BIT Live 2022 Remix Compo now accepting entries!

BitLogo2022 White Small Click here for compo rules.
Close

Listener's Reviews

all c64 only Amiga only

Displaying Reviews 1 - 30 out of 2424

Login

Green Beret Blues - arranged by Marcel Donné

Review by Waz, 29/09/2022

Very Bladerunner-esque and some gorgeous atmosphere in this one. It takes all the best moments of the original and gives them room to breathe, without losing its feel either.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Falcon Patrol II orchestra version - arranged by Nadin0xD400

Review by virgi, 28/09/2022

i really appreciate the instrumentals,it gives back the game's vibe. and i'm fond of classical music,so it's pretty satsfying to hear it with this amazing game.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Falcon Patrol II orchestra version - arranged by Nadin0xD400

Review by Jam, 25/09/2022

Those were fantastic times. I always loved the weird sound of the C64, but now a familiar tune in such a great arrangement - well, that's fantastic. Nadin has a great sense of the possibilities and the end result is really enjoyable!
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Falcon Patrol II orchestra version - arranged by Nadin0xD400

Review by ruczlajos, 23/09/2022

Really constructive, great composer! I love it! A promising future awaits the young composer! Congratulations!
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Green Beret Blues - arranged by Marcel Donné

Review by Armandox, 22/09/2022

Beautiful! Interesting and intelligent phrasing in your solo's. Also a very distinguished mix and master. Very pleasant to the ear! Goeie Marcel! 😉 *both thumbsup* I have to ask out of interest and peace of mind for my ears and brain...: Luftrum's Vangelis for Omnisphere?
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Beroot Olejuuri (Your still my number one) - arranged by Stello Doussis

Review by D400, 21/09/2022

What a beautiful idea - Absolutly love the instruments and the solid and nice composition and vocals !! Really great musical piece of art!!
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Cream Of The Earth - arranged by gibs

Review by C64_Gamer, 17/09/2022

The original of this mod had Jan Hammer's fingerprints all over it. You can spot elements of both Miami Vice and Beverley Hills Cop in the sounds used and the rhythm. So, although this remix keeps much of that rhythm, the sound and atmosphere of the original have vanished. I'm not looking for a 1:1 copy but I feel that this remix misses many of the subtle musical references that are in the original which immediately transport us to the early 90s. My only other gripe with it, is that the arrangement doesn't take the tune to anywhere new or fresh. I know i'm criticising somebody with an enormous reputation as a remixer but I feel this is a good remix and nothing more.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Green Beret Blues - arranged by Marcel Donné

Review by slaygon, 16/09/2022

So many things going on here with how Marcel layers things. Just listen to those oscillators! Not only is he masterfully playing on the lead motif, but he breaks it down and then builds it back again, now Vangelis style. Teasing of something just beyond the horizon, leaving you wanting more. And I do want more than this trailer track with visions of a smokey room with Deckard interviewing Rachael.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Another World Intro Remix - arranged by CZ Tunes

Review by DJs. DoMoDo, 13/09/2022

One of the successful games of the Amiga with the excellent graphics and the high quality mysterious music
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Rastan - arranged by Glyn R Brown

Review by nd4spd, 12/09/2022

What can one even say about this remix? It has the perfect epic feel to it. If you've ever listened to anything from Two Steps from Hell, this is right in that same wheelhouse. Leave the tune alone Glyn, it's perfect the way it is.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

The Last V8 (Metal Tribute) - arranged by XxDUSTYxX

Review by Waz, 07/09/2022

Very enjoyable and plenty of metal as you drive along with the most broken C64 game controls ever. It's very well made and just a little of the feel is lost for me, but kicks hard anyway. Definitely a sign of greater things to come later (see the 2020 Tusker rework!)
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Fist2 - The Legend Continues (feat. Vaggelis) - arranged by XxDUSTYxX

Review by Waz, 07/09/2022

You want a hard rock and metal section for Fist II? Well, look no further. It's as if Neil Brennan himself reformed his band and played it this way. Thoroughly enjoyable and keeping the spirit of the SID intact too.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Grand Prix Circuit - arranged by jensa86

Review by testacorsa, 05/09/2022

Well done! I am very impressed by your ability to keep it lo-fi. The dry sound, especially the drums is spot on. The Pad sound with delay on the first beat from 0:53 really takes it to another dimension, but still stays true to the spirit of the song. I imagine this is what Kristjan Hatlelid would have made it sound like, if the c64 had the ability back then. 10/10 . Absolutely ♥ it.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Ace 2 - Remastered - arranged by Oxx

Review by Eivind Sommersten, 05/09/2022

I really like this - a good take on the original! There is still a lot of headroom left in the mix though and I feel perhaps the low end is slightly left out and that could be causing it. Maybe just a bit more attention to mastering in general would help here. There is such tremendous growth in your mixes - in no time at all you will be on top, not only here!
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Falcon Patrol II orchestra version - arranged by Nadin0xD400

Review by Gabiwan, 05/09/2022

I loved this game, it reminds me of my childhood. I love it, very good music. Congratulations!
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

