BIT Live 2022 Remix Compo now accepting entries!

BitLogo2022 White Small Click here for compo rules.
Close

Reviews by hbasm

arrow_forwardMember Profile

all c64 only Amiga only

Displaying Reviews 1 - 17 out of 17

Login

Trolls (Evil trolls from the dark forest mix) - arranged by X-formZ

Review by hbasm, 09/01/2005

Here goes a well-balanced mix between C64 arpeggios, distortion guitars and punchy drums. I hear some live guitar work as well.

C64 arpeggios are in my experience difficult to implement in non-C64 music but here it works out elegantly. I credit musicians for at least trying to use the C64 sound, to mix old with new, and create a branch of music that is unique.

I do think the bass-guitar is slightly too dominant for too long, so it drowns the lead instrument. I think the leads should take the lead but here it's more like all the instruments want equal attention.

But the drums have perfect presence. Bottom line is, this tune is elected to a personal favourite.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Kung Fu Master (The Beatrix Mix) - arranged by are be

Review by hbasm, 28/07/2004

There is something quite attractive about this remix. Although perhaps it does lack a strong and defined bass, and the overall sound may rely too much on dynamic compression. But the selection of instruments is interesting and plays well together. The result may not be categorised as easy listening. But I tend to give music my full attention (if I like it anyway) and I always listen with good earphones so I have no problem understanding what is going on. As for nostalgic impression, I don't have any memories about the Kung Fu Master game, but I think the remix maintains the feeling of C64. There is high energy and some creative elements to this remix.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Hostages 2004 - arranged by Raven Squad

Review by hbasm, 16/05/2004

Certainly has value. I like the tune and the pace. The selection of instruments is nice and soft (oh well, maybe not the lead that plays the main melody). It's not perfectly in tune with the other sounds and this, I find slightly unpleasant. It may also be a good idea to trim the whole thing down a minute or so. It would make it less monotome and you'd have a simple but beautiful track.

No nostalgic feelings for me - that is because I never heard the original tune before.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Void (unlooped) - arranged by Vip

Review by hbasm, 26/07/2003

I really like this one; it has emotion. Soft pads that reminds me of a piece of music from the early 90'es: University of Love - Wostock 3.

There are a few clicks in the sound. Not so bad but I can hear them. Aside from that, I like the simplicity of this mix. I get a subtle nostalgic feelings from the bass instrument in particular.

I like the trimmed-down track. No long loops.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Supernova (the slow tune) - arranged by Thomas Detert

Review by hbasm, 26/06/2003

Man, this is just a masterpiece! It has perfect pacing. The sound is rich and intriguing. No cheap tricks here. I wish I could produce something like this but it's probably never going to happen.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Zoids (The movie) - arranged by plasm303

Review by hbasm, 26/06/2003

Very nice, with this remixer's own additions to the tune. I just wish the rain would stop. I consider it to be a bit of a cheap trick to get atmosphere. It works in a movie, but not a soundtrack, IMO.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Wizball (Electronica) - arranged by Gustav Taxén

Review by hbasm, 04/05/2003

I'd say this music is New Age and Gustav has got the hang of it. I don't think it's related to Wizball or the C64 however. But I think the idea here is to stimulate our fantasy. If you've ever heard of Jonn Serrie, you'll know he is considered to be the father of space music. I think he's very talented at using sound to connect us with the vast emptiness of space. Clever melodies and/or sound effects.

This remix of Wizball has potential but I think it still has a way to go. I see no connection to the C64 so it may also be slightly off-topics here.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Vivian - arranged by Markus Siebold

Review by hbasm, 13/04/2003

I just love the 80's drum and synth here! Although the music is a bit confusing. I can't really pinpoint why. The setup is great, but the music is not great, and it plays for too long.

But I do amire people who are able to balance a bunch of instruments so well in a mix. Even after 10 years of trying I still get stuck after setting up a rhythm and bass.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Deflektor (NuSkull remake) - arranged by AnDras Poszt

Review by hbasm, 08/04/2003

Groovy and cool! Actually I've never heard something like this before. If it's called britpop, then so be it.

It's melodic and monotome at the same time. With all the repetition I'll have to rate the nostalgic impression high, although C64 music wasn't always so short. It wouldn't hurt to cut off a minute from this remix.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Target Renegade - arranged by Peters

Review by hbasm, 01/04/2003

Not a typical arrangement, but new things are welcome. Maybe a bit too much reverb and echo. Some instruments sound too far away. It reminds me of the music I did 10 years ago...

Sounds a bit odd at the end, like it's too abrupt. Maybe the upload broke? Anyway, keep up the good work.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Zamzara (Spice Mix) - arranged by Gustav Taxén

Review by hbasm, 25/03/2003

That's great! Great instruments and melodies. Very talented mix. I just wish 2 things were different: The snaredrums are too strong. They hurt me ears. And the first minute of the song isn't grabbing me, perhaps again, because of the beat that hurts my ears. I use earphones and even filtering away the treble doesn't solve it.

That's a shame cause the rest is lovely. Gotta love that bass and lively melody, the wah-filters are pretty intelligent. The tonal relationship between melody and bass seems greatly improved from the original composition.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Comic Bakery (Retro Magic) - arranged by Hazel

Review by hbasm, 25/03/2003

It definitely has potential. There are some great ideas here. The main problem here is the order in which the elements are introduced. The breakbeat comes almost immediately, very loud and dry. I'd suggest a slower buildup into a fuller sound. Where's the climax? It's not obvious.

The piece has some cool tidbits, but listening to it from beginning to end, is not so pleasing.

Some instruments are badly tuned. Aside from that it does sound kind of fresh, because of the mixture between SID sounds and other instruments - and a kewl beat.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

International Karate (Tasty Dance Mix) - arranged by Yzi

Review by hbasm, 21/03/2003

Pretty good. The melody is lacking in a few places but the original tune ain't better. The sound is thick, and feels unusually warm in my opinion. I appriciate the C64 arpeggios. Now, it would be great with a singer to top it off and give some variation.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Cauldron II - I am a Pumpkin Man - arranged by trauma

Review by hbasm, 28/02/2003

I'm sorry, but I think this is absolutely awful. I also think I can say this openly without hurting the artist, because this is no surprise. This kind of music just doesn't ring for everyone!

I'll rate this average for technical and artistic impression because the outcome isn't technically bad. The nostalgic impression doesn't exist for me, because I don't see a relationship here to the C64 nor have I ever played the original game.

I can't stand listening to this tune, but some people will think the opposite, so the arrangeur need not worry. 😉
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Ramparts (DnB Remix) - arranged by korrph

Review by hbasm, 27/02/2003

I've heard these kind of rhythms before but not in concert with good melodies. So this is a rather tasteful favourite of mine. Drums could have been more upfront and 3D, but overall the instruments are well balanced. If wouldn't have come up with this style, if I was to remix the original C64 tune, but it's rather interesting.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Zoids (War, Death and Resurrection mix) - arranged by OJ Oscillation

Review by hbasm, 04/02/2003

I find it somewhat difficult to judge this remix. There's a impressive blend of sound effects, but musically I think this remix has degraded from the original tune. It would still make a good backdrop in a platform game. Well...
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Furycalypse Now (feat. Tuomio) - arranged by Axeman

Review by hbasm, 04/02/2003

I keep coming back to this tune after lots of C64 remakes. I've never heard the original tune so I don't have any nostalgic feelings but there are feelings in this remix! The style isn't what I usually listen to, but this one triggered my interest. Well done guitar play, nice distortion, sound effects are not overdone, and some noisy 8-bit samples. A refreshing combination.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

1