BIT Live 2022 Remix Compo now accepting entries!

BitLogo2022 White Small Click here for compo rules.
Close

Listener's Reviews

all c64 only Amiga only

Displaying Reviews 61 - 90 out of 2424

Login

Test Drive 2 - The Duel (Remix by Oxx) - arranged by Oxx

Review by ozgulkagan, 14/04/2022

Reminds me of the old days. One of the best of C64. What an era that was. Thank you.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Enduro Racer (Rocking Rider Mix) - arranged by 0supereg0

Review by Oxx, 14/04/2022

Not being at a proficiency level to evalaute others' work, I still wanted to share some thoughts; The battery sounds perfect, while the bell voice is a bit overwhelming to my liking. The electro guitar is perfectly played, Is it live? Even though I don't listen to this genre, I can feel that this is a good example of a high quality, well mastered piece of work, WELL DONE.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Ace II Title Screen - arranged by Oxx

Review by DMC, 11/04/2022

Welcome to the remix scene, Oxx. You delivered a great start with a classic tune by Rob Hubbard. Your attempt of remixing Ace II really is a good one. I love the choice of sounds - especially that choir sound reminds me of Enjoy the silence by Depeche Mode which is a good thing! 😊 I just stumbled upon the T-Force Alpha VST a few weeks back and wondered what sounds it may be capable of. Now I know! 😊 The track lacks a bit of punchyness for this genre but doesn't sound terrible at all. It's just that little oomph that is missing. Maybe if you tinker around a bit with compression and eq'ing your mix will benefit from that in the future. I encourage you to keep on remixing - I really had fun listening to your first track here on RKO and hope there is lots more to come!
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

The Great Giana Sisters - arranged by Johan Andersson

Review by DMC, 11/04/2022

You need balls to put up remix number 87 to compete with the 86 already existing remixes and sometimes exactly those balls lead to good things like this. Kudos Johan. Well done remix of a well known classic tune. I was suprised because I actually expected a totally different style from Mr. Andersson! 😉 I love the structure of the whole track starting with the piano part and then fading into the guitar solo towards the end. Everything fits together nicely giving me a real good time listening. I am with LaLa on the distortion - sometimes the track sounds a little bit too hot (thought I heard the kick distort every now an then) but nothing too serious. Really well done. Please more surprises in the future! 😊
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Human Race Tune 4 Live Performance - arranged by Tony Fluke73 Wiren

Review by LaLa, 10/04/2022

Wow, I see that Tony is one of those rare people in the world who can use their third hand when playing live on a keyboard! 😁 (See video insert.)

A decent remix of this oft-remixed tune. Nothing to be overly excited about here, but it's a solid arrangement with a decent choice of instrumentation.

Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Ace II Title Screen - arranged by Oxx

Review by LaLa, 10/04/2022

Welcome to the remix community, Oxx!

I have to admit, I had to do a double-take on your remixer status after I listened to this remix - this is by a newcomer? It's really good! I like the minimalist electro-drums, the vocal style chord hits, all the ornaments of the lead - all sounds great! The arrangement might be on the simple side, but it's done very well. The final mix sounds a bit too dry to my ears, but considering the genre, even that seems appropriate.

I hope to hear more remixes from you in the future, whether in this style or in another!

Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Nemesis-Gradius (Chill Factor 9) - arranged by 0supereg0

Review by LaLa, 09/04/2022

The lead instrument in the first half is way too dominating, the rest of the instruments are barely audible. The balance is much better when the guitar takes over, in fact, those parts sound very promising. Overall, an interesting idea, nice arrangement, but the mixing needs to be improved upon.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Cauldron 2 - arranged by Makke

Review by Beaumagi, 09/04/2022

Great mix, great beat! Love the Korg voice effect! Thank you and keep up the good work!
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

The Great Giana Sisters - arranged by Johan Andersson

Review by LaLa, 07/04/2022

The mixing sounds way too 'hot' in this one to me. Especially in the high-ends I am hearing some distortion. I had to bring the volume down to 1/3d of what I usually listen to in order to make this sound better in my headphones. The mixing is bad enough that it brought down my final vote a notch.

Stylistically, not what I expected from Johan - which is great, I like surprises! But I wish the noodling on the lead guitar towards the end was present in earlier sections of the remix, too, because that's a real highlight in this piece. I like your use of piano in the arrangement, too. And all the ear-candy you snuck into it here and there.

