BIT Live 2022 Remix Compo now accepting entries!

BitLogo2022 White Small Click here for compo rules.
Close

Listener's Reviews

all c64 only Amiga only

Displaying Reviews 2131 - 2160 out of 2424

Login

Chambers Of Shaolin Title Remix (Amiga Fight Mix) - arranged by CZ Tunes

Review by LaLa, 04/02/2003

Nice average remix, the lead sound is spot on, the mixing is appropriate, but this remix doesn't really stand out from the crowd. It's a solid production that is in dire need of a brilliant idea.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Last Ninja 2 (Final Battle Rave Edit) - arranged by Jurek Raben

Review by LaLa, 04/02/2003

It starts out okay, but this rave style is not for LN2. It's a decent remix, and if played live, it would actually be rather enjoyable, but by itself presented as an LN2 remix it doesn't strike me as something that I would listen to more than once.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Last Ninja 2 (Final Battle Trance Edit) - arranged by Jurek Raben

Review by LaLa, 04/02/2003

Starts out fine then it transforms into this technoish-trance-like piece that has next to nothing to do with LN2 any more. Sure, the melody line pops up here and there, but this style done this way is a complete misfit for this tune. This is one of those remixes that you either like or not - I am in the latter camp.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

To Be On Top - Tune 2 (Smooth Earcandy Edit) - arranged by Sonic Wanderer

Review by LaLa, 04/02/2003

It is more electronic than I expected it to be from the title, a very pleasant, or as the title says, smooth remix. But I feel it digresses from the original too much and thus I feel no real connection to this piece any more. Key portions of the original were left out completely, so for me this otherwise good remix lost its appeal.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Turrican v1 - arranged by Kermit offline

Review by LaLa, 04/02/2003

It didn't provoke any real emotions in me until the drums kicked in, and even at that time it was a weak dance tune at most. The instrumentation is fairly unimaginative, the arrangement is rather dull and overly repetitive, but most importantly it's missing that spark that makes the best remixes really good.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Gem X - arranged by hege

Review by LaLa, 04/02/2003

I hope one of these days I will gain an understanding of why people bother covering tunes that were remade by Hülsbeck himself ages ago. Not only Hege8 covers the same tune, he even covers it in *EXACTLY* the same style Hülsbeck did it on his CD... Sure, it's nice to do things like this to practice and/or imitate composition and arrangement techniques, but to release it to the public this way? ... Maybe Hege8 never heard Chris' own remake? That would be odd, because the similarities are frightening.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Bladerunner End Titles (Terminator Mix) - arranged by Honorabili offline

Review by LaLa, 04/02/2003

Hmm, well, what can I say. Honorabili mastered the art of taking something with value and turning it into utter crap. As a hardcore Vangelis fan, I find this cover appallingly dumb. As a hardcore SID fan, I find this cover insulting. Either way, you are better off staying the hell away from it!
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Unused1 (UnXenoed) - arranged by XeNoMoRpH offline

Review by LaLa, 04/02/2003

Cover of a little-known groovy Jeroen Tel tune. I think, this cover doesn't do justice to the original. It sounds inferior with the original arpeggios left intact and with the very similar sounding lead instrument, which alone wouldn't be bad, but it doesn't work well in the big picture, or rather, I don't see the value added - I might as well listen to the original SID if I want to hear it this way. Too bad.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Ghost 'n Goblins - arranged by Krister Nielsen

Review by LaLa, 04/02/2003

Ever heard Skaven's Catch That Goblin? Well, it's the same orchestral style, except it's covering Cooksey's tune. What makes it stand out even more that you can hear what great attention was paid to make it sound like an authentic orchestra as much as possible. A great cover that is so good, it deserves to be on the repertoir of your local symphonic orchestra.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

FTC - Infodroid (Fade 2 Ambient Gray Mix) - arranged by FTC

Review by LaLa, 04/02/2003

This is so awesome that maybe I should capitalize it: it's AWESOME! It would be hard to find problems with it even if I put it under the magnifying glass, but take back a step or two and then you'll really appreciate how well it's put together. Ambience, emotions, balanced mix - it's all there and it all works in harmony. What a great unusual cover! You know a cover is really good when it's actually better than the original - and that's true with this one. What a pleasure to listen to!
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Dixie Commando - arranged by Scalex

