BIT Live 2022 Remix Compo now accepting entries!

BitLogo2022 White Small Click here for compo rules.
Close

Listener's Reviews

all c64 only Amiga only

Displaying Reviews 241 - 270 out of 2404

Login

Parallax Loader (Dozen Delightful Mix) - arranged by 0supereg0

Review by Poke16384, 10/03/2021

Yes! Yes! Yes! Overall, a really inventive remix, very 'proggie' in it's feel and execution. My only criticism is the 2 minute wait from beginning to the entry of the picked guitar and nothing else to tickle the ears before. Another minute and the main protagonist joins the party, (the lead-guitar). For me, the remix really shines from around 3. 57 when everything comes back into tempo. There are some super-delicious licks & riffs happening and the overall sound is very authentic. Lots of musical invention here.. it perhaps needed more in the first few minutes.. another instrument to entertain us while we waited for the main-guest to arrive.. Great effort & a really good remix overall..
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Delta (lost in space mix) - arranged by 0supereg0

Review by Poke16384, 10/03/2021

Wow! There's a mix of right & wrong in this remix.. For me, it misses a full set of red smileys by a small margin.. The guitar licks are tasty enough to occupy the centre of the stereo spectrum but moderation could have & should have been used. They could have been used as an 'answer back' to the 'Delta' melody line, (maybe using a slightly stronger melody sound).. and the guitar could have been given it's own, more traditional lead-break, somewhere in the middle too.. There are places in this remix where you hear an authentic prog-rock tune. In these sections, the tempo & feel really give us a little of the atmosphere of 'koyaanisqatsi', (the true parent of Delta). Despite my critique, I like this remix and I feel that it doesn't miss the mark by that much..
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Cybernoid 2 (Late Night Drive Mix) - arranged by 0supereg0

Review by Poke16384, 10/03/2021

A very chilled beginning until the 2 minute mark when the guitar picks up the lead.. and there are some really delicious licks in there.. but a few that grate against the alternative chords, created by the bass wandering into new territory. I'm torn on this remix.. There's clearly a lot of talent here and some great ideas about taking this tune in a different direction but.. the mix is a little muddy in the low-mids, the balance gets lost and it does all get a bit messy, as the remix progresses.. Having heard this, I'll be sure to listen to future remixes from this musician.. I'm still going orange because I want to hear more remixes and new ideas..
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

TASK III - arranged by Tim Forsyth

Review by LaLa, 08/03/2021

This is a hard SID to crack because it's so intricate and so complex, and it's also high-paced. If you listen carefully, this remix is a really good effort, with lots of the subtleties of the original present in this remix. The somewhat chaotic nature of the original also comes through very well.

I find it hard not to compare it to Ocean's excellent version from 2002, which I think absolutely nailed the instrumentation and the arrangement, too. Listening to Tim's version and Ocean's version back-to-back also reveals that Tim's version lacks a lot of punch, which I think can be fixed in the mixing department. All in all, my hats off to Tim for taking a crack at this SID and because he obviously poured a lot of effort into his remix, and the result is a pretty darn good piece.

Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

IK+ Club Mix - arranged by Phrygian

Review by LaLa, 08/03/2021

I don't think you amped up the clubby beat on this high enough! Great concept, so-so execution. I think I like the 5:34-6:04 section the best. The part starting at 6:04 was supposed to be crescendo of the entire tune, and your lead here sounds really whimpy, plus it misses all the portamentos badly, too (you did not pay attention to that after your SID2MIDI conversion, did you?).
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Delta (lost in space mix) - arranged by 0supereg0

Review by LaLa, 08/03/2021

Really smooth bass kicks ass on this remix. That whiny sound, though - ouch, not to my liking. Love your guitar jamming on top of the beat. This remix falls apart badly at 1:30 - you should've stopped the guitar licks at that point. That section sounds too dissonant to my ears, anyway.

At 2:16 we are back to our regularly scheduled Delta, still, that thin hi-freq whiny sound just doesn't seem to fit.

3:05 - silky smooth jamming again, tickles my ears. That provides a strong finish to this remix.

Overall, I think you fell too much in love with your own jamming on this remix, you should've paused it, especially after 1:30.

Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Cybernoid 2 (Late Night Drive Mix) - arranged by 0supereg0

Review by LaLa, 08/03/2021

This one sounds really excellent until about the 1 min mark when that synth lead comes in. Does not compute! Then you redeem yourself with a much better guitar lead after the 2 min mark, only to switch back to the synth lead again. I mean, the lead sound would be fine by itself, it just does not fit this track at all, IMHO. At around 3:50 it all gets chaotic to my ears, and then it fades into a jam session. This tracks shows a lot more promise than what it actually delivers.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Parallax Loader (Dozen Delightful Mix) - arranged by 0supereg0

Review by LaLa, 08/03/2021

I love this! It's like a jam session over a Parallax beat. Sounds very impromptu, towards the end ever more improvised. You've done something new, something fresh with Parallax in a prog-rock style. Great job!
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Glider Rider - arranged by Makke

Review by LaLa, 05/03/2021

Another Makke classic from days of yore, yet, it sounds as good today as it did 15+ years ago. (Funny how these bits and bytes don't fade with age like my cassette tapes do...) And that vocoder voice totally became Makke's signature. 😊 All coupled with lyrics that is spot on.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Druid II Enlightenment / Fairlight Crack Intro - arranged by LukHash

Review by m1k3p, 04/03/2021

LukHash has done it again - Great sense of space in the mix, and a fantastic flair for capturing the WHY we loved these tunes in the first place. I've been a long-time fan of LukHash, and think he has a unique talent for bringing these SID classics into the 21st Century!
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Terra Cresta Reason remix - arranged by Rodolphe Bost

Review by Kenshigros, 26/02/2021

Hi. I am the one posting this music. Like I said in the comment of this tune I am not the creator but his friend and it was back in 2012 and it was his mp3 so I wouldn t touch it and he was a guy who don t touch but record and send. He didn t like to alter or optimise stuff He just played on the keyboard thru Reason 5 i, the night in high season since he was a cook. I know it ends abrutly but by respect I wouldn t touch it. Thanks for reading me Alex
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Turrican II Loader (LManic Mix) - arranged by LMan

Review by FlowerAI, 24/02/2021

very ultra super duper techno trance bass and drums holly shit!!! shitstorm, shitstorm, shit thunderstorm
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Dragon's Lair II - subtune 4 (Renaissance prelude) - arranged by Fabio Marinelli

Review by Waz, 23/02/2021

Although a very nice idea to carry out a very Renaissance era theme to this Dragon's Lair II, there's just the feeling itself that seems to be lacking. It needs some more emotion, possibly a crescendo in parts to heighten the suspense. The idea is absolutely the right one to do and with more care this would be rather delightful, but it falls short unfortunately.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Druid II Enlightenment / Fairlight Crack Intro - arranged by LukHash

Review by Scaver, 22/02/2021

Second disappointment in a row: I felt the same with your Central Park remix, did not make a remark then but now it seems some kind of tendency so I may put it in detail. Good one but - with all due respect - nothing groundbreaking: Druid 2 in synthwave/dubstep. (The line from Impossible Mission was surely unnecessary in my opinion, it strongly felt out of place.) I feel we are somehow having an inclination to ’overrate’ the work of LukHash which is quite understandable: with great former achievements come great expectations. Though the sound is truly top-notch, I fairly miss the features that make a remix distinguishing and really innovative which would deserve this credited appreciation. The only nostalgic factor I sense is merely from the original sounds, not from the melody which should be the primary source. Also, when choosing an extremely well-known and over-remixed song, you gotta’ come up with more new ideas (structural twists and turns, supporting melodies, significant own solos... etc.) that clearly distinguish your track and bring added own value (reaching far beyond refurbished sound only) thus not leaving it only one among many on which the usually applied delayed arpeggios and over-compression do not help, unfortunately. With your recent ‘convenient tracks’, I cannot help but feel a little struggle to quickly jump in ‘da old days’, enjoying their glory in a quick and comfortable way. So, again with due respect, this is only mediocre in my opinion, I am sorry. In the future, please re-invent your remixes with fresh ideas, not just by polishing the sound and insert some filling sections to stretch playing time. Being your fan for a long time, I followed your work and I know you can re-born and show some new and great stuff, like you have done a long time ago. Live up to your reputation, dude, don’t let it fade.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Dragon's Lair II - subtune 4 (Renaissance prelude) - arranged by Fabio Marinelli

Review by Tomsk, 22/02/2021

After a few listens, I decided to review this (instead of a shout out), and up the rating from Grey to yellow. Reason? It's a nice clear mix and even though it's a simple 1:1 the instrument choice is good and perfectly suits. I still feel it's a slightly missed opportunity and is crying out to be given more feeling and emotion. A really good idea, but free it from the 1:1 cover and take us on a journey. Potential is there Fabio...
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Tusker - 03 - Metal Tribute (2020 Rework) - arranged by XxDUSTYxX

Review by mhailingsworth, 22/02/2021

Great song, I really like it! Played really well on all instruments and great sound, respect!!
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Hades Nebula - arranged by Colmarr

Review by LaLa, 21/02/2021

The essence of the original is there, but it's presented somewhat flatly - I wish there was more emotion, more dynamics in it. I also think the male vocal shouts do not fit here, they jolted me out of the otherwise ethereal soundscape. The arrangement is fine, I even like the instrument selection, but the mix could've benefited from some additional tune-up to add some 'unpredictability' to it.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Quedex Loading (REMASTER) - arranged by Philip Bak offline

