BIT Live 2022 Remix Compo now accepting entries!

BitLogo2022 White Small Click here for compo rules.
Close

Listener's Reviews

all c64 only Amiga only

Displaying Reviews 91 - 120 out of 2424

Login

Ghosts 'n Goblins - arranged by Emanuele Siward Pallozzi

Review by Waz, 15/02/2022

Like the guitar on this on the main part, it adds to the overall metal sounding dark feel. The organ lead with that somehow just sounds a little weaker and doesn't quite work for me (but I get the intention of it nonetheless) It's a promising start for a newcomer, and the arrangement and feel is definitely there, so kudos for that.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Panther (Storm in teacup remix) - arranged by Elro

Review by LaLa, 15/02/2022

Welcome to the Commodore remix community! This is a really good introduction for a first remix! I quite like the intro, and I like how it transitions to the main beat and theme. I like how you tried to retain the feel of the original with the lead sound. The entire arrangement has a cohesion that is rarely heard from newcomers. Very well done, hope to hear more remixes from you soon!
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Sanxion (Don't Fall Asleep) - arranged by Wobbler

Review by Waz, 15/02/2022

Very downbeat in its style, but that also offers the substance too. It's a very different take on the classic, and for that it does deserve praise for being out there and daring to be different. In fact, the only reason for me not giving it red overall is that there's no ambient nod to the middle section of the original - just the opening and ending hooks.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

'Clever Music' Medley - arranged by Tomsk

Review by Waz, 15/02/2022

Although the Clever Music originals are relatively short, it made perfect sense to put them into a medley with a feel of late 1970s rock about it. From the Kenny G inspired saxophone to the opening that drops a gentle nod to Hotel California, there's a real essence of reflection instead of more melancholy, and works well for it. Sonically, there's plenty of lovely instruments that work well together and you can tell that love and care has been taken to ensure it's all well crafted with suitable nods to the SID originals to maintain that all important feel. An excellent remix all round.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Grand Monster Slam (Menu) - arranged by Dr Future

Review by oxygen, 14/02/2022

The side flute that accompanies the piece sounds very high quality and professional and adds aroma to the masterpiece you have written.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Ground (Re-Lec-Tro Mix) - arranged by Mitch van Hayden

Review by danko, 14/02/2022

When I grow up, I want to make a collaboration remix version of Ground with Mitch van Hayden, Teo/Rebels, Vincenzo/Rebels/Lethargy , DHS, Mordi and Mahoney.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Venus the Flytrap - Translucent Plain (Trance Remix) - arranged by kjetiln

Review by oxygen, 14/02/2022

The music you create and the rhythm make you want to go down to the dance floor. The poetry sections of the opera in the background add an atmosphere of atmosphere. Well done for the masterpiece.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

'Clever Music' Medley - arranged by Tomsk

Review by Tas, 14/02/2022

The structure and how it morphs from one tune to another is quite impressive. It also shows that Tomsk is not a one trick pony. I really like how it mixes in between styles seamlessly - you'd never know it was medley unless you knew. Maybe misses some of the sprightliness of the originals and maybe a little somber but i can live with that. I think it a brilliant arrangement, well implemented and worthy of a very high score.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

'Clever Music' Medley - arranged by Tomsk

Review by LaLa, 13/02/2022

Pardon my pun, but this is not just a Clever medley, but it's also a very clever medley. The way the individual themes are weaved together it's so seamless, it sounds so effortless, it's jaw-dropping. (Although I know it must've required a ton of work to put it together like this. It's always hard work to make something sound so easy. 😀)

On top of it, the instrument selection is spotless, too. The piano, the guitar, the sax, the vocal backing, the drums - all top-notch, and they all play together or alternate in a very natural way, depending on what a given section dictates. And I can't really complain about the mixing, either.

At times this remix is poignant, at times it's uplifting, and it's pure nostalgia all over. One thing is sure: this piece will touch you one way or another. Well done, Tomsk, I really enjoy it!

Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Ghosts 'n Goblins - arranged by Emanuele Siward Pallozzi

Review by LaLa, 13/02/2022

Whoa, quite an entry for a newcomer! It's so good, I wish it was longer. Smashing!
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Crazy Comets (Komet Non Stop 2022 re-remix) - arranged by Makke

Review by LaLa, 13/02/2022

20 years later and even better than the original remix. Makke changed what needed to be changed to make it sound more modern (the instruments sound better, the mix is cleaner, the vocals stand out more), but left alone that was already very good to begin with (the overall song structure, the electro rhythm, the lyrics). As a Kraftwerk fan, I really liked what Makke has done with this SID tune in 2002 - and this latest version sounds even better. (just listen to them side-by-side and you'll hear the big step up in production value.)
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Sanxion (Don't Fall Asleep) - arranged by Wobbler

Review by LaLa, 13/02/2022

I love it! And despite its subtitle, I think I will fall asleep to this, it's the perfect tune for that! A bunch of wonderful spacey pads, a subtle violin, a beautiful, gentle arrangement at 72 bpm - everything is here, ready for chilling on a Saturday night!
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

JT 42 (We Got the Fire) - arranged by Eivind Sommersten

Review by LaLa, 12/02/2022

Clever use of vocals, I really like it when you duck the chords with filtering to bring the singer forward. Crispy clean mix - maybe too clean if you were going for a full 80s style like the original Level 42 song. Your drum set is simply magnificent, excellent, punchy sounds! The piano improvs towards the end are really cool, too.

And now for the negatives: the ending is a bit too abrupt for my taste. I wish there was some more variation in the rhythm section (other than the breaks) - it's certainly fine as is, it's a great groove by itself, but my ears get a bit tired of it by the end of the song. At times I wish the vocal was fattened up a bit more with (pitch-shifted) layering, especially when it's singing the We got the fire hook. That lead sound from 1:33 - I don't care for it much. That should've been a lead guitar, IMHO, that would've been killer.

Despite my complaints it's a really good track, but I think with a bit more work it could've been outstanding.

Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Paperboy Hi-Score (Angelized) - arranged by LaLa

Review by joenemesys, 12/02/2022

Too enjoable! Really an original, fresh and at the same time warm rendition with that mild voice; the growing choir towards the end took me by surprise; I have to admit that I pissed myself by laughing with those sheep at the end!
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Steel Ranger End Credits - arranged by Markus Schneider

Review by LaLa, 05/02/2022

There's no substitute for talent. Never in a million years I would've thought that the original SID could be turned into such an epic piece - but here it is, thanks to Markus. Sounds absolutely fantastic! My only gripe is about its length: it could've been twice as long and I would've still complained about it being short. Oh, well, that's what the loop button is for. 😉
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Missing you - arranged by JLD

Review by LaLa, 05/02/2022

I am ashamed to admit that this is another SID I wasn't familiar with before. It has a really catchy melody in its chorus and thankfully, JLD retained it in full with all its nuances. Really like the electric guitars in this remix, I think they turned out quite well (despite being plugin-based). Great job overall, I really enjoy it!
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Thrust 2k4 - arranged by Marc Girard

Review by milasoft, 05/02/2022

Hello from a fellow Canadian... cool riffs and a rocking beat!!! Greets from Ontario. I love this tune!
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Logical - Level 3 - arranged by Emzed

Review by KayDee, 04/02/2022

I always loved this game. Will you remix the other tracks too? If so, I would like to use them for a retro remake of the game.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Follow the Sign - arranged by Mirko Hirsch

Review by electronscape, 31/01/2022

With a love of Laser Dance style music THIS absolutely smashs it!!! AND this instantly made my Commute so much more anticipating! THANK YOU!!!!!
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Mutants (The Mantra) [Cinematic64] - arranged by Slaygon

Review by LaLa, 28/01/2022

It's gritty, highly textural, with lots of distortion and industrial sounds - just be careful with that volume button so it doesn't blow out your sub-woofer. This is still one of my favorite tracks from Cinematic 64.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Goatlight (There's A Light That Never Goats Out) - arranged by Wobbler

Review by RaveCoyote, 27/01/2022

This dance track is still very C64 while on the other hand has a very modern punch to it. Well done and very well constructed. Loved it immediately.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Fourth Protocol - arranged by Tomsk

Review by LaLa, 27/01/2022

This track provides a perfect closure to the Encore64 album: a melancholic, almost elegic rendition of Fouth Protocol with a symphonic instrumentation that harkens back to the era of romanticism. The real power of this piece is undoubtedly the choir, which lends evocative emotional undertones to this track. What a lovely piece this is to finish off the album! The echoes of this track will stay with you long after the final note fades away.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Stationary Ark - arranged by Peter Clarke

