BIT Live 2022 Remix Compo now accepting entries!

BitLogo2022 White Small Click here for compo rules.
Close

Listener's Reviews

all c64 only Amiga only

Displaying Reviews 91 - 120 out of 2404

Login

Logical - Level 3 - arranged by Emzed

Review by KayDee, 04/02/2022

I always loved this game. Will you remix the other tracks too? If so, I would like to use them for a retro remake of the game.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Follow the Sign - arranged by Mirko Hirsch

Review by electronscape, 31/01/2022

With a love of Laser Dance style music THIS absolutely smashs it!!! AND this instantly made my Commute so much more anticipating! THANK YOU!!!!!
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Mutants (The Mantra) [Cinematic64] - arranged by Slaygon

Review by LaLa, 28/01/2022

It's gritty, highly textural, with lots of distortion and industrial sounds - just be careful with that volume button so it doesn't blow out your sub-woofer. This is still one of my favorite tracks from Cinematic 64.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Goatlight (There's A Light That Never Goats Out) - arranged by Wobbler

Review by RaveCoyote, 27/01/2022

This dance track is still very C64 while on the other hand has a very modern punch to it. Well done and very well constructed. Loved it immediately.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Fourth Protocol - arranged by Tomsk

Review by LaLa, 27/01/2022

This track provides a perfect closure to the Encore64 album: a melancholic, almost elegic rendition of Fouth Protocol with a symphonic instrumentation that harkens back to the era of romanticism. The real power of this piece is undoubtedly the choir, which lends evocative emotional undertones to this track. What a lovely piece this is to finish off the album! The echoes of this track will stay with you long after the final note fades away.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Stationary Ark - arranged by Peter Clarke

Review by LaLa, 27/01/2022

This should be familiar to a lot of Remix64 listeners, as it was the winner of the Remix64 20th Anniversary compo. Here it's presented with an extra 30 seconds at the end, but is largely the same arrangement. And it's still sounds just as amazing as it did in the compo: layers and layers of soothing sequences of guitar licks highlight the catchy melody, done in a style that many progressive albums of the 1970s would've been proud to include.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Ocean Loader III - arranged by Peter Clarke

Review by LaLa, 27/01/2022

This is not the first time Peter tried to take a crack at his own tune that was more or less the result of his one-upmanship with Mr. Galway when they both worked at Ocean. This remix sits solidly in the symphonic prog-rock style with the original's arrangement reworked very cleverly to fit into this genre. Luckily, it retains the original's uptempo backbone, enhanced with guitars no doubt all played by Peter himself, resulting in a wonderful track that really brings back memories: ah, back when we didn't mind the several minute long load times because we got music like this in return!...
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Bubble Bobble - arranged by Peter Clarke

Review by LaLa, 27/01/2022

Hold onto your cowboy hats, folks, we are entering brand new stylistic territory here! I absolutely loves this! 🤠👍 It totally fits in with the fun nature of the original SID. Fiddles 🎻, banjos 🪕, and pedal-steels 🎸 all make an appearance within this carefully assembled arrangement by Peter. Even if you are not a fan of this style, you must admit that it's been put together superbly. Y'all, this is one helluva remix, yee-haw! 🐄🐄🐄
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Eskimonika - arranged by Danko

Review by LaLa, 27/01/2022

Eskimonika is a SID I wasn't familiar with before - made in 2008 by Dane (of Mitch & Dane fame) and here reworked by Danko in a way only Danko can. Twisting and distorting sounds to his will, but still keeping the original melodies intact results in a pretty hard electronic piece that remains hugely listenable (or as Mr. Clarke - who is no fan of the genre - would say, tolerable... Quite the compliment, haha!). It's not really unz-unz music, though, because its rhythm is genre-defying, but it's still unmistakably Danko-esque with memorable melody lines played with crystal-clear synths backed by complex arpeggiated rhythms. Also, thank you, Tomas, for introducing me to this hidden gem of a SID!
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Shadowfire - arranged by Romeo Knight

Review by LaLa, 27/01/2022

This remix is courtesy of a legendary scene musician who no doubt destroyed some of his electric guitars in the process. I was extremely pleased to see Romeo Knight's name pop up on the Encore64 album and his rendition of Fred Gray's Shadowfire totally rocks, literally and figuratively. He is demonstrating complete mastery of his instruments on this track, which is an absolute tour de force, a headbanger, and now I have trouble imagining this Fred Gray classic in any other way - a sure sign that Romeo Knight managed to create a superb remix of it.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Denarius - arranged by Glyn R. Brown

Review by LaLa, 27/01/2022

On the Encore64 album this is Glyn's second remix and it sees him return to the style that made him famous: epic orchestral cinematic style. I am getting very strong vibes of recent Hans Zimmer soundtracks in this piece where Glyn is not afraid to flex his artistic muscles by mixing choir-embellished symphonic soundscapes with electronic sounds. The original SID was composed by Peter Clarke, but in Glyn's hands it's elevated to heights I don't think Peter could even dream of back in 1987. This track is an adventure all by itself and immensely satisfying to listen to - an instant classic.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Opus III - arranged by Danko

Review by LaLa, 27/01/2022

Those glitch effects starting at 1:33 really made me do a double-take at my equipment when I first listened to this, so kudos for almost giving me a heart-attack. 😁 Other than that, pastiches of '90s mellow electronica abound in the second part of this remix: creamy, lush pads supported by a simple, but strong staccato bass line. Quite a delight!
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Immortal Flash #02 - arranged by Vincenzo

