BIT Live 2022 Remix Compo now accepting entries!

BitLogo2022 White Small Click here for compo rules.
Close

Listener's Reviews

all c64 only Amiga only

Displaying Reviews 61 - 90 out of 2404

Login

Beat To The Pulp - Metal Tribute (2021) - arranged by XxDUSTYxX

Review by noisefloor Bjoern, 14/03/2022

Very nice, sound is great, theme fit greats into the metal version. Really loving it!
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Remembering Impossible Mission - arranged by DashN

Review by tim_forsyth, 12/03/2022

I love the synthwave atmosphere and the drum programming is excellent. For me it’s evoking a kind of flashback documentary style and I like it. The only criticism would be the wild panning and what sound like a lot of haas stereo widening going on which confuses my brain a little. Otherwise, a great return and a surprising take on a game that I don’t remember having any music. Look forward to hearing what you do next.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Bubble Bobble (Live!) - arranged by Hampshire Regional High School

Review by LaLa, 08/03/2022

So, here I am, 22 years later in 2022, now with a daughter who is in a high school band in the United States. Therefore I have a newfound appreciation for this piece.

Think about it: somebody went through the trouble of arranging this piece (even allowing for short solos here and there!), printing the score in umpteen copies for each of the band member kids, then probably went through several hours of practice with the kids - all just to have it performed to parents who probably know nothing about the origins of this piece of music. So - respect!

According to an old MP3 download of mine, that somebody was a person with the name of Tim Winsky. I wish he continued adapting other C64 tunes for his high school band, too, but alas, this is the only one of his works we know of. Mr. Winsky, if you are out there - please, let us know how this all came about!

Yes, the recording is not so good, but I think that's what gives this tune real character - it's very obviously played and recorded live.

Considering it's a high school band, the kids are actually playing fairly well. Yeah, they are off here and there, but I think most high school bands could only wish they played this tight.

Bravo, Mr. Winsky, bravo!

I only wish Mr. Winsky made the score of his arrangement available to others, too, as I would surely ask my daughter's high school to add this to their repertoire, too...

Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Gauntlet III vs Plok - arranged by Tim Forsyth

Review by hillsman, 01/03/2022

After some excellent remixes in 2021, it is great to see Tim back with this absolutely belting tribute to his namesake, Tim Follin. While I personally don't hear a lot of Gauntlet 3 in this before 3:39, it is unmistakably Follin-esque and an absolute joy to listen to. Great work overall! We are most privileged. And a nice nod to the Plok OST if anyone hasn't heard it.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Illusions (I can't get enough) - arranged by Eivind Sommersten

Review by Pest Global Group DOO, 28/02/2022

Pure clean energy in just 4 minutes.Old master shows own skills once again. Life is really simple, but we insist on making it complicated. -Confucius.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Crazy Comets (Komet Non Stop 2022 re-remix) - arranged by Makke

Review by Methanoid, 27/02/2022

love the tune, just not a fan of having the vocals in here, would prefer just the tune.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Warhawk (2020 Edit) - arranged by Dr Future

Review by fluke73, 26/02/2022

I really don't mind it being slowed down. I understand you keeping the tempo. I have the same issues in my covers... Should i keep the slow speed or speed up it afterwards. But at some point you want it to be an honest cover as you know how to play it! 😊
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Spy Vs Spy (Spy Disco Spy Remix) - arranged by Stello Doussis

Review by Tomsk, 26/02/2022

Put a smile on my face when I heard it. Although disco is not a genre I'm a big fan of, this has clearly been cleverly crafted to create an authentic 70s disco track sound. A tad repetitive due to the shortness of the original, but the filtering and vocoded lyrics help extend its life... Overall a banging effort, authentic feel, and great fun to listen to. Well done.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Way of the Exploding Fist (Metal Mix) - arranged by Pan's Delight

Review by LaLa, 20/02/2022

Welcome to the Commodore remix community! While an interesting idea, the strange juxtaposition of plinky-plinky synths and hard rock doesn't really work for me, I'm afraid. Most of the instruments also sound too dry, and while it could've used some mixing, too, unfortunately, my basic problem with the arrangement juts cannot be solved easily.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Hawkeye - arranged by Tony Fluke73 Wiren

