BIT Live 2022 Remix Compo now accepting entries!

BitLogo2022 White Small Click here for compo rules.
Close

Listener's Reviews

all c64 only Amiga only

Displaying Reviews 151 - 180 out of 2404

Login

Rainy Day - arranged by Sami Seppä (Rock)

Review by Dr.j Delysid, 15/10/2021

I'm in awe struck! Brilliant performance Rock! i feel a lot heart, soul and his powerful on this tune. the Technique and either nostalgia factor is double the standard!
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Jeroenimo - arranged by Sami Seppä (Rock)

Review by Dr.j Delysid, 15/10/2021

fucking awesome work Rock! i love the energy and the coolness of the sound. you nailed it so greatly here! eargasm immediately as the tune starts!
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Muser - arranged by Sami Seppä (Rock)

Review by Dr.j Delysid, 15/10/2021

Top notch quality work Rock! love from the first second! a Finnish Gold legend! Outstanding! Outstanding! Outstanding!
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Rainy Day - arranged by Sami Seppä (Rock)

Review by Laci1971, 13/10/2021

You’ve found the perfect balance between chiptune and live music. You have perfect remixes. Thank you.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Jeroenimo - arranged by Sami Seppä (Rock)

Review by Pest Global Group DOO, 11/10/2021

You only live once, but if you do it right, once is enough. - Mae West
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Gaplus - arranged by Eivind Sommersten

Review by LaLa, 05/10/2021

As happy as I am to finally hear a remix of this almost-forgotten Jeroen Tel tune, this one leaves me a bit unsatisfied. The simplistic arrangement is obviously intentional, but it feels to me there's a real remix waiting to burst out of it - but it never does. Too bad, because it really has all the elements that would make it great - we just don't hear them all together at the same time.

The whistling towards the end was a pleasant surprise, even if it's a bit out of tune here and there, but that just makes it sound more real. 😉

Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Dominator Loader (Dominant mix) - arranged by Ctrl-Z

Review by Shargo, 30/09/2021

I really like this song, it's drive, sounds - all comes together in a nice upbeat song
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Last Ninja Remix - The Sewers Intro (2021 Remix) - arranged by Fabio Marinelli

Review by LaLa, 29/09/2021

This remix creates a really nice atmosphere right out of the gate. It's a nice mixture of gentle mystery and a subtle, creepy background. But... just when I am about to get into it, it ends. More, please!
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Dominator Loader (Dominant mix) - arranged by Ctrl-Z

Review by Nibe, 28/09/2021

The extension made it more complex! I prefer longer remixes and it made the song not overloaded with unnecessary repetitions. keep it up guys!
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Dominator Loader (Dominant mix) - arranged by Ctrl-Z

Review by mv0nti, 26/09/2021

Refreshing, up-beat, cool breaks, good variations, and exactly the right dose of blirps! 😉 Not only a neat interpretation, but also a remarkable extension of the original!
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Lightforce - arranged by Skaven252

Review by Dr Future, 17/09/2021

Very good remix, nice to hear. Especially the steam boat sound at 2:23 is a cool fx.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Ghosts n Goblins (Ghosts n Thrillers) - arranged by Makke

Review by Nibe, 17/09/2021

I want a whole thriller album remakke-d!! Can we do a crowdfunding for that? This remix summons all up what we love about your style! 100%yes!
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Lightforce - arranged by Skaven252

Review by LaLa, 17/09/2021

Wow, quite an honor to see Skaven's name pop up here - a legend all by himself! It's actually kinda funny to see the moniker Newcomer next to his name (at the time of this writing) - which he most definitely isn't. 😁

He has graced us with his first ever SID remix submission - and what a remix it is! A hybrid symphonic-electronic cinematic style tour-de-force. It's 6+ minutes long, but there's not a single boring moment in it. My favorite is probably the super-raspy brass from 2:23 - holy moly, that just cuts straight through to my bones!

An absolutely jaw-dropping production, just top-notch. Love it. 👍👍👍 Welcome, Skaven, and I hope you'll take the time to create more SID/Amiga remixes in the future, too!

Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Gerry The Germ #7 - arranged by o2

Review by Zod, 14/09/2021

Looks like I'm dancing alone at the start but after that my boobs start to dance with me, but wait... what?
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Supremacy (Cobalt8 Mix) - arranged by Ramjet

Review by LaLa, 11/09/2021

Welcome to the remix community, Ramjet! 🙋‍♂️

A fairly straightforward cover of the classic SID, closely following the original's arrangement. So, nothing to complain about there.

What's missing here is some sophistication in the instrumentation. I don't know if that was deliberate, but they all sound fairly flat with little movement, other than some reverb that got sprinkled around.

I'd say pretty good for a newbie, so keep at it!

Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Ghosts n Goblins (Ghosts n Thrillers) - arranged by Makke

Review by Dan, 01/09/2021

Classic Makke, a real treat of a throwback to when RKO had a bit of character 😃
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Ghosts n Goblins (Ghosts n Thrillers) - arranged by Makke

Review by wobbler, 01/09/2021

I'm just so happy that Makke re-entered the … eh, scene. His (yours, Makke) stuff continues to be super innovative, packaged in a purrfect retro box. All I want, really.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Beat To The Pulp - Metal Tribute (2021) - arranged by XxDUSTYxX

Review by mhailingsworth, 31/08/2021

I really love this sound, it is really solid!! And awesome guitar riffs as wel... great work!!!
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Terra Cresta - arranged by Tim Forsyth

Review by LaLa, 27/08/2021

Tim must have a built-in awesomizer. Somehow he was able to take an iconic Galway tune and make it even better. We don't even get to hear the iconic lead until 3 minutes into the tune, but it's not like it's all boring up to that point, on the contrary. And that lead: why mess with perfection, just use the SID as-is! And then he goes into his now-signature improv section that always elevates his remixes to new heights, and it's no exception here. I'm absolutely blown away by this remix!
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Beat To The Pulp - Metal Tribute (2021) - arranged by XxDUSTYxX

Review by MORBID, 25/08/2021

Holy shiitake balls! Your remix slaps harder than my dad after he comes back from the bar!
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Turrican II Title - Hang Ten Mix - arranged by 0Supereg0

Review by hyperunknown/Noice, 24/08/2021

Seriously though, the sound and audio-image of this is just spectacular. It's like you're actually standing just infront of the stage at a live show. Props on the whole acoustic/live-feeling! Music-wise it's great, very 60's (I think?), reminds me of Fortunate Son by Creedence Clearwater Revival, same kinda feeling. Overall 10/10, I'm adding this to my playlist for sure!
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Black Lamp - arranged by Slaygon

Review by LaLa, 22/08/2021

While sonically perfect, it feels like this remix is trying to compress about 10 minutes worth of musical material into 3. 5 minutes of a whirlwind. I get it, that was the time limit of the Árok compo, but it makes the arrangement feel a bit too mishmashy to me.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Ocean Loader - Modern Metal Mix - arranged by Underphil

Review by LaLa, 17/08/2021

Overall, not bad, good use of the double guitars hard-panned left and right, but let me point out a couple of issues with this remix:

1. The intro (and the outro) is nice, but the licks really have nothing to do with the rest of the track, so they are a strange bookend.

2. The guitar lead starting at 2:01 (and @3:25) sounds extremely flat, void of any articulation.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Lightforce - arranged by Mixer

Review by Frida Katarina, 14/08/2021

One of my favourites. It builds up a bit slow and the end part seems a little bit dull, but that's only because the middle part is so powerful. Once it kicks off, it flies sky high. I really like the choice of instrument on the lead there, and the right amount of reverb fits it just perfectly. And the promising fanfare subtly bubbling up in the background, and the little twist at the end of the flourish. Well done. Thank you.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Power Drift (Low carbs more cow Bell) - arranged by 0supereg0

Review by LaLa, 14/08/2021

The mix is all over the place, the rhythm guitars are especially muddy. Got some nice ideas in there, but I think this track should've spent more time in the mixing department for polishing.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Star Soldier - arranged by Aarrow

Review by LaLa, 12/08/2021

Kudos for picking an obscure little-known tune for your remix! The arrangement is not exactly sophisticated, but it's charming. Great choice of instruments. Looking forward to more productions from you!
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Bossa Nova - arranged by Eivind Sommersten

Review by LaLa, 06/08/2021

Perfect marriage of original SID and remix musical style! Finally, something different! Very nicely done.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Hardware & Hubbard - arranged by Makke

Review by LaLa, 04/08/2021

Still sounding great after all those years! This has everything: multiple Hubbard tunes, hip-hop beat, Commodore ad samples, and lyrics that only a true C64 geek can understand.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Why Not (Dope Out) - arranged by Eivind Sommersten

Review by Diatonator, 26/07/2021

That's how I imagine DRAX tunes fleshed out into real instruments! I definitely need to do something of sort. 2:10 part really screams for good human guitar solo though! Could provide if you want actually..
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Microprose Soccer (Chug it) - arranged by Slaygon

Review by monty, 19/07/2021

This one is a grower! I think it deserved a better result in the compo and I can only speculate that the slow build-up maybe doesn't work extremely well for a compo entry. However, regarding the slow build-up I think the goosebump-inducing main part (from 2:30 on) should have been extended. Btw. I bought the game back then and I cannot remember that tune at all hence the low nostalgia factor...😉
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 ⋅⋅⋅ 79 80 81