Review by LaLa, 27/01/2022

A great synth-heavy remix. This one makes me smile, because I am a fan of the synthwave style (or retrowave or whatever you want to call it) represented by his piece. It's not as heavy- handed as to be dripping with '80s nostalgia, but the source of inspiration is certainly unmistakable. If you are not familiar with the original SID by Zardax, don't fret, I wasn't, either. It's a good SID, but Vincenzo really brought it to life with his modern-yet-retro instrumentation, and I wouldn't be surprised if it became a dance-floor favorite.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Deformata - arranged by Danko

Review by LaLa, 27/01/2022

Evoking the style of 1990s piano house it wouldn't be amiss on the dance floor, either - but then, we don't expect anything less from Danko, do we? In a nod to the past this track also features a healthy amount of SID sounds (or at least sounds that remind me of the SID's analog oscillators) weaved delicately into the arrangement, and it's also infused with a healthy dose of something that I can only describe as demo scene style music. Really enjoyable!
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Cyberdyne Warrior - arranged by Glyn R. Brown

Review by LaLa, 27/01/2022

Not what you'd expect from Glyn! it is a very modern take on the tune where vocal chops play an important role, mixed with SID sounds and some synth-pop elements. It may be a surprising stylistic choice for Glyn, but it's absolutely smashing, a complete earworm, and sets a very high standard for the rest of the Encore64 album.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Plastic Pop - arranged by MRT

Review by danko, 24/01/2022

Maybe I don't know everything about Plasticpop. However, I did author the original version so there's that. Mordi found something in that 15 minute c64 sid thing I did as a joke back in the days. I had no idea Plasticpop had so much nostalgia, Mordi found it. 200+ something shitty remixes later (not here, on YouTube, look it up sorry), MRT adds quality to his remix.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Ground (Klsch edit) - arranged by Teo

Review by danko, 24/01/2022

Rest, not OK. How many words, ja? Not OK. Not OK. Not. OK. Nicht. OK.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Ground (Pump Up The Insomnia) - arranged by Vincenzo

Review by danko, 24/01/2022

Blending several 90s anthems into something making my old SID seem as likewise, that is just amazing.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Yes Comment (Prophet in a new day) - arranged by Mozolowski

Review by danko, 24/01/2022

Perhaps not a lot of arrangement going on, though. The original got some more progressions, and this rendition only cover a slight part of it. Still, great emotional cover of that slight part.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Tribute to Atos - arranged by Eivind Sommersten

Review by danko, 24/01/2022

Someone taking a very unpopular sid of mine, turning into a dubstylee track. What is not to love? Love you, Eivind!
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Afterburner (High Energy Prog Mix) - arranged by Peter Clarke

Review by hillsman, 19/01/2022

First ever review for me. Afterburner was the first full price game I bought for C64 - it was a game my dad wanted to play! While the game was very much OK, the music was super. And while there are a couple of good remixes out there, this is simply spot on. It kicks off sounding just like original SID, then we get the drums, the guitars, that simple, yet effective bass......and the tempo is perfect. Thank you Peter - my fav remix for 2021.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Uppercut (I put my life on it) - arranged by Eivind Sommersten

Review by BeeZerk, 16/01/2022

Beautiful composition of sounds and vocals. Everything fits well together. Good chosen sounds and the overall quality is superb. I adore the stereo mono friskyness and that particular funk feeling the tune is soaked in. Thank you for this elaborated piece, i really dig this!
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Lazy Bytes - arranged by JLD

Review by wobbler, 15/01/2022

Oh, what a very pro sounding result! Happy to hear about your move to a new DAW (and I agree that the kick in the previous remix was perhaps a tad to much), but also sorry that you're leaving Reason for Cubase. Who am I now gonna poke for collabs, huh? Huh? 😊
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Platoon - arranged by JLD & Dr.Future

Review by wobbler, 15/01/2022

Great stuff. The guitar really makes this remix a lot more personal. I just would like to have the snare (and most of the percussion) a lot less reverb:ed. Also, the remix kinda … faded away without a proper ending? No? Perhaps it's just me.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Giana Sisters - Arok - arranged by Glyn R Brown

Review by redm, 15/01/2022

Best ever version I've heard, technically and skillfully executed. Glynn... Your a genius with all your feeling and effort you put into it and you can tell you loved the original tunes.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Druid II Enlightenment / Fairlight Crack Intro - arranged by LukHash

Review by 32Bits, 09/01/2022

Was worried about a remix of a tune that was so nostalgic for me but LukHash did right by it. Familiar but new nostalgic but fresh. ticks all the boxes for me. great work!
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Druid II Enlightenment / Fairlight Crack Intro - arranged by LukHash

Review by Moonshie, 09/01/2022

One of the best remixers in our time. All his old C64 tracks are awesome! Thnx Lukhash
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Stranger in a Strange Land (Ensoniq Mix) - arranged by LaLa

Review by BeeZerk, 08/01/2022

Artisticly speaking it's a 1:1 rendition of the original SID, sounds very uninspired. The composition is great but i hear mostly Reyn and not a hint of LaLa. Soundwise it's kinda heavy on the ears, every track seems to have the same (high) loundness which sets the overall dynamic of this tune towards zero and gives it a strange and synthetic sounding. The short Hi-Hat is loud and harsh, overrides the whole environment. Overall it's very promising and i like the tune itself but i wish it would contain more of the remix formula or peculiarity in it.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Super Stardust Tunnel 4 Remix - arranged by a-Mace

Review by Murdock, 07/01/2022

It's a big challenge about a Stardust remix, but there's a little spark challenge potential who's here. You are on the right way, please continue ! 😊
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Spy Vs Spy (Spy Disco Spy Remix) - arranged by Stello Doussis

Review by D400, 06/01/2022

I like that Disco-Theme - fits perfect! Would be an interesting experience to play the game listening to this amazing remix.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 ⋅⋅⋅ 79 80 81