Review by marzl, 18/02/2022

I really liked it, its well played and makes me smile. The lack of complexity is not a drawback for me, because its played live. Great!
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

DashN's take on Ocean loader 4 Reload - arranged by DashN offline

Review by LaLa, 18/02/2022

Ah, so you've attempted this remix again in the same style! That underlying groove from Jan Hammer's Crockett's Theme - still a great idea and it's easily recognizable in this one, too. That lead, though - ouch. I suspect it was played, not sequenced, but along with the dissonant notes and the bad timing, it just ruins this remix. Also, yet again, just like in your previous remix, you didn't do the Hammer-style pitch-bends which he is known for. Soundwise the lead is better, but execution-wise it leaves a lot to be desired.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Ghosts 'n Goblins (RockMetal Cover) - arranged by Vaggelis Papadopoulos

Review by LaLa, 16/02/2022

I saw Vaggelis' name pop up and I was already excited. Then I listened to his remix and I was ecstatic. ROC=K ON! 🀘 What skills on the guitar! Also, nice touch with the additional choir.

And that surprise outro at the end in Greek folk music style - I almost fell out of my chair when I first heard it. πŸ˜‚ What a great idea! πŸ˜ƒπŸ‘ Now I am wishing for an entire remix in that style!!!

Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Hawkeye - arranged by Tony Fluke73 Wiren

Review by Waz, 15/02/2022

Nice that it's a mix of live performances and put together well. The immediacy of that definitely shows. There's definitely room for this to develop more and I'm sure we'd like to hear more from this remixer. Good effort.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Ghosts 'n Goblins - arranged by Emanuele Siward Pallozzi

Review by Waz, 15/02/2022

Like the guitar on this on the main part, it adds to the overall metal sounding dark feel. The organ lead with that somehow just sounds a little weaker and doesn't quite work for me (but I get the intention of it nonetheless) It's a promising start for a newcomer, and the arrangement and feel is definitely there, so kudos for that.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Panther (Storm in teacup remix) - arranged by Elro

Review by LaLa, 15/02/2022

Welcome to the Commodore remix community! This is a really good introduction for a first remix! I quite like the intro, and I like how it transitions to the main beat and theme. I like how you tried to retain the feel of the original with the lead sound. The entire arrangement has a cohesion that is rarely heard from newcomers. Very well done, hope to hear more remixes from you soon!
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Sanxion (Don't Fall Asleep) - arranged by Wobbler

Review by Waz, 15/02/2022

Very downbeat in its style, but that also offers the substance too. It's a very different take on the classic, and for that it does deserve praise for being out there and daring to be different. In fact, the only reason for me not giving it red overall is that there's no ambient nod to the middle section of the original - just the opening and ending hooks.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

'Clever Music' Medley - arranged by Tomsk

Review by Waz, 15/02/2022

Although the Clever Music originals are relatively short, it made perfect sense to put them into a medley with a feel of late 1970s rock about it. From the Kenny G inspired saxophone to the opening that drops a gentle nod to Hotel California, there's a real essence of reflection instead of more melancholy, and works well for it. Sonically, there's plenty of lovely instruments that work well together and you can tell that love and care has been taken to ensure it's all well crafted with suitable nods to the SID originals to maintain that all important feel. An excellent remix all round.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Grand Monster Slam (Menu) - arranged by Dr Future

Review by oxygen, 14/02/2022

The side flute that accompanies the piece sounds very high quality and professional and adds aroma to the masterpiece you have written.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Ground (Re-Lec-Tro Mix) - arranged by Mitch van Hayden

Review by danko, 14/02/2022

When I grow up, I want to make a collaboration remix version of Ground with Mitch van Hayden, Teo/Rebels, Vincenzo/Rebels/Lethargy , DHS, Mordi and Mahoney.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Venus the Flytrap - Translucent Plain (Trance Remix) - arranged by kjetiln

Review by oxygen, 14/02/2022

The music you create and the rhythm make you want to go down to the dance floor. The poetry sections of the opera in the background add an atmosphere of atmosphere. Well done for the masterpiece.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

'Clever Music' Medley - arranged by Tomsk

Review by Tas, 14/02/2022

The structure and how it morphs from one tune to another is quite impressive. It also shows that Tomsk is not a one trick pony. I really like how it mixes in between styles seamlessly - you'd never know it was medley unless you knew. Maybe misses some of the sprightliness of the originals and maybe a little somber but i can live with that. I think it a brilliant arrangement, well implemented and worthy of a very high score.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