Review by Ahriakin, 20/02/2021

Wonderful arrangement and mix providing a complex symphony for a tremedouse source piece. Love it.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Human Race (Welcome To Goldrunner) - arranged by The St. Albans Rob Hubbard Fan Club offline

Review by Ahriakin, 20/02/2021

Occasionally seems to fall out of tune, and the piano reprise doesn't quite work imho - the concept yes but the instrument is too forward compared to the space fo the mix and isn't impactful enough to match the tone. But other than that is a great epic vocal mix.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

The Last V8 (Locked Down Remix) - arranged by Graeme Slapp

Review by Ahriakin, 20/02/2021

Though well respected not one of Rob's absolute best, at the same time this is an excellent mix of the original. Doesn't stray too far from the source but at the same time perfects it to nab a 5/5 from as 4/5 imho.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Oblique (Hoax me once, shame on you...) - arranged by Slaygon

Review by Ahriakin, 20/02/2021

Absolutely deserving of 'Cinematic' as it reminds me so much of Hans Zimmer. The beat and melody are uncomplicated but satisfying. The arrangement and mix/master impacting, engaging and downright fkn brilliant 😊
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Echoing (2017 Near Original Mix) - arranged by SigmaZeven

Review by Grigul, 14/02/2021

Well, I have no idea where I heared that melody before, but I reconized it immediately (even if I couldn't remember the title). Great track, got an instant earworm which refuses to leave my brain. 😊 Now, SigmaZeven, any ideas how to remove that bloody worm? XD
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Hessian - Title Theme (epic vocal soundtrack) - arranged by Anthony Walters

Review by Grigul, 12/02/2021

That track is a great example when you try to explain, what a C-64-Remix IS. You give the other person the original tune, he recognizes it immediately as C-64-Music. Than you give him this remix, and enjoy his reaction. Absolutely amazing track, I really enjoy it every time I hear it.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Dragon's Lair II - King Lizard DarkMedieval Remix - arranged by Fabio Marinelli

Review by Amon73, 10/02/2021

Mi piacciono molto i cori, le campane, ed il remix! Continua così. Spero di ascoltare quanto prima il tuo lavoro su shadow of the beast!
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Commando Highlife (Christmas Carols in St. Albans) - arranged by The St. Albans Rob Hubbard Fan Club offline

Review by LaLa, 10/02/2021

This sounds much better than your previous choral remix (Human Race). I love the arrangement, and the performance is full of emotion, it's rather moving actually, I quite like it! However, I am going to be nitpicky about the choirs yet again: I really wish they sounded a bit more natural, a bit more convincing. You have mixed the male, female and children choirs masterfully in this remix, all singing their own lines - what a great idea! But they sound just a tad too robotic to me. I think yet again it's down to the lack of legatos between their phrases. But that piano ending with the soft tones - OMG, that is just brilliant! All in all an excellent piece - and to be honest, I think you made your choir sample libraries sound as good as you could, with proper dynamics and everything. I just wish you pushed them a bit more. I can only imagine how this would sound with a real choir... Really impressive job, thanks for sharing!
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Way of the Exploding Fist (In Game music) - arranged by JB Xplodingfist

Review by tim_forsyth, 28/01/2021

I liked the synth patches you've used, which I thought gave it a strong start, but I was hoping this would take me on a journey somewhere. I think it needed to either build up to the drum section or settle into a groove using some more instrumentation / rhythm in the background.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Human Race (Welcome To Goldrunner) - arranged by The St. Albans Rob Hubbard Fan Club offline

Review by tim_forsyth, 26/01/2021

what you have here is a prototype for an amazing live performance. Fantastic arrangement, hitting the right notes and vowels in the right spots. Amazing.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Way of the Exploding Fist (In Game music) - arranged by JB Xplodingfist

Review by LaLa, 25/01/2021

Starts out with a simple intro - but unfortunately it also continues the same 'simple' theme for the rest of the tune. There's nothing wrong with simple, but you should've injected more dynamics, more 'emotion' into the individual instruments. Shows promise, though, so I'd encourage you to keep trying with more remixes!
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Magic Johnsons Basketball - arranged by LPChip

Review by VᒪIᑎᗪEᖇ_⊘7, 24/01/2021

This tune has such a great vibe, just got to love it. Definately one of my faves 😊
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Cauldron 2 - arranged by Makke

Review by DMC, 24/01/2021

When I first heard this track I thought: Wow, what type of vocoder is this (because this thing has a special sound to it that I never heard before)? I never figured it out but every time I listend to the track, the same question came to my mind: What vocoder did he use. Today is the day I was waiting for so long. You revealed it to the public (Ok, I could've asked you, but I never did) 😉 Sadly, the plugin isn't available anymore.😒 The whole track is full of Kraftwerk related blips and blops and this is a good thing. Everything sits well and tight in the mix and sounds marvellous (but it already did with the first released album version). Thanks for releasing it on RKO. I'm looking forward to the next releases from It's binary, baby! .
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 ⋅⋅⋅ 79 80 81