BIT Live 2022 Remix Compo now accepting entries!

BitLogo2022 White Small Click here for compo rules.
Close

Listener's Reviews

all c64 only Amiga only

Displaying Reviews 1 - 30 out of 2140

Login

Falcon Patrol II orchestra version - arranged by Nadin0xD400

Review by Joecat, 12/08/2022

Like a russian military orchestra! It is a real epic war hero music! Very good!
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Commando (Extended SID Mix) - arranged by Anthony Walters

Review by al.x, 28/07/2022

I love this! It's the SID music we know and love! Please, give me more!
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Parallax Mini EP - The Past, Present and Future - arranged by Tim Forsyth

Review by IamnotKen, 15/07/2022

Like Galway meets Cerone in his most awesomeness space-opera era! Very nice twist on my favourite C64 music.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Hades Nebula Title (Etheral Chill Remix) - arranged by Jinx138

Review by DMC, 15/07/2022

Since LaLa did his fabulous take on Hades Nebula it is very hard for me to open my heart to other people's attempt on Hades Nebula. But this one clearly has something to it . I like the style, the choice of sounds, the arrangement and the atmosphere. It seems like this is your very first track on remix64 so all I can say is: Very well done and keep up your good work. I am looking forward to more remixes.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Comic Bakery Live Performance - arranged by Tony Fluke73 Wiren

Review by Jinx138, 14/07/2022

Nice mixing, cool drums and chilly trumpet sounds. Great job! I really like the relaxing atmosphere reminding me of beaches and cocktails...
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Ghosts 'n Goblins (RockMetal Cover) - arranged by Vaggelis Papadopoulos

Review by redhot, 29/06/2022

Yeah ok this deserves a full review. Ghost'n Goblins is probably one of the most recurring song coming from the past to my mind. I really lost hours trying to beat the game and, of course, there was no save progress on the C64, so I listen to the title track an insane amount of times. I really liked the atmosphere created by the SID and since the firsts I listen to every remix of the track. I found them really good but they lacked that atmosphere. Vaggelis remix is instead enhancing that. The first time I listen the it I felt the urgency to turn my old friend on, load the game and try, once again, to beat it. I consider this an outstanding success. So the technical part. Opening is theatrical and it immediately draw a line to the rest of the track. Instruments and parts are really cured except maybe for a little drop at 1:25 (I'm still asking me if I like it or not), then the rhythm takes off to the epic level of guitar at 2:10. The track won't leave you rest, with chorus additions and increasing climax, until the last part that is a complete surprise. LaLa says that it remembers Greek , but I feel it as balkans (better Romanian): the perfect place for Ghosts and Goblins.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Chordian - arranged by Eivind Sommersten

Review by Pest Global Group DOO, 24/06/2022

Like diving in an ocean of sounds. Best remix in last 12 months I've ever heard.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Afterburner (Melodic Modal Medieval Morning) - arranged by 0supereg0

Review by robinsonb5, 17/06/2022

Wow - this is superb. The high-energy of the original completely re-imagined here, mostly familiar but with some unexpected changes waiting to surprise the unwary listener!
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Cybernoid II - arranged by Steve Foster

Review by joenemesys, 17/06/2022

The chip fashion samples, the full energetic percussions, the melody that is always her but with a scent of deep saudade: now I'm in battle mode and I can't stay still, I need to moooove!
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Cybernoid II - arranged by Steve Foster

Review by LaLa, 13/06/2022

Welcome back! It's always nice to see a remixer come back with a release after a long hiatus.

Pretty straightforward arrangement that is fairly faithful to the original. I guess, the main issue I have with this remix is the mixing - it sounds too washed out, and sounds like it was over-filtered.

I am unsure how to feel about the arpeggios in the first minute, rather than, say, using chords instead. Sure, the SID arpeggios sound retro, but I could've imagined this part with chords, too.

The drums also seem to disappear in the mix, but as I said, that's a general issue in this track. I especially miss the punchiness of the kick drum and the impact of the snare.

Overall, a solid arrangement with an underlying mixing issue.

Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Wizball opus 4 - arranged by Mozolowski

Review by LaLa, 13/06/2022

Another minimalist arrangement that reminds me of Kraftwerk for some reason. (That's because you are old, dude, and you have no other, more modern frame of reference! Ouch.) It's an almost hypnotic, sequence heavy piece - much like the original, to be honest. It's different, it's new, yet, somehow, it's the same. It's mysterious and ambivalent, it's tribal and ambient. I dunno, I like it!
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Cybernoid (surf mix) - arranged by Johan Andersson

Review by LaLa, 12/06/2022

Surf's up! Spot-on with the Beach Boys style. My only gripe is that the mix sounds overcompressed, especially in the low end.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Hawkeye (Slipping into the Stellar Sublimeness) - arranged by 0supereg0

Review by LaLa, 12/06/2022

Nice idea, but a bit too heavy on the jingly-jangly things, they get really tiring after a few bars. Tone those down with a low-pass filter (or stop doing them after the intro), but keep the dreamy guitar.