'Clever Music' Medley - arranged by Tomsk

Review by LaLa, 13/02/2022

Pardon my pun, but this is not just a Clever medley, but it's also a very clever medley. The way the individual themes are weaved together it's so seamless, it sounds so effortless, it's jaw-dropping. (Although I know it must've required a ton of work to put it together like this. It's always hard work to make something sound so easy. πŸ˜€)

On top of it, the instrument selection is spotless, too. The piano, the guitar, the sax, the vocal backing, the drums - all top-notch, and they all play together or alternate in a very natural way, depending on what a given section dictates. And I can't really complain about the mixing, either.

At times this remix is poignant, at times it's uplifting, and it's pure nostalgia all over. One thing is sure: this piece will touch you one way or another. Well done, Tomsk, I really enjoy it!

Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Ghosts 'n Goblins - arranged by Emanuele Siward Pallozzi

Review by LaLa, 13/02/2022

Whoa, quite an entry for a newcomer! It's so good, I wish it was longer. Smashing!
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Crazy Comets (Komet Non Stop 2022 re-remix) - arranged by Makke

Review by LaLa, 13/02/2022

20 years later and even better than the original remix. Makke changed what needed to be changed to make it sound more modern (the instruments sound better, the mix is cleaner, the vocals stand out more), but left alone that was already very good to begin with (the overall song structure, the electro rhythm, the lyrics). As a Kraftwerk fan, I really liked what Makke has done with this SID tune in 2002 - and this latest version sounds even better. (just listen to them side-by-side and you'll hear the big step up in production value.)
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Sanxion (Don't Fall Asleep) - arranged by Wobbler

Review by LaLa, 13/02/2022

I love it! And despite its subtitle, I think I will fall asleep to this, it's the perfect tune for that! A bunch of wonderful spacey pads, a subtle violin, a beautiful, gentle arrangement at 72 bpm - everything is here, ready for chilling on a Saturday night!
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

JT 42 (We Got the Fire) - arranged by Eivind Sommersten

Review by LaLa, 12/02/2022

Clever use of vocals, I really like it when you duck the chords with filtering to bring the singer forward. Crispy clean mix - maybe too clean if you were going for a full 80s style like the original Level 42 song. Your drum set is simply magnificent, excellent, punchy sounds! The piano improvs towards the end are really cool, too.

And now for the negatives: the ending is a bit too abrupt for my taste. I wish there was some more variation in the rhythm section (other than the breaks) - it's certainly fine as is, it's a great groove by itself, but my ears get a bit tired of it by the end of the song. At times I wish the vocal was fattened up a bit more with (pitch-shifted) layering, especially when it's singing the We got the fire hook. That lead sound from 1:33 - I don't care for it much. That should've been a lead guitar, IMHO, that would've been killer.

Despite my complaints it's a really good track, but I think with a bit more work it could've been outstanding.

Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Paperboy Hi-Score (Angelized) - arranged by LaLa

Review by joenemesys, 12/02/2022

Too enjoable! Really an original, fresh and at the same time warm rendition with that mild voice; the growing choir towards the end took me by surprise; I have to admit that I pissed myself by laughing with those sheep at the end!
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Steel Ranger End Credits - arranged by Markus Schneider

Review by LaLa, 05/02/2022

There's no substitute for talent. Never in a million years I would've thought that the original SID could be turned into such an epic piece - but here it is, thanks to Markus. Sounds absolutely fantastic! My only gripe is about its length: it could've been twice as long and I would've still complained about it being short. Oh, well, that's what the loop button is for. πŸ˜‰
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Missing you - arranged by JLD

Review by LaLa, 05/02/2022

I am ashamed to admit that this is another SID I wasn't familiar with before. It has a really catchy melody in its chorus and thankfully, JLD retained it in full with all its nuances. Really like the electric guitars in this remix, I think they turned out quite well (despite being plugin-based). Great job overall, I really enjoy it!
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Thrust 2k4 - arranged by Marc Girard

Review by milasoft, 05/02/2022

Hello from a fellow Canadian... cool riffs and a rocking beat!!! Greets from Ontario. I love this tune!
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 ⋅⋅⋅ 79 80 81