BIT Live 2022 Remix Compo now accepting entries!

BitLogo2022 White Small Click here for compo rules.
Close

Listener's Reviews

all c64 only Amiga only

Displaying Reviews 2191 - 2220 out of 2424

Login

Jinks - arranged by Sebasu offline

Review by LaLa, 04/02/2003

Some of the background sounds are out of tune. Minus 10 points for that (even though it was done on purpose, I assume). The rest of the remix is pretty decent, though. Plus 10 points for that. The best way I can describe this remix: Jinks does the Blair Witch Project. Scary, mystical, amateurish (which does *NOT* equal to crap in my dictionary!), rough at the edges.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Cybernoid II - arranged by Tim Forsyth

Review by LaLa, 04/02/2003

Too many high frequencies in the drums destroy the rest of the cover. Take that loudness away from the drumtrack, and this is a pretty good Cybernoid cover, albeit a little thin at times (ie. not fat or ear-full enough, esp. the lead). I quite like Tim's use of the effects which replace Jeroen Tel's original SID effects rather than reuse them. It is obvious that a lot of work went into this very faithful cover. But please, rework those drums!
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Last Ninja 2 - The Sewers (loader) - arranged by Puffy64

Review by LaLa, 04/02/2003

It has a beautiful start (paradoxically, since we were supposed to be in the freakin' sewers , and continues very nicely in the same fashion. It's one of the more laid back tracks on this energetic album, and it has also become a favorite by me.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Last Ninja 2 - The Sewers (ingame) - arranged by Puffy64

Review by LaLa, 04/02/2003

It's just done perfectly! It fits the mood of this level astonishingly precisely, which is more amazing as there's no trace of any SID sound in this track, either. The ending is a bit abrupt - I wish it went on further!
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Last Ninja 2 - The Mansion (ingame) - arranged by Puffy64

Review by LaLa, 04/02/2003

This is great stuff, too, I reall enjoy it! It doesn't sound as strong or as emotional as some of the other tracks on this album, but it is still by far one of the best covers of this tune I've ever heard.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Last Ninja 2 - Accoustic Medley part 1 - arranged by Puffy64

Review by LaLa, 04/02/2003

Both part 1 and part 2 are very original, unique, quite individual, yet, well-known by all of us. I probably like part 1 more than the other. Too bad they are both so short.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Max Headroom (research programme 9512 remix) - arranged by Wobbler

Review by LaLa, 04/02/2003

Was there a Max Headroom Remix Competition that I somehow missed?😉 This remix starts out great. Unlike the previous Max Headroom remix I reviewed, this contains the obligatory Max Headroom samples. The whole remix is sort of technoish, but definitely electronic in nature - which is why the strings sound a bit out of place (although they are filtered synth strings). I'd say this tune is about a minute too long - I'd appreciated more variation towards the end.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Wizball - Catelite lives - arranged by D0d0 offline

Review by LaLa, 04/02/2003

This is not much more than the original SID with added breakbeats. Personally, these are the sort of covers I really don't like. Especially with Wizball - the whole tune is ruined by the inproper and inexperienced use of drum patterns. I'll make every effort to quickly forget that I ever listened to this.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Toni Niemelä - Giana Sisters (psychedelic remix) - arranged by Toni Niemelä

Review by LaLa, 04/02/2003

Back to the beat-music era. A touch of Beatles, too, maybe. I can certainly imagine them playing it. Nice new angle on the same old tune, but overall, I don't think it quite works. But it's very, very well done. listening to it a few more times, I did decide to give it my approval. It sorta grows on you...
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Last Ninja 3 - Earth (classic version) - arranged by Gavin Lucas

Review by LaLa, 04/02/2003

A bit more orchestration and arrangement work would help this cover a lot, but I think it sounds very nice as it is. The flute sounds could be a bit better, but the whole idea for this cover was a good one. A beautiful LN3 cover.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Delta 2000 - arranged by Ecco

Review by LaLa, 04/02/2003

Pretty good effort, but veteran listeners will find nothing new here. I think, this version is too similar to the one on BIT1. The additional piano later on makes it worse, not better.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Bruce Chop (Bruce Lee) - arranged by Rasmussen

Review by LaLa, 04/02/2003

SID2MIDI the original, then make some weird selections for the instruments. It gets rather noisy in the middle as a new instrument comes in. Dirty samples? Synth-heavy remix, a bit minimalistic, like the original.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Aztec Challenge (Live at The Party 2000) - arranged by PRESS PLAY ON TAPE offline

Review by LaLa, 04/02/2003

The soundtrack version on BIT2 - awesome. The horror movie version on Nexus - pretty good, but not as good. For the same reason, I am not fond of this one, either. The lead guitar later on sounds really good, though.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Thrust (Live at The Party 2000) - arranged by PRESS PLAY ON TAPE offline

Review by LaLa, 04/02/2003

Fantastic transition from Aztec into Thrust. Now *this* Hubbard tune was a perfect choice for this band! Alright, so the keyboard player had a tad of stage fright when starting out (and later on, too 😒 ), but everything else went very nicely. Great use of flange/vibrato and wah-wah effects on the lead guitar for this track!
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Outrun (Live at The Party 2000) - arranged by PRESS PLAY ON TAPE offline

Review by LaLa, 04/02/2003

Strange and strangely placed sound effects, but hey, they are good enough for me! Starts out with the original tune, then it goes into an extensive improvisational part, then switches back to the original. I think this tune would sound a tad better with acoustic guitars, but again, PPOT did a great job with this cover. Also, this is another almost flawless performance.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Warhawk (Encore) (Live at The Party 2000) - arranged by PRESS PLAY ON TAPE offline

