Listener's Reviews

all c64 only Amiga only

Displaying Reviews 1 - 30 out of 2241

Login

Last Ninja The Wastelands Loader - arranged by CZ Tunes

Review by LaLa, 13/03/2023

Oh, so close to a red smilie! I really admire the effort of using mostly Asian (Chinese, Japanese) instruments, and they sound beautiful - but I'm bothered by the fact that you didn't go all-in and you left the arpeggios intact in several sections. The arrangement also sounds 'off' at places (for example, @2:10). All in all, very enjoyable, but I think there's more that could've been done here with a bit more attention to detail.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Led Storm Ambient Cover - arranged by moonove

Review by Markus Gecko, 11/03/2023

smooooooth, smooooooth, smooooooth, smooooooth smooooooth smooooooth smooooooth smooooooth smooooooth smooooooth smooooooth smooooooth smooooooth smooooooth smooooooth 15 words yet?
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Cracked Mission - arranged by Dr Future

Review by Nordischsound, 27/02/2023

I love every addition, your cover stick true to my intended vision but you added so much lovely stuff on the top like the great drumwork and that live guitar + solo 🤩🤗
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Cracked Mission - arranged by Dr Future

Review by Frida Katarina, 27/02/2023

Fabulous, as is the original!! Turn it up!! Lovely guitar, made me really happy
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Turrican (Juno mix) - arranged by J Lof

Review by Charlie Bravo, 14/02/2023

I believe it's difficult to create a bad Turrican remix because the source material is already some of the greatest game music ever composed. I don't know how many times I listened to JLof's remix during the years but every now and then it comes up in my playlist and I put it on repeat for hours. It's enganging and relaxing at the same time. It's meditative, the perfect tune to get into a flow.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Lightforce Live Performance - arranged by Tony Fluke73 Wiren

Review by LaLa, 14/02/2023

You need to loosen up. The instrumentation is fine, but this remix feels stiff and robotic. You need to change your playing style, and/or you need to create lead instruments that allow for more dynamic range when played.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Delta Multi Genre - arranged by 0supereg0

Review by LaLa, 14/02/2023

Those guitars in the intro - superb. I wish you didn't switch them out with synthy sounds. Really like your guitar noodling in the second half, too.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Led Storm Ambient Cover - arranged by moonove

Review by LaLa, 07/02/2023

That intro is so chillax and buttery smooth, it made me meld into my chair. I wish it continued in that fashion, but the appearance of the trance beat yanked me out of my meditative state. I still like it, though, because it's crafted in such a satisfying way.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Sanxion Loader (Acoustic) - arranged by trv

Review by hackerb9, 02/02/2023

While very different than the C64 SID tune, this cover was beautiful in its own way. And, to be fair, it is closer to the spirit of the original Prokofiev Romeo and Juliet, of which Sanxion was itself a reinterpretation. ¶ At the end of the original Sanxion SID, one can hear a repeated pattern: DAH dit-DAH-dit dit-dit-dit-DAH ¶In Morse that spells *TRV". I found this acoustic version (by TRV: Trev Bailey) while googling to find out why those letters are hidden in the song. ¶I think this is a lovely rendition and hope Trev remasters this recording to add in the secret Morse code at the end which just happens to spell his username! ¶If Trev does remaster the track, I would suggest also considering a few other things: ❶ Trev is a better guitar player than audio engineer, at least that was the case back in 2007 when this was recorded. Perhaps enlist some help for a remix? ❷ The atmospheric sounds effects, while a nice idea, were too obviously canned and didn't work for me. Maybe they could be subtler or removed? ❸ As some other reviews mentioned, the 64 second intro didn't lead the listener in as one would have hoped. Perhaps it can be reworked or shortened? ❹ Most of the guitar playing was sweet and evocative, but there were a couple tricky parts that were distracting and could use another take: 1:55-1:58 and 2:15-2:22. ¶ Overall, I enjoyed this immensely, but I cannot give it top marks due to the audio mixing stumbles. ❀
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Ghosts'n Goblins Live Performance - arranged by Tony Fluke73 Wiren

Review by LaLa, 01/02/2023

I'm starting to think your artistic expression is limited by your gear. What you produce is not bad at all, but it could sound so much better. In this particular remix the arrangement is hampered by too much repetition in the rhythm sections - need some more variation there. Your lead and the changes in the lead instruments are good, it's the rest of it that needs a bit more love.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Wizball - arranged by SoundLogic

Review by LaLa, 01/02/2023

The arrangement is clever, weaving together many of the subtunes of the game's soundtrack. I think the instrumentation is probably the weakest point of this massive remix, it's a bit all over the place. Still, quite an impressive feat overall.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Thrust - arranged by SoundLogic

Review by LaLa, 01/02/2023

This remix seems to follow an everything but the kitchen sink approach in its arrangement. Synth-heavy intro? Check. Electric guitar? Check. Big choir? Check. Original SID sounds? Check. Ultimately, I find this more confusing than purposeful. There's nothing deeply wrong with the arrangement here, I just have trouble connecting with it due to its wandering nature.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Lightforce - arranged by SoundLogic