Overall, a great remix ruined by so-so mixing.

Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Prax 2 da Max - arranged by Tim Forsyth & Yogi

Review by MOhotSHT, 06/04/2022

Sounds good on my stereo. Keep up the good work guys. Looking forward for more tunes
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Prax 2 da Max - arranged by Tim Forsyth & Yogi

Review by Oxx, 06/04/2022

I especially liked the lead instrument starting from 03:08. It is very enjoyable to listen, great work.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Rambo III - arranged by Dr Future

Review by Oxx, 04/04/2022

Very well made, with nostalgic arpeggios all around! I liked it despite not being into this genre much.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Out Run (Pool Party) - arranged by Rexy

Review by exocytosis, 03/04/2022

Of the dozen, or so, Out Run covers that currently sit on Remix64/Kwed.org, Rexy's take is one of the most fast paced, up-beat and technically balanced versions out there. True to its original, Out Run (Pool Party) flies over the slopes in a way that almost makes you feel the wind pressing against your face. It's a five minute long speed fest in the higher octaves with a few technical surprises that should make any true Out Run fan clap their hands with joy!
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Robocop Theme Extended Remix (C64+Gameboy) - arranged by Gabriel West

Review by LaLa, 26/03/2022

Welcome to the remixing community!

First, the positive about your remix: lots of variations on the main theme, which is really nice to hear, you didn't just cover the original 1:1, but went the extra mile with your arrangement - I really respect that. Where you remix is lacking is in the sound department. The drums sound especially noisy to my ears, the bass sounds rather dry, in fact, the entire piece could've used better mixing overall - the lack of mixing makes your piece sound very basic. I don't really hear any articulations employed on the guitar, I don't hear many variations on the piano, either - they both sound rather flat and emotionless. And the guitar tends to go to ranges that sound unnatural.

All in all, a good first effort, your arranging skills show lots of promise, just need to work on your individual instruments and the overall mixing. Hope to hear more from you in the future!

Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Rambo III - arranged by Dr Future

Review by LaLa, 25/03/2022

As usual from Dr Future, pretty good instrumentation and arrangement. Plus points for the guitar improv at the end. However, minus points for borrowing several of the original's arpeggios - you converted some to chords, but others you did not. I am not against including SID arps in remixes per se, but to me it sounds out of place here. Also slight minus points for the slightly muddy mix (esp. at the low end), which is very uncharacteristic of you.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Rain Forest (Reflection Mix) - arranged by Orlando

Review by Dr-Duke, 23/03/2022

Really like this track! It somehow really fits to what's happening today... My grats to Orlando!
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Enlightenment Druid II (Take me away) - arranged by Eivind Sommersten

Review by LaLa, 22/03/2022

A modern production of several vocal (and possibly instrumental) hooks that I suspect come from sample libraries (in fact, I know exactly where the vocals come from πŸ˜‰ ). Nothing wrong with that, I think you did a fabulous job of putting it all together and presenting a clean, crisp, contemporary piece with them and weaving the SID melody into it all.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Beat To The Pulp - Metal Tribute (2021) - arranged by XxDUSTYxX

Review by noisefloor Bjoern, 14/03/2022

Very nice, sound is great, theme fit greats into the metal version. Really loving it!
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Remembering Impossible Mission - arranged by DashN

Review by tim_forsyth, 12/03/2022

I love the synthwave atmosphere and the drum programming is excellent. For me it’s evoking a kind of flashback documentary style and I like it. The only criticism would be the wild panning and what sound like a lot of haas stereo widening going on which confuses my brain a little. Otherwise, a great return and a surprising take on a game that I don’t remember having any music. Look forward to hearing what you do next.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Bubble Bobble (Live!) - arranged by Hampshire Regional High School

Review by LaLa, 08/03/2022

So, here I am, 22 years later in 2022, now with a daughter who is in a high school band in the United States. Therefore I have a newfound appreciation for this piece.

Think about it: somebody went through the trouble of arranging this piece (even allowing for short solos here and there!), printing the score in umpteen copies for each of the band member kids, then probably went through several hours of practice with the kids - all just to have it performed to parents who probably know nothing about the origins of this piece of music. So - respect!