Review by LaLa, 04/02/2003

Now, if you want to be tasty and funny at the same time, *THIS* is how you do it! The familiar Commando theme played by a dixieland band! Although I can think of other SID tunes that would've been helluva better candidates for a dixie remix, but even this one will make you smile for sure. Talk about a stylistic mismatch! But in this case, that's what makes it really fun!
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

IK+ (Nokia mix) - arranged by DJ Subslash

Review by LaLa, 04/02/2003

This remix starts out with a superb groove, then you hear the beeping IK+ theme coming out of a Nokia phone. If this remix was intended to be funny - it ain't. If it's serious, it's making a mockery of this SID classic. It's tasteless.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

R-Type Title Remix (Dance Version) - arranged by CZ Tunes

Review by LaLa, 04/02/2003

I am unimpressed. Yet another let's add drums to the SID remix. Well, actually, some effects also try to enhance the feeling here, too. Hooray. I'm still unimpressed.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Hollywood Poker Pro - arranged by Dr Future

Review by LaLa, 04/02/2003

The basic idea was good (to turn this tune into a dance-mix, which I see as the natural choice), but the execution lacks the oomph and feeling to push it over the edge. No doubt it's due to the lack of decent synths available to Dr. Future, because I find one of the lead sounds rather childish and the whole tune has this cheap Casio-synth feeling to it. A nice effort, nevertheless, but it's in dire need of a better treatment.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Thanatos (sleeping dragon mix) - arranged by FTC

Review by LaLa, 04/02/2003

When it started, I was tempted to denounce this remake, but when the lead kicked in and as it progressed, I was convinced that it's a well thought-out piece that deserves more attention. Some might be annoyed by the high-pitched lead at times, personally, I am annoyed by the seemingly out-of-rhythm snare drums, but as a whole it's better than its parts. Not superb, but better.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Arkanoid 2010 - arranged by FTC

Review by LaLa, 04/02/2003

A very unusual approach to Arkanoid, tilting it more towards the ambient side, although the famous drums and beeps are kept intact. Lots of filtered analogish sounds, a very nice concept overall that I think works rather well.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Cybernoid II - Jarresque 2001 Mix - arranged by Jarno Beumer

Review by LaLa, 04/02/2003

Personally, I don't find anything Jarresque in this cover despite the fact that I consider myself a big fan of Jarre. Maybe, only maybe I can sort of imagine its style being a mix of Chronologie and Oxy 7-13, but that's a stretch. Nevertheless, this is one superb cover, albeit a bit too bright for my ears. (Perhaps I am just getting old?) More or less it follows the predictable path of a typical Cybi II remix, but it's very well produced and it sounds pretty clean, if I may say so. A bit thin here and there, but other than that there's hardly anything wrong with this cover!
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Wizardry - arranged by Amp

Review by LaLa, 04/02/2003

A bit too rich with drums for my taste (which feeling might actually be caused by that brassy bass), but otherwise a decent remix with carefully selected instruments for the different parts of the lead. But the sound quality of the instruments is subpar, causing the overall mix sound more mushy than it really should. Kinda groovy, too, which helps a lot.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Commando (2001 mix) - arranged by Jarno Beumer

Review by LaLa, 04/02/2003

The beginning is very promising with some cool sounding drums, then it slowly builds up with very synthy instruments - and that is where it became less impressive. This build-up just stops when the main melody-line comes in. I have to say, I am very impressed with the final mixing of this remix, though. Musically, it's not as good as the opening bars suggested to me, but it has a cool bouncy feeling to it and it's worth listening to.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Enlightenment Druid II (Trace cover) - arranged by Kent Walldén

Review by LaLa, 04/02/2003

Obviously, there was a Druid remix compo recently that I missed... This is also an above average cover with relatively rich instruments. Nice arrangement, I think it's rather pleasant just listening to it. Soundwise it has that sampler feeling, productionwise it's well balanced. Recommended for download.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Druid (Respect The Original Mix) - arranged by Plough

Review by LaLa, 04/02/2003

Interestingly, it sounds rather simplistic. Not bad, but nothing to get too excited over.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Druid - arranged by Zane Whitaker