Review by LaLa, 04/02/2003

Wowee!!! Awesome beginning! I vote this for the best Warhawk beginning ever! Yet another perfect tune for PPOT's setup. Again, here and there I discovered those... ahem, artistic choices😉, but much less than in other covers. Very well performed, too. It's another favorite of mine from the concert! (Also dancey - my feets are moving when I'm listening to this, that's for sure.)
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Commando (Encore) (Live at The Party 2000) - arranged by PRESS PLAY ON TAPE offline

Review by LaLa, 04/02/2003

I'm glad they did it, because for some reason this one sounds better than when they first played it. Practice makes perfect, I guess. =) Sounds more heavy, really aggressive - like it should. Has a better flow to it. Well, in one word, it's better, period.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Comic Bakery - arranged by Red Devil

Review by LaLa, 04/02/2003

So many people tried to cover this famous tune in so many ways, but I don't think that even one of them managed to do it well. I think, precisely because this is such a well-known tune, it's hard to cover it or please people with a remix of it. I have never liked the idea of turning it into a pop/disco/fast beat tune, and Red Devil chose to do that, although the middle part of his remix sounds better to me. Guitars, pianos, base guitars - you name it, it's all in here. Maybe that's why I don't quite like it - it tries to be everything when it's not.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Last Ninja 3 (Ninjha mix) - arranged by Red Devil

Review by LaLa, 04/02/2003

It would be extremely hard for anybody to top Reyn's own cover of the intro tune, but Red Devil has tried to do just that. Did a fairly decent job, for that matter (I really like it when the flute plays the lead in the middle part!), but I think this cover sounds a bit too much like Reyn's own version with strings, piano, choir, flute. Yes, Red Devil added his won twists to it, but I still feel this is a copycat effort, although a really good one.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

VoidNoid - arranged by trauma

Review by LaLa, 04/02/2003

A strange short mix of Arkanoid and The Last V8 with a trendy electro-techno feel to it. I can imagine a long C64 megamix in the same style but this one is too short.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Lazy Jones (Funky Jones RMX) - arranged by Slumgud offline

Review by LaLa, 04/02/2003

Do you know the feeling when you hear an excellent joke the second time, and it's just not that funny any more? That's how I feel about this remix. Sure, it was fun to see that DJ make an ass out of himself admitting that his hit is a C64 cover, but I think we are all over that by now. Sure, it's funny to start this house remix with that shouting male crowd, but it's just not that funny any more.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Special Agent 2001 - arranged by JB

Review by LaLa, 04/02/2003

Now, if you want to top Reyn Ouwehand, this is how you do it!!! Concise and very professional. That's all I will say about it. Holy sh*t, it's just awesome!!! …
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Last Ninja 3 (tune 7) - arranged by Ferrara

Review by LaLa, 04/02/2003

Another XM-MP3 conversion from Ferrara. Another nice one from him, somewhat similar to his LN3 tune 8 cover. The soul of the original is there, which I like.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

MicroProse Soccer Intro: Smooth FeekZoid Mix - arranged by FeekZoid

Review by LaLa, 04/02/2003

One of my fav tunes is the MPS intro. While I really like Feekzoid's covers, I think his style doesn't fit at all here. MPS intro is a more upbeat tune, with raw, harsh sounds. I think, Feekzoid felt this, too, as he completely cut out the last 30 seconds of the original tune from his cover. It's just not there. Don't get me wrong, this is an awesome piece of music, it's just not what I feel should've been done for this SID.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Bad Cat 99 - arranged by Frank Veeltmann offline

Review by LaLa, 04/02/2003

Some out of tune stuff in the lead at around 1:30 minutes into the cover and on (I mean, the difference between the original SID and this cover is just really audible here and it doesn't sound good to my ears at all), but other than that, I don't think Chris Hülsbeck could've done a much better job himself (well, okay, maybe *he* could've . Samples from the original SID (or the Amiga version?) and more samples that I am familiar with from Amiga MODs can be heard in it. Nicely mixed with an in-your-face attitude (thus, following the SID original well , a good direct cover. Very disco-like (again, like the original). What can I say - I like it!
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

International Karate '99 (remastered) - arranged by Ferrara

Review by LaLa, 04/02/2003

I have reviewed this already (around Aug. 2, 2000). The remastering brings more crispiness and better overall sound quality to this cover (duh! , but musically, I still have the same opinion about it. Not quite good enough to be very good, but it gets my recommendation.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Starforce Fighter - arranged by Makke

Review by LaLa, 04/02/2003

Here's what I wrote about it before: another obscure SID, this time by Wally Beben. But here, Makke's cover enhances the SID a lot without adding anything annoying to it. What can I say - I like it! There are some technoish sounds in it, some ambient sonic landscapes, and they work together well.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Bubble Bobble (sadness mix) - arranged by DjLizard offline

Review by LaLa, 04/02/2003

Annoyingly high-pitched bells are starting out this cover, but it quickly recovers from it. It's a pretty unique take on this tune, discovering it from a completely new angle, which I think is a plus. But I think it's not developed quite to the potential it demonstrates.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

(Remix deleted)

Review by LaLa, 04/02/2003

He-he, this is quite funny. I'd recommend you to download it just for its comedic value. =] (It's a pretty small MP3 file, too.)
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Archon - arranged by Plough offline

Review by LaLa, 04/02/2003

Let me put it this way: this is not what I hear when I listen to the SID. That doesn't mean this cover is bad, in fact, I quite like its wobbly bass line, although overall, it's a bit on the simple side.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

1 2 3 ⋅⋅⋅ 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81