Review by LaLa, 27/01/2022

This should be familiar to a lot of Remix64 listeners, as it was the winner of the Remix64 20th Anniversary compo. Here it's presented with an extra 30 seconds at the end, but is largely the same arrangement. And it's still sounds just as amazing as it did in the compo: layers and layers of soothing sequences of guitar licks highlight the catchy melody, done in a style that many progressive albums of the 1970s would've been proud to include.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Ocean Loader III - arranged by Peter Clarke

Review by LaLa, 27/01/2022

This is not the first time Peter tried to take a crack at his own tune that was more or less the result of his one-upmanship with Mr. Galway when they both worked at Ocean. This remix sits solidly in the symphonic prog-rock style with the original's arrangement reworked very cleverly to fit into this genre. Luckily, it retains the original's uptempo backbone, enhanced with guitars no doubt all played by Peter himself, resulting in a wonderful track that really brings back memories: ah, back when we didn't mind the several minute long load times because we got music like this in return!...
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Bubble Bobble - arranged by Peter Clarke

Review by LaLa, 27/01/2022

Hold onto your cowboy hats, folks, we are entering brand new stylistic territory here! I absolutely loves this! 🤠👍 It totally fits in with the fun nature of the original SID. Fiddles 🎻, banjos 🪕, and pedal-steels 🎸 all make an appearance within this carefully assembled arrangement by Peter. Even if you are not a fan of this style, you must admit that it's been put together superbly. Y'all, this is one helluva remix, yee-haw! 🐄🐄🐄
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Eskimonika - arranged by Danko

Review by LaLa, 27/01/2022

Eskimonika is a SID I wasn't familiar with before - made in 2008 by Dane (of Mitch & Dane fame) and here reworked by Danko in a way only Danko can. Twisting and distorting sounds to his will, but still keeping the original melodies intact results in a pretty hard electronic piece that remains hugely listenable (or as Mr. Clarke - who is no fan of the genre - would say, tolerable... Quite the compliment, haha!). It's not really unz-unz music, though, because its rhythm is genre-defying, but it's still unmistakably Danko-esque with memorable melody lines played with crystal-clear synths backed by complex arpeggiated rhythms. Also, thank you, Tomas, for introducing me to this hidden gem of a SID!
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Shadowfire - arranged by Romeo Knight

Review by LaLa, 27/01/2022

This remix is courtesy of a legendary scene musician who no doubt destroyed some of his electric guitars in the process. I was extremely pleased to see Romeo Knight's name pop up on the Encore64 album and his rendition of Fred Gray's Shadowfire totally rocks, literally and figuratively. He is demonstrating complete mastery of his instruments on this track, which is an absolute tour de force, a headbanger, and now I have trouble imagining this Fred Gray classic in any other way - a sure sign that Romeo Knight managed to create a superb remix of it.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Denarius - arranged by Glyn R. Brown

Review by LaLa, 27/01/2022

On the Encore64 album this is Glyn's second remix and it sees him return to the style that made him famous: epic orchestral cinematic style. I am getting very strong vibes of recent Hans Zimmer soundtracks in this piece where Glyn is not afraid to flex his artistic muscles by mixing choir-embellished symphonic soundscapes with electronic sounds. The original SID was composed by Peter Clarke, but in Glyn's hands it's elevated to heights I don't think Peter could even dream of back in 1987. This track is an adventure all by itself and immensely satisfying to listen to - an instant classic.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Opus III - arranged by Danko

Review by LaLa, 27/01/2022

Those glitch effects starting at 1:33 really made me do a double-take at my equipment when I first listened to this, so kudos for almost giving me a heart-attack. 😁 Other than that, pastiches of '90s mellow electronica abound in the second part of this remix: creamy, lush pads supported by a simple, but strong staccato bass line. Quite a delight!
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

Immortal Flash #02 - arranged by Vincenzo

Review by LaLa, 27/01/2022

A great synth-heavy remix. This one makes me smile, because I am a fan of the synthwave style (or retrowave or whatever you want to call it) represented by his piece. It's not as heavy- handed as to be dripping with '80s nostalgia, but the source of inspiration is certainly unmistakable. If you are not familiar with the original SID by Zardax, don't fret, I wasn't, either. It's a good SID, but Vincenzo really brought it to life with his modern-yet-retro instrumentation, and I wouldn't be surprised if it became a dance-floor favorite.
Technique
Artistic skill
Nostalgia factor
Overall rating

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 ⋅⋅⋅ 79 80 81