Listener's Reviews

all c64 only Amiga only

Displaying Reviews 1 - 30 out of 2406

Login

Glider Pilot - arranged by Eivind Sommersten

Review by Dees Productions, 03/07/2024

Very relaxing remix of a classic SID tune. The soothing atmosphere just makes me glide away!
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

RoboCop (Binary Hearts Beating In Time mix) - arranged by Cinnamon Dreams offline

Review by Poke16384, 03/07/2024

I'm assuming, based on Cinnamon Dreams' previous 2 uploads that this song is also 100% AI generated. That changes the rules upon which it should be judged. If all of the creation, arrangement and mix/master is the work of an AI program then the only skill or ability we can attribute to the uploader is their ability to feed a set of parameters to the AI program… and that isn't why Remix64 exists. Best AI Programmer won't ever be one of the Remixer of the Year awards.. Whether you are a remixer or somebody who simply enjoys listening to remixes, (and I'm both), the attraction of both RKO & Remix64 is hearing the creativity and imagination of real musicians and their interpretation of SID music into their own style, genre & arrangement.. and all of those tasty little bits of ear-candy in a finished remix..? They usually evolve during the creative process.. with new ideas emerging as more things are added to the tune.. AI cannot & does not do that.. On first viewing, xazzo's pukey greens seemed harsh but.. he's actually right! There is no musical technique or artistic skill here.. and the finished tune has no essence of the original to give it nostalgia.. It's just a computer crudely hammering a set of cheesy lyrics into the same chords…
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Echoes of Eternity - arranged by Rock & JLD

Review by Dr.j Delysid, 02/07/2024

After 15 seconds, you know you are going to a great place. The lead guitars are banging, and the development of the song is amazing. For me, it's top-notch work—not just because of the beautiful guitar work, but for the completeness of the song and its great energetic vibes. Love it from the start to the end! Rock + JLD you are guyz fuckin' amazing and pls keep doing those cool remixes!!
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Echoes of Eternity - arranged by Rock & JLD

Review by PixelGrinch, 02/07/2024

Let's face it, Johan Danielsson back then already put the bar pretty high for his time with his SID. Your remix is spot on, I am with @lomaxx in regards of the lead is a bit thin compared to the guitar, tiny gripe though. Thanks for Sharing!
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Stormlord Arok full length - arranged by Tony Fluke73 Wiren

Review by PixelGrinch, 02/07/2024

So old school what a great remix, captured my attention right away! So many changes in the song and its all harmonizing well together! Brilliant!
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Trivia v2 - TH3 Plugin Experiment - arranged by Oxx

Review by johnwbyrd, 02/07/2024

Thank you so much, for taking my terrible little chiptune from 1984, and making it into something special. I wrote this theme when I was 14! I hope I have done better since then. You have made the theme into a completely new and better song! THANK YOU!!
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Last Ninja 2 (Corporate Clash Ninja Battle mix) - arranged by Cinnamon Dreams offline

Review by xazzo, 29/06/2024

AI generated content is just soulless, and I don't have anything nice to say about any of it. If actual effort by an actual person had gone into this remix, it would be a whole other matter.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Last Ninja 2 (Ninja's Return mix) - arranged by Cinnamon Dreams offline

Review by xazzo, 29/06/2024

This is just more AI generated junk, totally forgettable and ultimately nothing but a waste of time.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

RoboCop (Binary Hearts Beating In Time mix) - arranged by Cinnamon Dreams offline

Review by xazzo, 29/06/2024

It's just sad when people hide behind AI and pretend to be creative. No real effort went into the music and all you're doing is fooling yourself. The world doesn't need any more AI crap.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

The Great Giana Sisters (Soundtrack Version) - arranged by Mario Barbierato

Review by PixelGrinch, 25/06/2024

A slow version of the Giana Sisters that is simply breathtaking. What an experience! Masterpiece! Thank you Mario!
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Avenge - arranged by Eivind Sommersten

Review by Divus, 16/06/2024

A great talent for mixing SID and rhythm. I'm sorry it didn't last a little longer.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

The Stationary Ark - arranged by amoon

Review by Glyn R. Brown, 10/06/2024

Now this is one educational remix, Ha!… Behind those spoken words sits a very emotional & beautifully crafted composition, just what I needed 😊 I really enjoyed this remix…
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

The Stationary Ark - arranged by amoon

Review by LaLa, 09/06/2024

Excellent concept done really well. From the whale songs to the Earth-based factoids (with a big nod towards Vangelis) it's just a really good, cohesive piece that also pays homage to the original TV series of the same title. And on top of it the tune would totally stand on its own even without the voiceovers. A wonderful piece, thanks for sharing it with us!

PS: A HUGE thank you, amoon, for finding that video of the original, genuine theme song! You have no idea how long I've been searching for it! Many of the videos on the Internet that claimed to be the genuine original were just remixes of it snagged from RKO. Then there's also this from 2019 but I think John Mills-Cockell admitted that this wasn't the OG tune, but rather a recreation of it. So, again: THANK YOU!

Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Textuality (and more) - arranged by BeeZerk

Review by ziona, 01/06/2024

Listening through the original SID with all its 7 subtunes, I really gotta put this review here. BeeZerk did not only re-iterated this song but added A LOT of own elements to it which elevated the whole thing to an awesome whole new funky level! The bassline is super-catchy and his own melody lines he brings in at 2:50 (that I suspect he referred to it as evolving to chaos) is simply something that after a few listens grows on you becoming a bombastic lead-attack where all notes fall into place! My only wish technically is that the kicks and snares could punch harder, but that's it! This is a superior composition with well-fitting unique touches!
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Thrust (Jeremy Smith Edit) - arranged by Dr Future

Review by Wallyrt, 26/05/2024

Outstanding Thrust composition. Love the e guitars and the Digital effects. Well done and a superp tune.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Cauldron (Haunted Orchestra Remix) - arranged by amoon

Review by LaLa, 22/05/2024

The creepiness factor in your instrument selection is definitely there, it creates the intended atmosphere. Problem is, this tune (and your arrangement of it) has lots of repetitive notes in it, and to make it sound less robotic, you either need instruments with several round-robin samples, or you need to introduce some subtle variations yourself (filtering, or other effects with an LFO).

The thumps were also a good idea, but I find the sidechaining on it too strong, as it overpowers everything else.

The strings give out a certain Stranger Things vibe to me, but again, they sound a bit too robotic.

Overall, an ambitious endeavor, but I think this gem of an idea wasn't polished well enough.

But I'm looking forward to more remixes from you!

Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Miami Vice - arranged by Eivind Sommersten

Review by LaLa, 08/05/2024

The parts I like the best is where the vocal is added to the mix - I wish there was more of that! It sounds really deep with that female singer.

As Eivind also mentioned it, this may not be a 1:1 cover, but it definitely conveys the spirit and the feeling of the original SID tune, and it does it really well.

Also, just like the STIL mentions it, too, this is not exactly an original Martin Galway composition. The arpeggiated chord sequence that is the backbone of this tune, plus some other parts are covering Jan Hammer's tune for the Evan episode of Miami Vice ( Jan Hammer - Evan (YouTube link)). But of course, Mr. Galway took Mr. Hammer's original idea and ran with it quite a bit further…

Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

So-Phisticated III (Part 3) - arranged by Dr Future

Review by Dr.j Delysid, 29/04/2024

awesome groovy work my friend! . love the drums work , like the energy !! love everything here..i am sure EVS will be proud of this remix! more kind of this please 😊
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Nebulas - arranged by Xandra

Review by V-12 Tropyx, 17/04/2024

While listening to this remix I am going to the journey of 8-bit C64 nostalgia. The sounds somehow reminds me some old Jeroen Tel waves. Congrats!
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Smile to the Sky - arranged by Rock & JLD

Review by TLF, 17/04/2024

Quite often I won't like a C64 conversion as much as the original, something always seems to get lost, maybe it's the way the waveforms react with each other on SID. This however is a masterpiece and certainly not easy to play. The emotion carries through, top marks, absolutely nailed it.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Shades - arranged by Tim Forsyth

Review by LaLa, 16/04/2024

For me it'll always be hard to top Hülsbeck's own 1991 remake of this tune from his same-named album, or Detert's slower paced version from the R64 v2 album, but this comes really darn close to those, especially since Tim put his own spin on this tune. So many nice touches here with carefully chosen instruments, and a wonderful arrangement to boot. Very nicely done, Tim!
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Dignified - arranged by Rock & JLD

Review by Dr.j Delysid, 11/04/2024

Excellent work! i love the energy , i love the amazing electric guitars and the metalish version which is super awesome . Rock and JLD created a fascinating remix with so much great vibes and respect to the original tune byReyn Ouwehand and for me it's brings it a new life .respect !
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Space Harrier - arranged by Peter Clarke

Review by peltazoid, 10/04/2024

I think I missed this back in 2020, this such a fantastic adaptation of a great tune, reminds me a bit of something Sky would have done. Vibes of Yellow Magic Orchestra & ELO. Where is the bit at around 15 seconds from?? It is driving me mad!
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Dignified - arranged by Rock & JLD

Review by LaLa, 05/04/2024

How the heck has this classic Reyn tune never been remixed before?!? This is just great, lots of energy, excellent guitar work, perfect choice of style for the remix.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Blue (Clarinet Lounge) - arranged by Eivind Sommersten

Review by Divus, 05/04/2024

It could be a little slower next time. A good selection of instruments, the tempo is a bit faster, but the overall impression is fine.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

The Power Of Pain (Tendance loader) - arranged by BeeZerk

Review by Divus, 02/04/2024

Great remix. Maybe the sequencing needed a bit of work, but the overall impression is fine.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Rymddisko - arranged by Eivind Sommersten

Review by Divus, 24/03/2024

You can dance with this head all night. Maestro once again showed how 64 kb 30 years ago can sound in 2024.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Ninja in a V8 (Last Ninja + Last V8, Fusion Remix) - arranged by Vandahlia

Review by LaLa, 19/03/2024

I give you lots of plus points for your creativity: this is a fun mashup of those famous game tunes! Unfortunately, this remix also suffers from some pain points: the mix sounds mostly mono; and there are some 'odd' choices of chord/bass selection here and there (e.g. @1:16 and @2:10); the instruments also sound a bit 'dated' (admittedly, it's hard to explain this one). But that Last Ninja return to base immediately vocoded speech cracks me up every time I listen to it! 😁
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

F-14 Tomcat (2010 Remix) - arranged by Abdelmoumen

Review by Tpmccusker, 08/03/2024

I like this one, it's precise and doesn't sound cluttered and noisy like some of the others I've heard.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Robocop 3 - Main Theme - arranged by Vandahlia

Review by LaLa, 03/03/2024

I think it's a well-arranged remix, especially for a newcomer. Although sounds like you've been remixing for quite a while now. 🙂Your choice of instrumentation sounds pretty solid. I think the mix lacks some punchiness, though. It also sounds rather mono, with most instruments crowding in the center, and only some reverb/echo spreading into the side channels.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 ⋅⋅⋅ 79 80 81