@3:22 - oh, those jingly-jangly things suddenly stopped! Why? I don't know, their abrupt departure sounded rather random, but my ears welcomed the change for sure.

At around the 5:00 min mark - wonderful pads, now that actually sounds like stellar sublimeness to me!

This track has the potential to bring me to another level of consciousness, but every time I get captivated by its downtempo rhythm and dreamy sounds, I get yanked back into reality by something happening abruptly. Like that sharp synth at around 7:16, where the guitar also inexplicably gets moved to the left channel. Eh?...

Anyway, lots of great ideas here, lots of potential, but the execution could've been better.

Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Traz - arranged by Dr Future

Review by LaLa, 10/06/2022

Excellent disco feel, spot on with the instrumentation. Sure to bring smiles on all 80s music fans' faces. 😎

Great guitar lead in the first half of the tune. But minus points for oversimplifying the lead between 1:25-1:55 - where are the signature slides?!? Omitting those is a total deal-breaker for me. The same goes for the synth lead pretty much throughout the rest of the tune.

Plus points for those guitar noodlings in the second half of the remix.

Sigh.. so close to a red, so close.

Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Ghost 'n Goblins - Orchestra Cover - arranged by Nordischsound

Review by LaLa, 10/06/2022

Hi, welcome to the remix community!

A very good remix, especially for somebody who is a newcomer here, and especially for an orchestral cover.

Using an organ for the intro - clever! Unfortunately, the rest of the arrangement relies too heavily on the percussion to drive it forward. I also hear a bit too much of the low-end instruments throughout the remix, which muddies it up for me. I wish you also used a larger dynamic range for the individual orchestra sections - everybody just seems to be playing all the notes at the same intensity, which makes it sound too unnatural. Other than these, I think the arrangement has a lot of promise, but I think with a bit more attention to the individual instruments (and maybe even adding a few surprise articulations here and there) it would've really shined.

Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Traz - arranged by Dr Future

Review by Nordischsound, 10/06/2022

Great 80's vibes, would love to hear that one with cheesy lyrics on top 😁 Traz intro is awesome, always one of my favorite tunes since my childhood
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Beyond the Ice Palace Live Performance - arranged by Tony Fluke73 Wiren

Review by Oxx, 09/06/2022

What I liked the most about the work is that every single element and all the instruments playing together being clearly distinguishable. Note: This is a quality I myself cannot achieve very often. (never?) Less is more!. Some notes: 00:10 - Pitch slide : pitch bend range could have been adjusted so that the slide could have ended on a harmonic or on some planned pitch. As it is, it felt like a bit random to me. 00:21 - And in many more repetitions, the same slightly out of sync elements in the background has added (for me) a naturalness, a human factor, a groove if you may, which is good, but the synchronization failures should also be very subtle I think, which seems to be violated a little bit here. 02:14 - and again at the end (04:18) The master bus goes competely silent abruptly, This audible silence was a little bit unexpected to my ears, because the reverbs had still time to roll. And at last, the output could have been better if some variations were added to the repetitive sections. Note: This is another quality I myself always fail to get right. I realized that the top remixes on remix.kwed.org get that right, which means more hours to spend on the project 😊 I enjoyed listening to this remix as well as the original sid. I think the originality is preserved well. Note: I am no one to judge any other's work. But after seeing how much others' comments and reviews helped me improve myself pushed me to write anyway. 😊 Oxx.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Afterburner (Melodic Modal Medieval Morning) - arranged by 0supereg0

Review by LaLa, 08/06/2022

Wow, somebody went a little too crazy on the pan LFO... ðŸĪŠ

The idea of making this into a downtempo chill mix is absolutely great. However, I am super annoyed by the fast moving left-right panning, especially when it's done on the lead instrument (which is an otherwise pretty flute). I find it very distracting. It's too bad, because the arrangement is really good, I like the instrumentation, too - just please, stop your band from running around on the stage so much! It's a cute effect at first - but constantly for 8+ minutes?!? Ouch.

PS: I made the mix mono in Audacity - ahh, sounds much better!...

Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Beyond the Ice Palace Live Performance - arranged by Tony Fluke73 Wiren

Review by LaLa, 08/06/2022

Live or not, I think you should've added more variation to the backing tracks (other than the key changes). The sound selection is actually pretty solid (really like that filtered pad). The live lead is not a whole lot demanding, so I expected some more - additional articulations, trills, slides, anything to make it a bit more interesting (not that I would be able to play it any better live, mind you, but I also don't do YT videos of me playing live). Overall, a solid effort that falls short in several departments.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

The way of the Exploding Fist (sub 3) - arranged by OJ Oscillation

Review by LaLa, 06/06/2022

This is a very interesting, deceptively minimalist arrangement, sort of reminds me of Kraftwerk's 'Electric Cafe' album, but with a more modern breakbeat twist. I wish the lead instruments sounded a bit better, or at least stood out a bit more in the mix. I don't think this will be everybody's cup of tea, but I enjoy it.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Boulder Dash - Amusement Park Loudspeaker Remix - arranged by Oxx