Review by LaLa, 31/01/2023

This remix is trying to sound bigger than it really is. Some good ideas in there with the choir and the strings, and the Jarre-like growling synth at the end - but overall, it's just not a very exciting arrangement. Plus points for covering Lightforce in its entirety, though.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Bangkok Knights Loader - arranged by SoundLogic

Review by LaLa, 31/01/2023

What's there sounds pretty good, but I think the instrumentation is a bit on the thin side, and it would've benefited from some fattening up - whether by layering instruments or with some additional effects. The electric guitars are my favorites in this remix, but those could've used some additional sonic treatment, too.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Ghosts 'n Goblins (RockMetal Cover) - arranged by Vaggelis Papadopoulos

Review by antmagn, 24/01/2023

Great remix! Love it, It's like real song . Especially for those who love rock or metal music
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Mission A.D. gameplay theme (orchestral rock mix) - arranged by Skaven252

Review by LaLa, 22/01/2023

The first half of this remix leaves me rather cold. I think it's desperately trying to sound more bombastic than how it actually does: the instrumentation sounds fairly thin, the percussion doesn't have the expected gravitas.

Things change dramatically at the half-point: that electric guitar changes everything. The entire arrangement suddenly wakes up and this remix becomes larger than life. If that's how this entire remix sounded, I would've given it an orange smilie easy, maybe even a red one.

Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Dark Star - arranged by Chris Prattini

Review by joenemesys, 19/01/2023

It gently speaks to the heart through the fog of feelings with the grace of a little candle lighting up a forgotten room full of shades...I love how instruments and voice tie together towards the end with an elegiac tone
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Arkanoid - arranged by Eivind Sommersten

Review by LaLa, 18/01/2023

Fun-kay! Congrats, you made an excellent piece of 70s psychedelica out of Arkanoid! Pretty vocals, too. And nailed the ending, too. Well, nailed it all!
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Delta - At your humble service - arranged by 0supereg0

Review by LaLa, 12/01/2023

OK, this starts out the same as your Delta Multi Genre remix. Excellent guitar work and nicely mixed. Of the two I like this one more.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Delta Multi Genre - arranged by 0supereg0

Review by monty, 10/01/2023

It starts (and ends) GREAT with that guitar play that strongly reminded me of Wilco's How to fight loneliness. Would have loved the whole track to be treated in that laid back style. The sandwiched part is not bad either, but a litte bit too generic for my taste. However, I very much enjoyed your remix! Recover well soon!
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Metal Warrior Ultra - arranged by Glyn R Brown

Review by LaLa, 10/01/2023

Whoa! Glyn doing guitars!?!... As usual, pro-level remix. And when the choir comes in, too... Whew! My only complaint about it is the relatively soft volume level throughout the track (average -17.0 LUFS - that's low).
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Spy Vs Spy (Spy Disco Spy Remix) - arranged by Stello Doussis

Review by Humpty, 03/01/2023

Literally had me dancing in the shower. Brings you right back to that era. Those eerie backnotes were nicely blended in
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

DNA Warrior (Nobody wants to be my friend) - arranged by Eivind Sommersten

Review by P.G.G., 22/12/2022

Those who cannot change their minds cannot change anything. ― George Bernard Shaw.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

DNA Warrior (Nobody wants to be my friend) - arranged by Eivind Sommersten

Review by LaLa, 19/12/2022

Pretty funky, I like the groovy vibes going on here. Personally, I feel the vocals are forced on this tune, they don't seem to fit 'naturally' with the rest of the arrangement. By which I mean if you dropped the sections with the vocals, this remix would be just as good - they don't seem to add anything of value (at least, not to me). Otherwise, excellent job.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Running on Empty - arranged by Jogeir Liljedahl & Rapture

Review by P.G.G., 19/12/2022

Morning comes whether you set the alarm or not. – Ursula K. Le Guin
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Camel Riders Inc - arranged by Glyn R Brown

Review by LaLa, 08/12/2022

Leave it to Mr. Brown to pluck out an obscure Bjerregaard tune and turn it into remix gold. If this is what's laying around in your unfinished folder, I wonder what other treasures it might hide?!?...

The Arabian feeling is totally there, the vocals, the strings - exceptionally well done.

One gripe I have with this: I think it could've used some additional mastering, as the overall volume is pretty low. A simple compressor on the master track could've solved much of this problem (Maximus to the rescue...), but I think it could've used some boost in the low-end, too.

Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Beyond (The Ballad Mix) - arranged by Dr Future

Review by LaLa, 07/12/2022

I like this version more than the Uptempo Mix which was released at the same time. The acoustic guitar and the sax are so romantic and warm and cozy! I think the 80s drums of the Uptempo Mix would work better here then the current ones, but that's my only gripe here.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Tusker Intro - arranged by CGMcloud offline

Review by Unreal, 06/12/2022

Woow , Great Remix, Loved it! Cool atmosphere, samples, liked so much some rocky styles what i dont like so much, but its ok.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Tusker Village - arranged by CGMcloud offline

Review by Unreal, 06/12/2022

Nostalgy factor is well done, great ryhtm, guitar effects is well done, keep it up!
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Tusker Ancient Temple - arranged by CGMcloud offline

Review by Unreal, 06/12/2022

Some good pitch there, but rock style not my favourite, but not bad at all, keep it up!
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 ⋅⋅⋅ 73 74 75