Review by LaLa, 04/02/2003

Not an elaborate cover, but at least it adds some personal touch to Druid. Again, it has more potential than what it actually delivers. Quite nice and worth a download, though.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Last Ninja Wilderness ( Cadrega Mix) - arranged by Eric Pochesci offline

Review by LaLa, 04/02/2003

Another attempt at remixing Ben's famous Wilderness tune from LN. If the game was written in the style of this remix, it'd be a high-paced fast-action car- chases-galore game resembling a Hollywood blockbuster. Personally, I think this remix goes over the top, which may be due to a problem with the mixing or with the arrangement. I would be tempted *not* to recommend this remix to those with weak heart conditions, and nobody should listen to this tune in a car, otherwise you are guaranteed to be clocked by a traffipax at two times the posted speed limit.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Krakout (Kocmoc Mix) - arranged by Slumgud

Review by LaLa, 04/02/2003

I suppose Kocmoc here is the Russian spelling of Cosmos... This remix is quite weird, certainly surprising and different. Unfortunately, it never really builds up and the constant repetition of the introductory sequence becomes boring pretty fast. The vocoded Krakout speech sample is kinda cool, though.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Sanxion (Spandau Ballet mix) - arranged by Mahoney

Review by LaLa, 04/02/2003

Yet another awesome remix by Mahoney that is completely screwed up by the original SID sounds. Yes, I know this was an artistic choice, but for crying out loud, it sounds like crap this way! I'm sorry, I just don't get it. Believe me, I was actually scratching my head as I listened to this remix. It's like seeing a Michelangelo painting (= the superb Spandau Ballet-like accompaniment) that has two large blue stripes painted over it by a child ( = the SID sounds) - kinda ruins the whole thing, doesn't it?
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Rasputin (Rob Rulez Remix) - arranged by Sascha Theel

Review by LaLa, 04/02/2003

Sounds like something that was made on a cheap Casio synth which has all those auto-accompaniment features. Seriously! Not bad, but nothing to get excited about. Keeps it high-speed throughout the remix which makes it enjoyable.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Lazy Jones (Medley) - arranged by Instant Remedy

Review by LaLa, 04/02/2003

A pretty good dance-remix of our beloved Zombie Nation tu-... erm, Lazy Jones tunes. The individual jingles are seamlessly stitched together into one 4 minute remix. Add some great drums and synth strings, do a great job of mixing the whole thing - definitely worth a listen.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Auf Wiedersehen Monty - arranged by Solknight

Review by LaLa, 04/02/2003

Not bad, not bad. The panned drums tell me that this tune may have been an XM or S3M originally. A solid average remix, pretty much everything you'd expect from an Auf.. cover is here. To be perfectly honest, many times for me it sounded like my very own Auf... remix, but hey, how many ways are there to remix this tune, really?😉 A few years ago this could've been top-notch, but the stakes have been raised a lot since then.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Spellbound (Swing mix) - arranged by Mahoney offline

Review by LaLa, 04/02/2003

I have to say, I don't think I've ever heard a remix whose style was so far away from the style of the original! This remix gets a lot of plus points for its innovative idea and were it not for that awful SID sound in the lead (yes, here it sounds awful!), it'd actually rock big time. But the lead sound is just so *NOT* good in front of that band playing in the background, it's appalling. Were the lead played on a trumpet or a saxophone, I wouldn't have thought for a second to select this to be one of my most favorite remixes, but this way I am just left wondering - how come Mahoney didn't hear this??? ... (I just keep listening to this remix again and again, and I want to make it my pick of the bunch *SOOOO* bad, but that SID lead is simply bothering me a lot. Hmm, maybe if I imagined a swinging robot in a ballroom as its singing, erm, emitting sounds on top of what the band is playing... Naaah!)
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

The Last Ninja - The Wilderness - arranged by Solknight

Review by LaLa, 04/02/2003

Publishing a Last Ninja remix these days is not an easy thing to do since there were so many past attempts. But Solknight managed to bring out a nice remix (I especially like the opening) that stands on its own. While you won't yell out whoa! when listening to his remix, but you'll certainly enjoy it, just like I did. It's definitely one of the better The Wilderness remixes out there, but don't expect a lot more than that.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

1 2 3 ⋅⋅⋅ 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81