall of the SID backing instrument is here as the whole thing moves along. There's plenty of film score sounds here, straight out of the likes of Philip Glass, Ennio Morricone et al. It's also testament to the way that the crescendos build from 17 minutes in that there's attention to detail to make not ust a 1:1 cover of the whole thing, but add to much more too. I'm certainly looking forward to what Bastian can do in the future, and this is a very good start indeed.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Tetris (C64 Orchestral Mix) - arranged by Bastian Dornbach

Review by Tomsk, 09/02/2024

I figure if someone goes to the trouble of doing a 1:1 cover of this classic, capturing every note, then the least I can do is give a full review. So I confess the begining is quite underwhelming, although the flute is perfect choice for the lead. When the sample kicks in on the SID I miss the drama, with staccato strings doing their best to fill in…but from a slightly dissapointing start, things start to improve…massively ! Delicate use of strings begin to give this a Morricone-esque type feel…they are used cleverly, and you begin realise this newcomer knows exactly what he's doing. Subtle brass and woodwind create a perfect soundscape for the theme to evolve. Part 2 brings a suitable but perfect 'fairground' organ style sound to usher itself in…and again, we fall away a little for a short time…but all the while you just know this is slowly building. As the strings and brass combine again, I feel I hear the inspiration of Ernio again…Bastain seems to nail the dynamics here, and all that's missing is some female opera vocals. Superb ! At the 16 min mark we begin get extra percussion, offering some lovely crecendos. If you love this theme, don't be put off by the opening. I listened to this multiple times, and hugely enjoyed the 25mins. Yes, there are small areas to improve, but Bastain has excelled in bringing a very, very good remix of a challenging SID. This is more or less a 1:1 version of the original, and perhaps in future this clearly talented musician can add a little of his own flair. For a first submission this is excellent, and I for one, can't wait to hear what he does next. Well done !
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

The Magic Writer - arranged by Eivind Sommersten

Review by Divus, 09/02/2024

A very good combination of vocals and instruments. It could be a little longer next time in a slightly higher octave.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

The Magic Writer - arranged by Eivind Sommersten

Review by LaLa, 07/02/2024

I am in total awe. Both by the quantity, but especially by the quality of your remixes.

How you managed to create this wonderfully emotional piece out of a 1:22 long SID tune is beyond me. Just amazing. That opening with the muted trumpet - so delicate, so gentle. And when the singer comes in - wow. And it just builds up from there.

I really do enjoy this, and pretty much all the rest of your work, too. Thank you for sharing your art with us! The world is richer now because of you.

Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Lightforce - arranged by Slaygon

Review by coyote64, 05/02/2024

You never fail to amaze me even with less than 15 words because words not really needed 😊
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 ⋅⋅⋅ 89 90 91