IK+ remix - arranged by a-Mace

Review by Oxx, 23/08/2022

The beginning is so promising, I can't help feeling a bit disappointed with the rest. But all in all (after listening to it for multiple times), I think I liked the arrangement, the altered parts of the melody etc. Just one note , I think the part starting at 02:58 deserves a good lead instrument and some sophistication, but the supporting elements starting at 03:14 compensate for it. Most of the melodic parts are recorded (or programmed) without velocity fluctuations (if my ears are not failing me. If this is not so you can always correct me) Will listen to it once more now 😊
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Terra Cresta - arranged by Johan Andersson

Review by Tas, 19/08/2022

I agree with Tim. This needed to be longer and as Tim superbly says - We needed to be taken on a journey.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Falcon Patrol II orchestra version - arranged by Nadin0xD400

Review by Joecat, 12/08/2022

Like a russian military orchestra! It is a real epic war hero music! Very good!
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Commando (Extended SID Mix) - arranged by Anthony Walters

Review by al.x, 28/07/2022

I love this! It's the SID music we know and love! Please, give me more!
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Another World Intro Remix - arranged by CZ Tunes

Review by Steff, 16/07/2022

very good. nice remix, very good,very good. nice remix, very good,very good. nice remix, very good,
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Parallax Mini EP - The Past, Present and Future - arranged by Tim Forsyth

Review by IamnotKen, 15/07/2022

Like Galway meets Cerone in his most awesomeness space-opera era! Very nice twist on my favourite C64 music.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Hades Nebula Title (Etheral Chill Remix) - arranged by Jinx138

Review by DMC, 15/07/2022

Since LaLa did his fabulous take on Hades Nebula it is very hard for me to open my heart to other people's attempt on Hades Nebula. But this one clearly has something to it . I like the style, the choice of sounds, the arrangement and the atmosphere. It seems like this is your very first track on remix64 so all I can say is: Very well done and keep up your good work. I am looking forward to more remixes.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Comic Bakery Live Performance - arranged by Tony Fluke73 Wiren

Review by Jinx138, 14/07/2022

Nice mixing, cool drums and chilly trumpet sounds. Great job! I really like the relaxing atmosphere reminding me of beaches and cocktails...
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Ghosts 'n Goblins (RockMetal Cover) - arranged by Vaggelis Papadopoulos

Review by redhot, 29/06/2022

Yeah ok this deserves a full review. Ghost'n Goblins is probably one of the most recurring song coming from the past to my mind. I really lost hours trying to beat the game and, of course, there was no save progress on the C64, so I listen to the title track an insane amount of times. I really liked the atmosphere created by the SID and since the firsts I listen to every remix of the track. I found them really good but they lacked that atmosphere. Vaggelis remix is instead enhancing that. The first time I listen the it I felt the urgency to turn my old friend on, load the game and try, once again, to beat it. I consider this an outstanding success. So the technical part. Opening is theatrical and it immediately draw a line to the rest of the track. Instruments and parts are really cured except maybe for a little drop at 1:25 (I'm still asking me if I like it or not), then the rhythm takes off to the epic level of guitar at 2:10. The track won't leave you rest, with chorus additions and increasing climax, until the last part that is a complete surprise. LaLa says that it remembers Greek , but I feel it as balkans (better Romanian): the perfect place for Ghosts and Goblins.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Cream Of The Earth - arranged by gibs

Review by Tomsk, 25/06/2022

Love the original....love this remix...great work on a true Amiga classic, keeping the original feel whilst enhancing too....nuff said. Superb !
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Chordian - arranged by Eivind Sommersten

Review by Pest Global Group DOO, 24/06/2022

Like diving in an ocean of sounds. Best remix in last 12 months I've ever heard.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Afterburner (Melodic Modal Medieval Morning) - arranged by 0supereg0

Review by robinsonb5, 17/06/2022

Wow - this is superb. The high-energy of the original completely re-imagined here, mostly familiar but with some unexpected changes waiting to surprise the unwary listener!
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Cybernoid II - arranged by Steve Foster

Review by joenemesys, 17/06/2022

The chip fashion samples, the full energetic percussions, the melody that is always her but with a scent of deep saudade: now I'm in battle mode and I can't stay still, I need to moooove!
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Cybernoid II - arranged by Steve Foster

Review by LaLa, 13/06/2022

Welcome back! It's always nice to see a remixer come back with a release after a long hiatus.

Pretty straightforward arrangement that is fairly faithful to the original. I guess, the main issue I have with this remix is the mixing - it sounds too washed out, and sounds like it was over-filtered.

I am unsure how to feel about the arpeggios in the first minute, rather than, say, using chords instead. Sure, the SID arpeggios sound retro, but I could've imagined this part with chords, too.

The drums also seem to disappear in the mix, but as I said, that's a general issue in this track. I especially miss the punchiness of the kick drum and the impact of the snare.

Overall, a solid arrangement with an underlying mixing issue.

Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Wizball opus 4 - arranged by Mozolowski

Review by LaLa, 13/06/2022

Another minimalist arrangement that reminds me of Kraftwerk for some reason. (That's because you are old, dude, and you have no other, more modern frame of reference! Ouch.) It's an almost hypnotic, sequence heavy piece - much like the original, to be honest. It's different, it's new, yet, somehow, it's the same. It's mysterious and ambivalent, it's tribal and ambient. I dunno, I like it!
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 ⋅⋅⋅ 79 80 81