Review by tim_forsyth, 01/06/2022

Great idea to use the original as a foundation for an EDM track, I think your additions work nicely here. The mix is really well balanced and nice fx used throughout. The low end is a little lacking, which is hard to get right but I appreciate the effort you must have gone to weave such a short tune into a 3 minute piece. Good job!
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Parallax Mini EP - The Past, Present and Future - arranged by Tim Forsyth

Review by Tomsk, 28/05/2022

Wow...a master class in beautiful synthetic soundscapes. 19 minutes of pure beautifully mixed arps and nods to TD, a real opus. It's truely blissful to listen to, and you can absolutely appreciate the effort that must have gone into this work. That said, only 194 stems ? phhh...Honorabili used to use 200+😉 My only minor feeling is the drums could have benefitted from a bit more variety/fills, but that's just me being picky. This is a synthetic work of art, crafted to exceptional standards. We are indeed lucky people 😊 Thank you .
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Do nothing for 3 minutes - arranged by Shogoon

Review by TLF, 27/05/2022

At first I was like, no, please don't play with it, the original is a thing of such beauty but I have to say, I enjoy the enhanced version very much. Glad you went brass not guitar for the lead.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Do nothing for 3 minutes - arranged by Shogoon

Review by NecroPolo, 27/05/2022

It is amazing how close and also how distant this recording is from the original SID. Part minimalism, part jazz and ambience, the uniqueness of the whole piece leave me astonished. This remix is just a tiny expansion of the original SID, the right amount of stuff added on the right place rather a sublte way, but also it puts everything in a 3D and organic soundscape that makes quite a dramatic effect. Also it reminds me of how jaw-dropping the original SID was already. On a footnote, let me say that it is a pleasure to see such a distinctive styled SID composer coming back to the scene after a decade of aebsence.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Boulder Dash - Amusement Park Loudspeaker Remix - arranged by Oxx

Review by LaLa, 26/05/2022

I like the concept behind this track a lot more than its execution. I think you totally nailed the arpeggiated sequences of the intro, superb job there! I wish the EDM style of this tune was more emphasized. It's especially lacking in the low end, both bass and drum-wise. I think the overall arrangement is pretty solid, though. With a bit more attention this would be a big hit on the dance floor.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Depressed (Tributo Al Pasado) - arranged by Eivind Sommersten

Review by LaLa, 24/05/2022

Great concept, but I am not convinced by the execution of it. Somehow it feels off, but I can't quite explain why.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Parallax Mini EP - The Past, Present and Future - arranged by Tim Forsyth

Review by LaLa, 21/05/2022

Tangerine Dream 🍊 does Parallax!

If I didn't know the original SID and somebody told me this is a TD album from the 1980s or early 1990s, I would've said yep, sounds about right. Of course, the younger generation knows this as the soundtrack to Stranger Things, so if you advertised it that way, you'd get a ton of listens from the youth, too. 😁

I absolutely adore the long arpeggiated sequences and how you weaved them into one another. The middle section that pays homage to TD's Exit album brought a big smile to my face, as that's one of my favorite albums from them. Just excellent, excellent work there.

And that last section with the more melodic part - jaw-dropping. The way you build up to it is just amazing. Perfect choice of instruments, total eargasm.

Well, I could keep gushing on and on, but I think you get the idea. Who would've thought that after all these decades I could still be surprised by a Parallax remix? This is an epic work that seamlessly mashes the style of Tangerine Dream with Galway's timeless SID opus and it does that superbly. Su-perb-ly! Congrats! This is top stuff.

PS: One minor gripe: I wish it didn't end on a fadeout. An epic like this deserves a more definitive ending.

Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Giana Sisters - Turkish Native Instruments - arranged by Oxx

Review by LaLa, 17/05/2022

Unique mix of synth sounds and Turkish instruments, giving it a folksy feel. I kinda like the idea! It doesn't feel quite polished, though, because the sampled parts and the SID parts alternate and don't really overlap. For example, if the Giana Sisters melody was played on the oud instead, that would get much higher marks from me.

The vocoded stuff: personally, I have nothing against vocoders, but here it feels rather gimmicky, like a radio DJ doing an unnecessary voiceover.

Despite all this, please, do keep experimenting! I really like it when the music of different cultures are mashed together, and this is a promising idea that's worth exploring further.

Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Space Harrier (NAPAPBWPMIF Mix) - arranged by Dr Future

Review by 0supereg0, 15/05/2022

Great Track. To me it has a ELO, or Giorgio Moroder quality to it.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Commando (mich am Allerwertesten) Remix - arranged by Frank Abbing

Review by PhunkyData, 12/05/2022

Good and to the point remix! No doubt! They want 15 letters... here you go !
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 ⋅⋅⋅ 70 71 72