According to an old MP3 download of mine, that somebody was a person with the name of Tim Winsky. I wish he continued adapting other C64 tunes for his high school band, too, but alas, this is the only one of his works we know of. Mr. Winsky, if you are out there - please, let us know how this all came about!

Yes, the recording is not so good, but I think that's what gives this tune real character - it's very obviously played and recorded live.

Considering it's a high school band, the kids are actually playing fairly well. Yeah, they are off here and there, but I think most high school bands could only wish they played this tight.

Bravo, Mr. Winsky, bravo!

I only wish Mr. Winsky made the score of his arrangement available to others, too, as I would surely ask my daughter's high school to add this to their repertoire, too...

Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Gauntlet III vs Plok - arranged by Tim Forsyth

Review by hillsman, 01/03/2022

After some excellent remixes in 2021, it is great to see Tim back with this absolutely belting tribute to his namesake, Tim Follin. While I personally don't hear a lot of Gauntlet 3 in this before 3:39, it is unmistakably Follin-esque and an absolute joy to listen to. Great work overall! We are most privileged. And a nice nod to the Plok OST if anyone hasn't heard it.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Illusions (I can't get enough) - arranged by Eivind Sommersten

Review by Pest Global Group DOO, 28/02/2022

Pure clean energy in just 4 minutes.Old master shows own skills once again. Life is really simple, but we insist on making it complicated. -Confucius.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Crazy Comets (Komet Non Stop 2022 re-remix) - arranged by Makke

Review by Methanoid, 27/02/2022

love the tune, just not a fan of having the vocals in here, would prefer just the tune.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Warhawk (2020 Edit) - arranged by Dr Future

Review by fluke73, 26/02/2022

I really don't mind it being slowed down. I understand you keeping the tempo. I have the same issues in my covers... Should i keep the slow speed or speed up it afterwards. But at some point you want it to be an honest cover as you know how to play it! 😊
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Spy Vs Spy (Spy Disco Spy Remix) - arranged by Stello Doussis

Review by Tomsk, 26/02/2022

Put a smile on my face when I heard it. Although disco is not a genre I'm a big fan of, this has clearly been cleverly crafted to create an authentic 70s disco track sound. A tad repetitive due to the shortness of the original, but the filtering and vocoded lyrics help extend its life... Overall a banging effort, authentic feel, and great fun to listen to. Well done.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Way of the Exploding Fist (Metal Mix) - arranged by Pan's Delight

Review by LaLa, 20/02/2022

Welcome to the Commodore remix community! While an interesting idea, the strange juxtaposition of plinky-plinky synths and hard rock doesn't really work for me, I'm afraid. Most of the instruments also sound too dry, and while it could've used some mixing, too, unfortunately, my basic problem with the arrangement juts cannot be solved easily.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Hawkeye - arranged by Tony Fluke73 Wiren

Review by marzl, 18/02/2022

I really liked it, its well played and makes me smile. The lack of complexity is not a drawback for me, because its played live. Great!
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

DashN's take on Ocean loader 4 Reload - arranged by DashN offline

Review by LaLa, 18/02/2022

Ah, so you've attempted this remix again in the same style! That underlying groove from Jan Hammer's Crockett's Theme - still a great idea and it's easily recognizable in this one, too. That lead, though - ouch. I suspect it was played, not sequenced, but along with the dissonant notes and the bad timing, it just ruins this remix. Also, yet again, just like in your previous remix, you didn't do the Hammer-style pitch-bends which he is known for. Soundwise the lead is better, but execution-wise it leaves a lot to be desired.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Ghosts 'n Goblins (RockMetal Cover) - arranged by Vaggelis Papadopoulos

Review by LaLa, 16/02/2022

I saw Vaggelis' name pop up and I was already excited. Then I listened to his remix and I was ecstatic. ROC=K ON! 🀘 What skills on the guitar! Also, nice touch with the additional choir.

And that surprise outro at the end in Greek folk music style - I almost fell out of my chair when I first heard it. πŸ˜‚ What a great idea! πŸ˜ƒπŸ‘ Now I am wishing for an entire remix in that style!!!

Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Hawkeye - arranged by Tony Fluke73 Wiren

Review by Waz, 15/02/2022

Nice that it's a mix of live performances and put together well. The immediacy of that definitely shows. There's definitely room for this to develop more and I'm sure we'd like to hear more from this remixer. Good effort.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 ⋅⋅⋅ 79 80 81